Murphy

08/04/06 v Peel - Played mainly CHB, very good game, 8 marks, 25 possesions
17/04/06 v Perth - Started CHB, moved forward, kicking 3 goals 5 behinds, 17 possesions, 6 marks

Unfortuntaly for Murphy, Michael Johnson has now moved ahead of him & Murph will probably only be able to get back into team via injuries to others, but will be a key player in future

he needs to pick up on pace and be more agressive....last i saw him at AFL level hes not very agressive.

I watched the wafl game and i have noticed that he doesn't really seem to have a 'red hot go'. If the ball is in close vicinty he'll go for the mark but he doesn't seem to really demand the ball or want it. He has no urgency in his game,yet he has all the attributes, good mark and kick and has pace. I personally think he is a bit lazy and thinks it will just happen without trying to make it happen for himself and the team. Needs to change his attitude and approach to the game if he wants to be successful.

Redgum said:
I watched the wafl game and i have noticed that he doesn't really seem to have a 'red hot go'. If the ball is in close vicinty he'll go for the mark but he doesn't seem to really demand the ball or want it. He has no urgency in his game,yet he has all the attributes, good mark and kick and has pace. I personally think he is a bit lazy and thinks it will just happen without trying to make it happen for himself and the team. Needs to change his attitude and approach to the game if he wants to be successful.

youve hit the problem with him rgiht on the spot 100% never gives it a red hot go, he needs to be spoon fed thats his attitude, i have feeling adam campbell will surpass him.

Redgum said:

Its hard to see that matching with the fact that he kicked around 70 goals in his first year with Souths. You don't kick 60-70 odd goals at WAFL level as a 19 year old and be lazy. But, unlike Redgum, I haven't been watching him at WAFL.

I'll be interested in what IP has to say.

Dr Ralph Dagg said:
Its hard to see that matching with the fact that he kicked around 70 goals in his first year with Souths. You don't kick 60-70 odd goals at WAFL level as a 19 year old and be lazy. But, unlike Redgum, I haven't been watching him at WAFL.

I'll be interested in what IP has to say.

yup ip what do u think? i got same impression when he wqas at AFL Level he doesnt want to do the hard things he has great untapped talent in him just dont want to do the hard yeards

Spud played all his junior footy as a forward and is a natural, he knows how to make space and when to lead, has a good pair of hands and is a brilliant kick.
When he came to Freo he was skinny and lacked body strength. He has since stacked on around 10kg of muscle. Connolly is trying to develop him as a defender because we have plenty of tall options up forward.
Spud is now starting to play like a defender and has developed a bit of angry attitude to go with it. I believe he will evntually go forward and be a star. :D
He is one guy that we cannot let go to another club, another McPhee in the making.:(

Undertaker said:
Spud played all his junior footy as a forward and is a natural, he knows how to make space and when to lead, has a good pair of hands and is a brilliant kick.
When he came to Freo he was skinny and lacked body strength. He has since stacked on around 10kg of muscle. Connolly is trying to develop him as a defender because we have plenty of tall options up forward.
Spud is now starting to play like a defender and has developed a bit of angry attitude to go with it. I believe he will evntually go forward and be a star. :D
He is one guy that we cannot let go to another club, another McPhee in the making.:(

big call another mcphee...thing is mcphee had heart to play and wants to play for the club but with murphy just doesnt put in the extra effort for himself... to be honest oi dont see why CC wont trial him up forward if hes naturally a forward test him there....i just hope this doesnt become another Croad incident trying him in backline now hes kicking ass in forward lien for hawks.

kanabar said:
big call another mcphee...thing is mcphee had heart to play and wants to play for the club but with murphy just doesnt put in the extra effort for himself... to be honest oi dont see why CC wont trial him up forward if hes naturally a forward test him there....i just hope this doesnt become another Croad incident trying him in backline now hes kicking ass in forward lien for hawks.

CC copped a lot of flack for not playing Croad back.

Mcphee grew up a bombers supporter and it is natural that he would put in more there.

One of the reasons I reckon the draft sucks.

Tatter was never given the opportunity in ground time in 2005 that was afforded "others". he was the one always rotated off or would only get 5-10 mins a quarter.

Connolly just would not let the kid settle up forward. Let the kid get confidence and the players up the field have confidence in him.

He offer so much more than say polak far better ground skills etc.

wehavethepassion said:
Tatter was never given the opportunity in ground time in 2005 that was afforded "others". he was the one always rotated off or would only get 5-10 mins a quarter.

Connolly just would not let the kid settle up forward. Let the kid get confidence and the players up the field have confidence in him.

He offer so much more than say polak far better ground skills etc.

whos tatter?

RIPPER_46 said:
CC copped a lot of flack for not playing Croad back.

Mcphee grew up a bombers supporter and it is natural that he would put in more there.

One of the reasons I reckon the draft sucks.

Grow up your parochial idiot.

Professional sports is a business, not a neighborhood spawning ground for talent.

Who wants whining homesick players? "Oh mommy, I wanted to play for Essendon, so I'll play like ********e at Freo so they trade me back!"

malpaso said:

Professional sports is a business, not a neighborhood spawning ground for talent.

Who wants whining homesick players? "Oh mommy, I wanted to play for Essendon, so I'll play like ********e at Freo so they trade me back!"

Hey mate go for a walk around the block. Chill we're all sick and tired of Freo's s**t they call football but lets not attack each other.

We're the only ones who know the pain and highs we endure with this clubs

malpaso said:

Settle petal, it happens , look at Watts at Adelaide.

BTW

malpaso said:
It's a discussion board and people/fans are entitled to say what they like.