Toast Morabito tracking thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Dockernut

On the contrary they are probably happy that Mora is confident and trusting his knee again - he was after all clear to go late this past season, and was held out to reset for 2014. The dastardly mental side of the reco has to be overcome as much as the physical. Would seem to me Mora is ready to hit ground running 2014. Come what may, he is not going to hold back.

And yes mike91 it is Mora at the net and the pic comes from the 'Players in the off-season' the Club puts out.

Playing tennis has to involve a lot of lateral pressure on his knee.
If this pic is legit and he is playing tennis with vigour and not just stationary slapping the ball back and forth, it can only mean he only he needs to worry about his footy touch and form.

Working your way through the WAFL is what fringe players do. Morabito is one of our best players, and will no more need to work his way through the WAFL than Daniel Pearce did when he joined the club.

Our sports scientists and doctors are quite capable of assessing whether someone is fit enough or not without watching them run around in the WAFL.

It's not like round 1, 2014 is the first chance he'll get to pick up a football. The pre-season comp is where you find out how match fit your players are. Morabito should be fitter than anyone, he spent all of this season running.
o_O

He definitely hasn't lost the potential.

I'm tipping him to go on with it.
How much bad luck can one bloke have ?

could have been worse, he could have been recruited by melbourne in the draft.

I just can't wait for the day he runs onto the ground for the first time in front of a hugely appreciative home crowd. Will be one of the biggest individual moments in our clubs history, especially when he kicks a goal with his first kick.
Reckon I'll make the effort to be there for that game. I don't care when it happens, as long as it does.

I just can't wait for the day he runs onto the ground for the first time in front of a hugely appreciative home crowd. Will be one of the biggest individual moments in our clubs history, especially when he kicks a goal with his first kick.
Reckon I'll make the effort to be there for that game. I don't care when it happens, as long as it does.

Would it be worthy of a sign stating " we are proud of what you have overcome " ?

Mora's career will become the embodiment of the proverb that the toughest steel is forged in the hottest forge and the noise that Freo supporters make when he strides onto the pitch will break all AFL crowd decibel records;a record only surpassed by the eruption of racket witnessed on the announcement of his Norm Smith in a Premiership year for the club!

I'm onto you Scon, you're just after cheap likes with that post. :p Count me in though.

With Sylvia coming in I just can't see who Mora would knock out. Midfield with Fyfe, Mundy, Barlow, Hill and Crowley - not likely. Half forward with Sylvia, Mayne and Pav - not likely. Half back with Spur, Duffield and Johnson/McPharlin - not likely. Maybe on the bench?

Super sub ;). Don't worry about it mate, no team has there best 22 out on the park that often, at least not us, there's always injuries and players not in form.

Would be great if he could break his way into the midfield. Imagine five midfielders in Fyfe, Mundy, Barlow, Crowley and Morabito all over 6"3' and 90kgs. Would send most opposing midfields to water.

Imagine this midfield with Hill and Pearce on respective centre wings and Morra running through the center. Just how many taggers can you have on the field at any one time? :-)

Hopefully this is true, (plus his leg speed is hopefully still a factor) but sitting on the boundary at the GF, you could almost feel how hard the Hawks boys were clattering in at the stoppages, so I still put a lot down to 'size of the fight in the dog' in the big games.

FREMANTLE
Kepler Bradley (knee) Has been running since September after rupturing his ACL in round five against the Tigers. Will be eased into the pre-season but should progress well through the summer.
Jonathon Griffin (knee) Ruptured his ACL just two weeks after Bradley so the pair have been tracking well together. Griffin was ahead of Bradley when he started running in late August but like Bradley will be eased into his pre-season program.
Garrick Ibbotson (Achilles) Was a late withdrawal from the round-19 clash with Carlton with Achilles soreness and never recovered. He eventually had surgery in late September but he should be unrestricted through the pre-season.
Anthony Morabito (knee) Was progressing well mid-season following his LARS surgery in January but the club decided in August to abandon any plans of him playing in 2013 in order to focus on him doing a full pre-season, which he will do.

Clancee Pearce (Achilles) Injured his Achilles in round 23 and did not play in the finals series but will be fine to participate in a full pre-season.

Dockers fans dreaming... I'm afraid the poor guy's going to go the Clem Michael route and be all potential and bad luck :(

I don't know what the point of being a footy fan is if you can't at least be hopeful about a player returning from such serious injury setbacks, embrace the romanticism of it :thumbsu:

hear hear

Freo is not even my first team, but he is my favourite player from my local side (Freo). I hope he comes back and comes back bigger and better than before.

Bite me Minz
Mora will make it back and he will be soooo mentally tough given his shitty journey.
Go Mora!

Hehehe, bloody hope so! Too many years supporting Freo have made me excessively pessimistic ;)

I know this is a bit of a necro-post, but reading this just made my day - had to share. Taken straight form Freo's website:

"Although now in their fifth years at the club, Michael Barlow and Anthony Morabito also joined the Monday session. Morabito looked strong and performed all the running drills without any obvious discomfort from his thrice-operated left knee. "
(Link: http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2013-11-18/new-faces-at-freo-for-start-of-preseason)

Also, some comments from Gumby:

" ...Anthony Morabito trained fully, nearly 11 months on from his third knee-reconstruction. The 22-year-old attempted to return during the 2013 season but was rested in August to be ready for day one of the pre-season.

"He's obviously been through a tough time but he's looking fit at the moment. He looks good," Gumbleton said. "
(Link: http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/news/2013-11-18/injuryfree-gumby-ready-to-fight-for-a-spot)

:):):):):)

Apparently Morra came back in poor nick from his break. The club wasn't happy with him or Josh Simpsons skin folds.
Where exactly did you hear this from? Personally I find that highly unlikely. Would really appreciate people who are going to post this sort of stuff at least cite their source. Otherwise you look like you're full of it.