Dunn - Well Done

Buddy
Improved Mock Draft - DWD

(Melb) J.Watts - almost locked he will play Full forward for Melbourne in 2 years time, they need key forwards
(WCE) N.Natunai - Toss up between Rich but feel the eagles may take him and mold him into a CHB/Ruck, should be back up ruck for Cox
(Freo) Rich - next best player in the draft and my view is he is the best. Best midfielder anyway and have seen him having solid discussions with freo. Freo will be rapt with him and they need mids.
(Port) Vickery - havnt really seen him play, but hes tall can play ruck or as a tall forward and demons labelled him a chance for number 1. So with that he is what Port need as ruck and key forward stocks lack at port.
(Ess) Hurley - Quality CHB/FB lets hope hes better than Kepler. Essendon are lacking quality backs and should be able to pick a dynamo mid up later in the draft. Him and Ryder should hold down FB and CHB for the next 10 years a t bomberland.
(Carl) Ziebell - I personally dont rate him this high after watching him although he played a ripper against WA when i watched. Good clearance player with a solid build. reminds me of the typical centres Hird,Buckley,Voss and Riccuto who can also push forward. Dont expect to see him stealing Gibbs,Murphy or Judds spots in the guts should be playing as a HFF for a few years before going into the middle.
(Bris) Blease - Super carnival and Vossy knows him well from AIS. His speed is eletric and has good skills as well with a decent size. Expect Vossy to chase a classy midfielder with plenty of pace. Will he pass on Hartlett though?
(Rich) Hartlett - Tigers may need rucks and key forwards more but they cant pass him up. Midfield stocks could improve anyway. Cotchin, Deledio and Hartlett could be a deadly combination in the next decade. Premiership material he can also play as a Half forwarder.
(Kang) S.Sidebottom - Next best available in the draft and roos could do with a talented midfielder. They could chase a quality Tall forward however they do have Hale and Edwards. can kick goals and is a match winner which the roos havnt had a whole lot of. Could replace Boomer and Simpson in the middle quite nicely. Is very versatile can play HBF,Wing,forward or onball.
(Adel) L.Johnstone - probably not worth this pick but is close to it. Can play CHF or FF and with Tippett in the future should lead as good key talls up forward. Dont really need to pick a midfielder at this selection as they still have talent in that area. eg: Reilly, S.Thompson, Knights, Van Berlo, Porpz, Vince, Dangerfield. Will they rate Schoenmakers higher?
(Coll) Suban - The magpies need an inside midfielder to feed there outside talents but with Burns gone who will that be. He could become quite important to them next year either as an inside midfielder or a small defender which both collingwood lack.
(Syd) Mckernan - Next best tall and can play ruck or CHB. Sydney dont have an array of talent with talls and with him being the next best available expect him to go. Could play CHB for Sydney in the future whilst rotating through the ruck.
(STK) Yarran - Stkilda would love a dynamo forward with an ilk of class. Small forwards are what the saints need as well as quick mids could be developed into a quick midfielder whilsy he should feed off Koz and Riewoldt up forward for the first few years should pick up a mid with there next pick.
(WBD) A.Cordy - WBD would be fairly happy with this even though the perfect world for them would be to get him at pick 32 but that wont happen. They need ruckmen and Key forwards which is what he offers, if he adds weight he could become almight good.
(Geel) Trengove - havnt seen much of him but the cats may need a quality CHB for the future. with players such as Harley, Milburn and Scarlett set to retire in 4 years time a good CHB like Trengove could be the easy replacement. Taylor and Trengove should hold down full back and CHB for the cats in future
(Haw) Swift - Hard pick this one however the hawks wont need a player straight away to be playing and this suites Swift. Another hard player which hawks love that could add to there future midfield. A quality Key defender will be chased with second pick
(melb) S.Hill - Classy, athltic footballer with a big engine and super speed. To have a combo of speed and endurance like him is rare. C.judd has it and thats what makes him a great player. Next best player and dees will be looking for some polish and class with this pick. Another key forward will be on the cards for there next pick.
(WCE) M.Walters - WCE would love to get both of Hill and Walters but may only get one. Walters could be important to the eagles next year and could be a small forward for them in the next 2 or 3 years. Can push into the midfield as well when he matures later and will add skill and silk to coasters midfield
(Melb) Schoenmakers - Super talented forward and with Watts could be a new (Roughead, Franklin combo). The demons would love to see the athletic 193 cm shoenmakers moving around half forward whilst J.Watts becomes a dominant Full Forward
(WCE) Cornelius - The eagles might just take him as he can play down back or up forward. To come out of the draft with a ruck, Key position player and a small crumbing forward who will become a midfielder means they have ticked all the boxes in a quality draft. Cornelius could become the eagles new FF next year if he stands up early
(Freo) Deboer - Will be on the cards of the eagles but i think they will pass on him and get a quality tall. Fremantle will be happy to add Deboer and Rich to their midfield next year not only are they from WA but they can play as in and under players plus win the ball outside. Deboer could well be feeding Rich in the next 10 years even though Rich knows how to find the footy himself.
(Port) T.Lynch - Next best Key forward in the draft and Port need one for the future. He plays more as a CHF and with Westhoff in the future could become another good combination. Port will be happy to get a ruck and a Key forward with there top 2 picks
(Ess)Zaharakis - Quality midfielder and the dons will be looking for a classy mid here. Robinson and Okeffe will also be highly considered and to get any of these players this late in the draft is gold. Zaharakis made AA side as a wingman and have seen footage of him and he seems to have good pace and good skills. Also supports the dons
(Carl) N.Heyne - Reminds me alot of Porplyzia and Carlton will be looking for a quality defender or a good small forward and hes there man. Can play as a HFF and will crumb the likes of Fevola could give the blues a new avenue to goals next year as Betts is the only other small carlton forward. If the blues take a quality tall defender like Lisle or Jones this early it wouldnt suprise me and Lisle would be high on there cards he could well go here.
(Bris) J.Lisle quality CHB for the brisbane side in years to come and is there main priority
(Rich) L.Shuey - He could go a bit later but as being the best and fairest for VIC M he could warrant this. Also richmond have a keen eye on him, will be interesting for them to add 2 midfielders with there first two picks of the 08 draft.
(Kang) M.Robinson - Could be the one that falls and i feel he will be. Is older and from Tasmania which means he wouldve got less exposure to the scouts. The roos couldnt have added two better midfielders than Sidebottom and Robinson with there first two picks. These two could start a new era for the roos.
(Adel) Cahill - If hes still available i doubt the crows will pass on him and he can go play alongside his SA team mate L.Johnstone. Cahill has great athletic ability and could play as a HFF or 3rd tall for the crows and give them the X factor something the crows havnt had for a long time.
(Coll) Okeffe - Would be a great get if he falls this far. Plays like Pendlybury but off the HBF i think hes a great player and i rate him highly. He looks like he will have an impact at AFL level. Collingwood need a smooth moving half back and they wont let him pass if still available. An inside mid with Suban and a classy Half back flank with the hope of Cousins could take them to premiership success.
(Syd) Jetta - Has dropped off lately after he looked great for swan district colts. He has the name and Sydney are meant to be very keen will be the small forward they need, but can he have an impact at the next level?
(STK) Broadbent - Not the super quick mid the saints would want but hes another that could slip and the saints would take him eithout a breath. Isnt slow by any means but plays as an inside midfielder but is a very good player. The saints would be happy to add him to there midfield.
(WBD) C.Pearce - Seems to be going from strength to strengthhas played very well for Swans league side and is a solid half back. Would be one of the smartest players in the draft camp and could be another player to add to the doggies defense. Has had 20+ posses for Swans league side on several occasions and is a good leader however not possesing any great athletic ability
(Geel) J.Sheahan/T.Rockliffe - either a inside midfielder or a big powerful forward which they lacked in the grand final
(Haw) J.Jones - Another Key tall who can play either CHF or CHB most lilely down bakc and the hawks wouldnt mind that in the future as there tall back are suffering a little, well more than anything else. Is also hard at it and the hawks like that and he will be considered to go around picks 30 - 40.

