The van Berlos
Well it's almost the start of a new season..

Would be good to get some thoughts on any new ideas for this year.

We would also like any thoughts on anything that you might bring as a Moderator of the Adelaide Board....ie interest - new ideas etc.

always looking for recruits....:)

PS - happy for you to PM me if you don't want to discuss publically....:thumbsu:

Now I enjoy a chuckle at the best of times - and we genuinely want some feeback - but it would be great if we could keep this constructive and to replies of more than one syllable...

Opposition supporters need not comment.....my mouse clicking finger is at the ready

:)

Not sure if this is possible, but thought I would throw it out there anyway. As afc.com.au posts occasionally on this board, could we have a sticky post with questions that we would like afc.com.au to answer. Perhaps to ensure all questions are reasonable they must go through a Mod? Things like the contract, last year when Truck was the centre of Carlton pre-season draft talk, none of us had any idea if he has re-signed or not. Afc.com.au may not wish to answer the questions, but at least they are there and will give the club an idea of some concerns or suggestions. I know we can email triggy directly, I just thought this may be another way of us engaging with the club and the club with us.

Thanks to everyone who administers and moderates this site :thumbsu:

I don't like the idea of a sticky thread for afccomau. I feel that it puts unecessary pressure to answer questions that the club may not want to answer on a public forum. I like the current fly by approach where the club comes in and answers questions somewhat unexpectedly. If there's a place for questions to be asked with a high level of expectancy for an answer then it could lead to disappointment and unwarranted criticism of the club.

Not a mod suggestion but something I wouldn't mind seeing added is that I'm hearing some clubs have a secret forum for posting actual inside information sort of things. For example training reports go in there. It stops any random schmo and other clubs from accessing pubic information about what we're doing at training. Given that CG's pre-season training reports are some of the more comprehensive I've seen on BF this might be beneficial. To get entry into the board you just have to be accepted by mods as a genuine Crow fan. They don't seem to be set at other club forums as an elite place for posters so they're inclusive. And we do love that word around here.

My other suggestion is to rename The Backyard to the Adelaide Crows Super Awesome Happy Zone. I don't think there's enough Japanese game show connotations around here.

I like Vic Crow's idea in regards to training reports.

Other than that I think the forum is being moderated very well, theres not too many trolls at all, mostly everyone seems to get along when the topic of a new stadium isn't being brought up.

In addition to that I just realised that a secret forum that can only be accessed by actual Crows fans might be a more appropriate place for afccomau to be answering questions anyway. There might be some stuff they wouldn't mind mentioning to us fans, but maybe they hold back because it would be in public view.

we have long toyed with a secret forum.

It happens on other Boards - and I'm waiting on some feedback from other club mods before suggesting it here.

There are a lot of benefits.....:thumbsu:

The potential issue is that "invite only" boards can dilute discussion on the normal board. If quality long term posters are invited to a secret board - they tend not to post on the normal board to avoid the usual "am not - are too" drivel.

so - I'm not ruling it out - but I'm waiting for some feedback from other Mods. A couple of the other Club Boards have pretty much dried up as a result. It's a good idea in principle and somewhere BigFooty might head in the future with many "invite only" features. This is why a good posting record is always helpful !!.....:)

Spot on VC on the private board - it is something that we have discussed as mods over the summer. C*G reports would have to be one of the best around and I know that when I have done reports as well I have thought long and hard about what I put in them knowing that other teams, supporters and journalists read BF religiously.

In addition to that I just realised that a secret forum that can only be accessed by actual Crows fans might be a more appropriate place for afccomau to be answering questions anyway. There might be some stuff they wouldn't mind mentioning to us fans, but maybe they hold back because it would be in public view.

Agree :thumbsu:

Secret Forum is a silly idea IMO. Contradicts the underlying philosophy of internet forums such as ours.

Who can really determine who is a 'genuine' crows fan anyway. Is it gonna be Mad Dogs or NN's responsibility to determine every new posters 'genuineness' to enable them to access the secret spot?

Re training reports, suerly in a professional era other clubs have the resources to do reconassiance work. If the Crows want to keep something secret during the yr they will have closed training sessions anyway - and that means closed to Big Footy posters also.

