Tommo

FREO
G'day Guys
Over on the Freo board there has been much discussion about our disappointing form this year. This has lead to possible trade bait discussions, as I am sure is happening here.
A visiting demon supporter, suggested Brent Moloney as a possible trade for one of our surplus KPP, either Ryan Murphy or Adam Campbell.
I don't know much about Moloney so I don't know if you guys would jump at that or not.
I know that he is a bit of a hard nut, but what do demon fans think of his game?

I would Ryan Murphy to the Demons. to be honest our Key Position stocks look a little low and Murphy would be a great acquisition. As much as i love Beamer i would be willing to trade him for Murphy.

If Moloney's OP does not show any signs of improvement, I'd be willing to trade him at the right price.

Murphy is a decent size, chuck in a pick somewhere and I'd go for it.

If Moloney's OP does not show any signs of improvement, I'd be willing to trade him at the right price.

Murphy is a decent size, chuck in a pick somewhere and I'd go for it.

Murphy for Moloney straight swap mate. Moloney is not worth a Murphy + a pick... Too injury prone

Murphy for Moloney in a second. Think Melbourne would be the main winner out of this. Doubt it will happen

no chance freo will risk him with his history of OP, would be a good trade for demons though

I have never really rated Moloney that highly, his big and strong but he always kicks long which is very predictable. In saying that he is only young and we probably havent seen the best of him due to injuries.

I would definatley swap him for either of those freo players mentioned we do need those types and how many hard at it midfielders is too many? We already have Jones, McLean, Sylvia (shorely they see Col as a midfielder once fit).

In saying that tho nobody would go near moloney in his current state with OP. Melbourne would definatley be the winner in a trade at this stage.

Fergeson is just about out of the equation. He's never done anything worthwhile (or been given the chance too).

Moloney - Murphy? Yeah, that does sound tempting as I've always liked the look of Murphy. With good midfield delivery he could turn into a very good full forward. That would spell the end for Newton though who I'd love to give a go.

I am still a fan of Moloney though and do see a spot for him when he returns. I wouldn't give up on him just yet.

Let's not forget that Beamer was probs ur best midfielder in his first season with the club - he has enourmous value... no way would ND want to trade him given the hefty price (pick 12 was it?) given for him some 2 yrs ago.

I'd be interested in Moloney at The Dogs.

Not sure what we could/would offer, but he's the type of player we lack. We need another big bodied, hard running midfielder who is able to find the Football and deliver it relatively well.

He's a fantastic player IMO, but unfortunately has been hampered by injuries.

What sort of deal would The Demons be after?

I'd be interested in Moloney at The Dogs.

Not sure what we could/would offer, but he's the type of player we lack. We need another big bodied, hard running midfielder who is able to find the Football and deliver it relatively well.

He's a fantastic player IMO, but unfortunately has been hampered by injuries.

What sort of deal would The Demons be after?

A pick below 12, so we make a draft profit so to speak. Or a player such as Griffen, Cooney, Gilbee etc, which won't happen

To be honest Beamer would be worth a high 10s pick at best, but I wouldn't even think of trading him, way too much bias.

We need a player like him at the Blues, but I wouldn't think we would give up too much for him. What would you want from the Blues in return?

Also, what's happening with Wheatley. I think the Blues need a player like him.
Simpson or Thornton, maybe the Irish man for Moloney.

Wheatley has had a bad run of injury of late but I am surprised he was picked at number 20 in 1999 and is only 26, i thought he was getting on a bit and wouldn't be worth much as a trade. Still wouldn't think Carlton would want him.

Simpson or Thornton, maybe the Irish man for Moloney.

Wheatley has had a bad run of injury of late but I am surprised he was picked at number 20 in 1999 and is only 26, i thought he was getting on a bit and wouldn't be worth much as a trade. Still wouldn't think Carlton would want him.

If that is what the Dees would want from Carlton in exchange for Moloney, then there is no chance of that trade occurring.

It is clear that we need another experienced defender. Having said that, I don't want us to give up much to get one. Wheatley seems like the player we need-experienced defender, who is actually pretty good when fit and firing. Not too old, has quite a bit of footy ahead of him providing he can get over his injuries. He can play on small and tall, which we need, but he would add experience and leadership to our young defense which is invaluable. I imagine he would come pretty cheap-what would Melbourne want for him?

If that is what the Dees would want from Carlton in exchange for Moloney, then there is no chance of that trade occurring.

It is clear that we need another experienced defender. Having said that, I don't want us to give up much to get one. Wheatley seems like the player we need-experienced defender, who is actually pretty good when fit and firing. Not too old, has quite a bit of footy ahead of him providing he can get over his injuries. He can play on small and tall, which we need, but he would add experience and leadership to our young defense which is invaluable. I imagine he would come pretty cheap-what would Melbourne want for him?

You would get wheatley for close to mothing maybe your 3rd rounder which will be around pick 35

We need a player like him at the Blues, but I wouldn't think we would give up too much for him.
In which case you won't get him.

We gave up pick 12 a few years back, the guy finishes 3rd in the B&F and has been injured since. We aren't just going to give him up for 'not too much'.