Thats it give me your thoughts on all the positions and which clubs they are going to and why

Plenty of good players not in those frst two rounds what a draft it will be.

Hope you enjoy the read it took me a while to do so constructive comments would be good.:thumbsu:

Should be in Phantom Draft Forum

We already have a developing ruck in Tippett as well....3 specialist rucks with a pinch ruck in Clark is enough

• Banned
yeah i thought the brissy boys wouldnt be happy you may take Lisle at 25 as i said. But i think Blease is becoming very realistic for the lions heard that vossy has had bit to do with him earlier in his career and at AIS. An inside midfileder might have to be found later on. Rischitelli, Black and Proud arnt bad inside mids.

Personally i can't see the Pies taken Suban, you really have to look at the past picks of the club recruiters and he certainly doesn't fit the bill of what Hine has built a reputation on in my view.

In my view Blease will slide, maybe even out of the first round. He is very light on and while he has plenty of speed, someone who gets the ball as little a he does really should have plenty of question marks on him in my view. He has really struggled to gain some form since the carnival (maybe carrying an injury, not sure) which i think will ultimately see him fall. Don't get me wrong he is good prospect, bottom aged which helps but he's a risk, just can't seem him going at 7.

Also James Strauss and Ash Smith, these two guys are really under-rated on here and i would be really shocked if either didn't get taken either in the first or second rounds, to much quality for mine.

Can't argue with Carltons first pick though ;)

Bailey rate Yannan in his top 6 players...I expect he'll go top 10!

heard a few teams including the dons rate him very highly. They supposibly loved his repeated sprints aswell. Big chance of him to go top 7.

Freo win huge here, with Rich and Debeor, would be perfect.
Hopefully WC take nat, because as we all know fremantle can't develop players at all.

I'm not so sure that the Eagles would go for Cornelius. Currently all of the KPP positions are pretty much filled (including backups) except for Full Forward, and if Cornelius is a halfway decent full forward I don't think he'll still be available at pick 20 odd !

u mgiht want to put Hurley at Port.

apparently we've told him that we'll draft him.

Means nothing.

Buckenara hosted Tambling at his house before the 2004 draft. He's still not playing for Hawthorn.

The Roos really need an injection of speed into the middle and I'm not sure Sidebottom can provide that. I would take any of Ziebell, Hartlett, Blease or Swift (obviously the first 3 aren't available in this mock draft) before Sidebottom.

Bailey rate Yannan in his top 6 players...I expect he'll go top 10!

That was more of a throwaway comment. He was talking about the 'big four' (Watts, Rich, NicNat and Vickery) and then also mentioned that he was impressed with Yarren and said he could go 5,6 or 7. I doubt Bailey knows too much about the kid as they wouldn't have any interest in him (unless he slides to 17 which would be a steal regardless of his attitude).

Means nothing.

Buckenara hosted Tambling at his house before the 2004 draft. He's still not playing for Hawthorn.
Yeah but they expected him to slide to there 5th pick not Buddy!!

The Roos really need an injection of speed into the middle and I'm not sure Sidebottom can provide that. I would take any of Ziebell, Hartlett, Blease or Swift (obviously the first 3 aren't available in this mock draft) before Sidebottom.

That was more of a throwaway comment. He was talking about the 'big four' (Watts, Rich, NicNat and Vickery) and then also mentioned that he was impressed with Yarren and said he could go 5,6 or 7. I doubt Bailey knows too much about the kid as they wouldn't have any interest in him (unless he slides to 17 which would be a steal regardless of his attitude).

He also said Yarran is the most talented player at this draft and has huge potential. Essendon seem very keen for him at 5 :mad:

Also the roos may not get speed with sidebottom but there next pick they get Robinson who has great speed i here and is Cooney like. You would take Sidebottom ahead of Swift he has dominated this year and kicked 10 goals in TAC grandfinal and he can play up forward or down across half back.

Harlett to Richmond! Please Drafting God!
Richmond fans seem pretty happy with this draft. Hartlett i guess is bringing the smiles to your faces. The tigers must think there a big chance because they have had lengthy discussions with him so they think he will go around there pick. Just dont know if clubs like Essendon and Brisbane will pass on him.

And what do richmond supporters think about L.Shuey at 26 i think he could fall well lower but tigers think hes a big chance to go to them and have also had discussions with him. Would you risk losing him or just take him at pick 26?

Would probably prefer Cornelius at 19 instead of Schoenmakers, Watts is more likely to a CHF and even though he's tall enough I see Schoenmakers as more of a 3rd tall than a CHF.
Also pretty sure WCE won't go for any KPP, they are pretty set at both ends of the ground.

I think this is closer

1. (melb) J.Watts
2. (WCE) Nick Nat
3. (Freo) Rich
4. (Port) Vickery
5. (Ess) Yarran
6. (Carl) Hurley
7. (Bris) Hartlett
8. (Rich) Sidebottom
9. (Kang) Ziebell
10. (Adel) L.Johnstone
11. (Coll) Swift
12. (Syd) Mckernan
13. (Stk) S.Blease
14. (WBD) Cordy
15. (Geel) Trengove
16. (Haw) Suban

17. (melb) S.Hill
18. (WCE) Robinson

19. (melb) Cornelius
20. (WCE) M.Walters (top 3 for 09 draft if he didnt nominate)
21. (Freo) Deboer
22. (Port) Schoenmakers
23. (Ess) J.Lisle
24. (Carl) T.Lynch
25. (Bris) R.Okeffe
26. (Rich) L.Shuey
27. (Kang) N.Heyne
28. (Adel) P.Cahill
29. (Coll) M.Broadbent
30. (Syd) C.Pearce
31. (Stk) Zaharakis
32. - (WBD)
33. - (Geel)
34. (Haw) L.Jones
35. - (Melb)
36. - (WCE)
37. (Freo) H.Ballantyne
38. (Port) Jetta

Didnt quite finish some of the picks here because just did it off the top of my head

I still think players such as Jetta and Ballantyne will go those clubs allocated

Ask why i picked someone here try not to say " i dont think this club will chose this player" firstly ask me why i put them there.

Think this is much better than my first attempt

Ziebell is not any quicker than Sidebottom and does not have as good an engine. If you are looking for pace through the middle then Ziebell is not your man either.