Would a secret forum mean quality posters like Maca19, TAS and PAF for example would be less inclined to contribute to our site as they are barred from aspects of our site being non-Crows fans. If so, our site would be poorer for it

:thumbsd: to secret forums

ps I liked the idea of a sticky for questions for afc.com.au. We all greatly value any response we receive and we cant expect afc.com.au to be spending hrs per day going thru each individual thread to determine questions we want answered. Put out a sticky. If appropriate and they choose to respond then great, otherwise no worries. Surely no sane person could call the club elitist for failing to respond to sensitive issues

Perhaps a secret forum where reports and answers are posted but most threads are locked to prevent too much discussion. So that reports and answers can be read there and discussed on the main crows board?

Similar in a way that the Locker Room is for compiling news articles about the individual players. Except this would just be a compilation of general Crows news.

Spot on VC on the private board - it is something that we have discussed as mods over the summer. C*G reports would have to be one of the best around and I know that when I have done reports as well I have thought long and hard about what I put in them knowing that other teams, supporters and journalists read BF religiously.

Also agree :thumbsu: Whilst I generally just write about what I see, there have been one or two things which I haven't mentioned. Having an exclusive Crows forum would free that up a bit and discussion would probably be more 'in depth' so to speak.

On the other hand, I can see where people are coming from, re it effecting the main board. We have a pretty good group here and wouldn't want it to slow down things too much here.

maybe have the secret forum exclusively for training reports and other sensitve area threads....

Good idea, but whom would be allowed to access this 'secret board' all AFC supporters on BF, or AFC BF members who pay on this site, or AFC BF supporters who are members of the AFC (would have to show proof)

Vic Crows idea of a private crows only room is a good one. Last year I copped a lot of heat from my source for revealing a player who was about to go to another club through the pre-season draft. Word got out and I was blasted. It was amazing how I initially mentioned the wrong club on here and sure enough the news and KG and Cornesy metioned the same incorrect club. These threads are being monitored I have no doubt, a bit of privacy on certain topics would be good and would encourage posters with confidential news to post it for Adelaide supporters not just any supporter. I have since had to keep my mouth closed on a few things and Im sure plenty of others have aswell

Yes I agree with the previous comments a private thread is the way to go.

It would not be hard to choose which individuals should have the privilege of joining. lol hopefully I am one otherwise I have shot myself in the foot for wanting one !

I am not a fan of people swinging past in here grabbing a few comments and then discussing them in the other media for example like the radio.

During the week I heard on 5AA that someone had read in here that we were going to boo Buddy when and if he played this weekend, when in fact most people were against this course of action.

Anyways for the record, Buddy is a champ and does not score "cheap" goals!

Some of the other boards have a really good match preview thread. A classic example being the previews written by Mojo and Drummond for the Adelaide vs Hawthorn MMC semi-final. I was asked to write a couple last year, for the Footscray and Brisbane games (was unable to do the Footscray one, but did write the Brisbane preview).

One of the mods can send a PM to a respected supporter of the opposition team, asking them to do a write-up each week. Hopefully get the previews done by Thurs morning at the latest.

Most of us focus pretty heavily on Adelaide, and while we are aware of the opposition players on a peripheral level we'll never have the insight into them that their own supporters do. This kind of thread can bring to our attention the lesser, developing, players amongst the opposition.

Some of the other boards have a really good match preview thread. A classic example being the previews written by Mojo and Drummond for the Adelaide vs Hawthorn MMC semi-final. I was asked to write a couple last year, for the Footscray and Brisbane games (was unable to do the Footscray one, but did write the Brisbane preview).

One of the mods can send a PM to a respected supporter of the opposition team, asking them to do a write-up each week. Hopefully get the previews done by Thurs morning at the latest.

Most of us focus pretty heavily on Adelaide, and while we are aware of the opposition players on a peripheral level we'll never have the insight into them that their own supporters do. This kind of thread can bring to our attention the lesser, developing, players amongst the opposition.

Yeah i like this. Really enjoyed reading the preview for Saturdays game from both perspectives. They will be even more interesting to read when the importance of the game in increased.

