Lamb
Wellingham.

On notice:
Hurn
Cripps

Captains:
Shuey
Kennedy

The club needs to cut this dead wood from its list. Absolute pea hearted players all of them.

If NN is right get him back immediately. We are getting smashed in the ruck. Today would have been very different if he was there. Was a gaping hole

This seasons cooked and we have looked like contenders for 3 quarters of footy vs Geelong for the entire year.

Leave Nic Nat in the sheds IMO he is not the answer to our problems this year. Maybe if we were pushing for top 2.

Have it on good authority that we'll be clearing our list out at the end of this year, will be double digits and somewhere in the vicinity of 12-14 exiting the squad. Today wasn't the nail in the coffin, it was probably the Collingwood game or just before it that the calls started being made and accordingly we will see a few more retirements (1 coming very soon), delistings and likely some trade action. Going to be a very different list this time next year, and one can only hope we build enough pieces to pair to NN and JK while they are still firing to get us back in flag-compete mode.

Our spine is pretty damn strong which is good. Just everything around it is up in the air.
Which is actually quite ironic for a side that shows zero spine. :)

Personally due to where we are at, would not even contemplate bringing back Nic for this year. Give him a decent pre-season and hopefully he will come back next year firing on all 8 cylinders.

Have it on good authority that we'll be clearing our list out at the end of this year, will be double digits and somewhere in the vicinity of 12-14 exiting the squad. Today wasn't the nail in the coffin, it was probably the Collingwood game or just before it that the calls started being made and accordingly we will see a few more retirements (1 coming very soon), delistings and likely some trade action. Going to be a very different list this time next year, and one can only hope we build enough pieces to pair to NN and JK while they are still firing to get us back in flag-compete mode.

This is good to hear, your intel has been solid so far so hopefully this is on the money too. Out of curiosity, how do you think we'd go about filling so many spots on our list? We'd need to take a whole swag of draft picks and free agents to make up those kind of numbers.

Good to hear. Speaking of trade action Peekaye what do you reckon the chances are of your mate McGovern enticing his brother to West Coast? Any whispers?

It depends on who gets the flick, but you cant make that many changes to a squad and expect to be in flag contention in the short term, its turns into a long term proposition. The problem West Coast has is recruiting established talent from around the league, esp. from the East. Many players just don't want to venture out this way for various reasons (travel that reduces a players career, moving away from friends/family, similar money at clubs next door etc). The only route to rebuilding a premiership winning team is through the draft (we have a good record at looking after and keeping the kids). But as we all know West Coast have been average at filling gaps in our list where it matters the most i.e. the midfield. I don't have any faith in the recruiting and development department to head the rebuild we so desperately need.

This is good to hear, your intel has been solid so far so hopefully this is on the money too. Out of curiosity, how do you think we'd go about filling so many spots on our list? We'd need to take a whole swag of draft picks and free agents to make up those kind of numbers.

We'll be bringing in quite a few kids and turning to the youth pretty quickly. I am guessing we will have a bit of salary cap space which hopefully we'll use on some players that are ready to go now but at the same time have long-term upside.

Good to hear. Speaking of trade action Peekaye what do you reckon the chances are of your mate McGovern enticing his brother to West Coast? Any whispers?

Nah my guess is he's going to go to Freo (if not staying at Adelaide)... they need a target forward and will offer him huge coin which we won't match.

Personally due to where we are at, would not even contemplate bringing back Nic for this year. Give him a decent pre-season and hopefully he will come back next year firing on all 8 cylinders.

He is a v12.

Do you even eagle?

That is all.

Biggest problems at he eagles right now are intent, mongrel, and disposal.

Natanui won't fix those issues.

Happy to admit i got it wrong about Sheed and Duggan. Dont think they will be A-graders in the Judd/Cousins/Kerr mould but they should still serve the club well. As for the rest including Darling and Gaff i think they will continue to go missing in big games too easy when the blow torch is applied. They epitomise flat-track IMO.

It depends on who gets the flick, but you cant make that many changes to a squad and expect to be in flag contention in the short term, its turns into a long term proposition. The problem West Coast has is recruiting established talent from around the league, esp. from the East. Many players just don't want to venture out this way for various reasons (travel that reduces a players career, moving away from friends/family, similar money at clubs next door etc). The only route to rebuilding a premiership winning team is through the draft (we have a good record at looking after and keeping the kids). But as we all know West Coast have been average at filling gaps in our list where it matters the most i.e. the midfield. I don't have any faith in the recruiting and development department to head the rebuild we so desperately need.

Not saying it should all be done at once but it's pretty easy to come up with a list of easy outs (culled or traded) that gets to double figures (and it shows how average our list is):

Brophy, Priddis, Mitchell, Petrie (not against keeping as a rookie but guess he will retire), Butler, Giles, Tunbridge, McInnes, Lamb, Snadden (may keep another year). Then we have Masten, Wellingham, LeCras, Hill, McKenzie/Schofield, Gorter (who is unlikely to be cut after one year but ...)

He's started playing well the last half of the season, no chance we'd entertain a trade for him
Good to hear him playing well, I only thought I would bring it up brcause of the OP and wanted to know if those views were shared by other supporters.

Met a guy on a cruise from Singapore working at a coaching role with the Western Jets, he was a Collingwood supporter and was hoping both Duggan and Venables would be drafted to Collingwood - two of the best talents he's had at the club
Thats interesting! I cant remember who from but Im sure I heard something about he and the dogs. However I am sure I will trust your source more than mine haha!!

Duggan was a Dog's supporter. His whole family (except an aunty of his I know - Carlton) are mad doggies supporters. I think he meant the bloke he spoke to.

Biggest problems at he eagles right now are intent, mongrel, and disposal.

Natanui won't fix those issues.

Although when opposition ruckmen are racking up 50+ taps (eg Longer this week & Martin last week) the opposition are starting with a huge head start. We probably should have signed up a WAFL or SANFL ruck as a rookie. We were going to struggle if Lycett didn't come up. Me as well as many others said that Vardy & Petrie weren't ruckmen, which has proved correct. We might still need that backup next season.