Mini Draft Results

I think that ideally, the AFL and SANFL clubs should be able to negotiate where the players go, with the SANFL providing the final rubber stamp. None of this mini-draft stuff.

At this stage the AFL clubs have zero input, which I think is not as it should be.

We don't really need to segregate to father-son clubs, though I think it would be nice. Deluca at Sturt, for example, is probably the best option for him personally given we have three new midfielders there.

missionpossible said:
The benefits of developing closer links with one club;

1) The player has the advantage of going to a club where he will already know some of the players he will play with as he trains with them all the time. This must be an advantage to the player in helping him adapt to to his new SANFL club. (ie if north picked up a power kid he would already know white, peel, gilham)

2) The AFL club gets the advantage of being able to more easilly compare how individual players are developing.

3) The SANFL club benefits by the player being able to adjust better, on selection night if they only have to wait for one afl team to tell them who is available.

Note I dont want to formalise the arrangement so that youngsters have to swap local clubs.
There's definitely an advantage for player and AFL club, I don't think the SANFL club care to much since they pretty much only see the AFL players on match day. And while the system involves the SANFL clubs making the decisions that's all that matters. Personally I think the system needs changing but under the current system none of this is surprising

Porthos said:
I think that ideally, the AFL and SANFL clubs should be able to negotiate where the players go, with the SANFL providing the final rubber stamp. None of this mini-draft stuff.

At this stage the AFL clubs have zero input, which I think is not as it should be.

The mini draft is just a starting point. The AFL clubs can move the players around at their leisure after that, can't they?

Not really. There's some transfer fee crap, and importantly it makes the player look like a sook automatically, which isn't really fair.

Porthos said:
Its because the Magpies are extremely annoying. :mad:

WHAT, EH :confused:

Porthos said:
We don't really need to segregate to father-son clubs, though I think it would be nice. Deluca at Sturt, for example, is probably the best option for him personally given we have three new midfielders there.

Oh! I understand now.

Maric is 12 months older than Deluca so perhaps considered closer to senior football.
Mad Dog - excellent idea.
IMO the major hurdle in allocating players to one SANFL club is where do Crows players go ? Select an existing club or create a new SANFL side ? Whatever the decision it it sure to upset some clubs.

Thunderstruck said:
I reckon he can really cement his spot in the ressies tho, and provide some handy tall backup if one of our bigmen goes down, noteably Scoullar..

Im very happy with the dogs taking a ruckman, as im pretty sure i heard a few weeks ago that Scoullar was going back to Vic or NSW(cant remember where he was from originally??) and i dont really think Jason "Buckets" Mckenzie is a SANFL class ruckman, and Damien Arnold retired at the end of last year so we really did need a ruckman.

J.Gallagher #1 said:
Im very happy with the dogs taking a ruckman, as im pretty sure i heard a few weeks ago that Scoullar was going back to Vic or NSW(cant remember where he was from originally??) and i dont really think Jason "Buckets" Mckenzie is a SANFL class ruckman, and Damien Arnold retired at the end of last year so we really did need a ruckman.

Schollar was looking at going back to NSW but signed on for another year.

I agree with your post. With Arnold retired and Prokopek gone we were in need of a ruckman and a forward. Now we have a ruckman/forward.

Its nice to have a Crows player at Centrals again :)

Intresting year ahead for centrals, ressy squad!
Griffen arrival will be intresting as Central two recruits to be announced shortly are both 202cm 97kg and 203cm 105kg respectively!
Will make some headaches for the selectors

troy_sibbick said:
Posted: Tue Dec 21, 2004 9:05 am Post subject:

Here are the Results for the Mini Dratft

the legs got Meeson you beauty

Norwood- Meesen:

South - Van Berlo

Glenelg - Willits

Port - Maric

West - Ezard

North - Nye

Sturt - DeLuca

Eagles - Knights

Central - Griffin

Interestingly enough, North Adelaide said they would have passed on the mini-draft if Nye had been taken before their pick, as in their opinion there were only 3 players in that mini-draft ready to play SANFL footy at Senior level, one of which was Nye, and the other 2 obviously already taken befpre North's pick.

When you look at the 5 picked before North Adelaide's turn in

Meesen, Van Berlo, Willits, Maric and Ezard

Van Berlo is widely regarded as SANFL ready and possibly even AFL by year end, leaving one other player that North would have thought will play A grade SANFL in 2005. It wouldn't be Willits or Maric IMO, so that would leave Meesen or Ezard.

Meesen?? Ezard?? Maybe Meesen.

macca23 said:
Interestingly enough, North Adelaide said they would have passed on the mini-draft if Nye had been taken before their pick, as in their opinion there were only 3 players in that mini-draft ready to play SANFL footy at Senior level, one of which was Nye, and the other 2 obviously already taken befpre North's pick.

When you look at the 5 picked before North Adelaide's turn in

Meesen, Van Berlo, Willits, Maric and Ezard

Van Berlo is widely regarded as SANFL ready and possibly even AFL by year end, leaving one other player that North would have thought will play A grade SANFL in 2005. It wouldn't be Willits or Maric IMO, so that would leave Meesen or Ezard.

Meesen?? Ezard?? Maybe Meesen.
Macca, isn't it a coincidence that North mananged to get one of the 3 SANFL ready players (in their opinion) :rolleyes:

How much would any of the SA clubs know about any of the draft prospects or the AFL programs to make that statement?

Very little I would suggest.

Wayne's-World said:
Macca, isn't it a coincidence that North mananged to get one of the 3 SANFL ready players (in their opinion) :rolleyes:

How much would any of the SA clubs know about any of the draft prospects or the AFL programs to make that statement?

Very little I would suggest.

IMHO Westies took Ezard to replace Hassan, who is debating his future in the SANFL after being delisted.