Good idea, but whom would be allowed to access this 'secret board' all AFC supporters on BF, or AFC BF members who pay on this site, or AFC BF supporters who are members of the AFC (would have to show proof)

it would be invite only - or just a new user group set up to accommodate those who consider themselves Adelaide Fans here. The latter is problematic given aliases set up in the name of other clubs

Surely any questions people feel they need to ask the Club could be asked directly and the answer shared on here when you ahve them

I have found the Club to be more than accomodating in answering any questions I have via return e-mail (even if I don't like the answers;)). e-mail addresses of all people at the club seem to be freely available.

it would be invite only - or just a new user group set up to accommodate those who consider themselves Adelaide Fans here. The latter is problematic given aliases set up in the name of other clubs

Hi Mad Dog

I expressed a few issues earlier in the thread with such a secret group being set up. Would appreciate your thoughts on these :thumbsu:

Vic Crows idea of a private crows only room is a good one. Last year I copped a lot of heat from my source for revealing a player who was about to go to another club through the pre-season draft. Word got out and I was blasted. It was amazing how I initially mentioned the wrong club on here and sure enough the news and KG and Cornesy metioned the same incorrect club. These threads are being monitored I have no doubt, a bit of privacy on certain topics would be good and would encourage posters with confidential news to post it for Adelaide supporters not just any supporter. I have since had to keep my mouth closed on a few things and Im sure plenty of others have aswell

but thats the point. you cant realistically think there wont be leakage of sensitive/confidential information. if i set up a new user ID today - like our ol mate Rucci used to do regularly a yr or two ago - ' Crows Forever' and posted reasonably regularly and exclusively for a few weeks/months on crows issues does that automatically mean i am a genuine crows fan. of coure it doesnt. and consequently we would need our moderators to play God on who is - and isnt - a genuine crows fan

Maybe the mods should introduce a Big Footy Crows Test to see if you understand the history and cultural values of the Adelaide Crows before you gain entry, just like the Australian government citizen test.

The idea of a secret or private forum has good and bad points but I guess I am not to fussed either way as long as it doesn’t turn into a cliquey ‘boys club’ and access is denied to those not in the loop.

Either way as long I stay out of trouble the mods on this board are doing a good job.

My understanding is that in some of the other club 'private' boards access is granted when a poster has been 'vouched' for by other posters who already have the access. If a 'vouched' for poster then goes off the rails then they and those who nominated them are removed from access to the private board.

Not too sure how this is actually working and hence this is why MD has requested info from the other boards that have a private board.

This, in small a way, takes out the 'boys club / clique' issue as the penalty applies to the vouchee as well as the voucher. So some may want to vote their buddies in, understandable, but they are also responsible for that persons behaviour as they recommended them.

I like the idea of the thread creation system being similar to the Locker Room in that only mods can start threads, hence it being limited to training reports etc and the main discussion still happening in the main board.

Maybe the mods should introduce a Big Footy Crows Test to see if you understand the history and cultural values of the Adelaide Crows before you gain entry, just like the Australian government citizen test.

Either way as long I stay out of trouble the mods on this board are doing a good job.

:D great idea

ok try these on to see if you qualify as a bona fide LONG TERM supporter:

- who kicked the crows first goal in a sell out trial match against essendon in pre-season 1991?

- who was commonly accepted as the last player picked in the original squad of 52 for the crows

- how many dodgy free kicks did the crows receive in the last 90 seconds of playing time against fitzroy at footy park in 1991 when jameson kicked the winner after the siren

- was mc leod for groom the most one-sided trade of all time? Y/N? ;)

ya need 3 from 4 correct to qualify :)

My understanding is that in some of the other club 'private' boards access is granted when a poster has been 'vouched' for by other posters who already have the access. If a 'vouched' for poster then goes off the rails then they and those who nominated them are removed from access to the private board.

Not too sure how this is actually working and hence this is why MD has requested info from the other boards that have a private board.

This, in small a way, takes out the 'boys club / clique' issue as the penalty applies to the vouchee as well as the voucher. So some may want to vote their buddies in, understandable, but they are also responsible for that persons behaviour as they recommended them.

I like the idea of the thread creation system being similar to the Locker Room in that only mods can start threads, hence it being limited to training reports etc and the main discussion still happening in the main board.

I am sure MD, you and the new moderator will develop a suitable system and iron out any problematic logistics that may occur but this sounds like a fantastic idea. :thumbsu: