My first two draft rounds

Mar 27, 2006
I didn't think there were quite enough threads yet re. draft so I thought i would start my own!! For me the interest in this draft is not so much in the top 5 or even first round but speculation of how the remaining picks will be determined. Anyway here's my effort based on the current ladder-

1. Ess Bryce Gibbs
2. Car Lachlan Hansen
3. Haw Scott Gumbleton
4. NMelb Mitch Thorp
5. Bris Joel Selwood
6. Port James Sellar
7. Rich Matthew Leunberger
8. Geel Leroy Jetta
9. Frem Clayton Collard
10. Syd Tom Hislop
11. WBul Jack Riewoldt
12. StKil Albert Proud
13. Coll Clinton Benjamin
14. Melb Ben Reid
15. WCoa Broc O'Brien
16. Ade Chris Schmidt
17. Ess Nathan Brown
18. Car Ricky Petterd
19. Ess Grant Weeks
20. Car Nathan Brown
21. NMelb Andrejs Everitt
22. Haw Tim Collier
23. Bris Gavin Urquhart
24. Port Mark Austin
25. Rich Bachar Houli
26. Geel Jackson Sheringham
27. Freo Eric MacKenzie
28. Syd Bird from NSW
29. WBull Travis Boak
30. StKil Ben Renouf
31. Coll Sam Fielding
32. Melb Varsamakis
33. WCoa David Gourdis
34. Adel Run out of ideas!!!

Anyway look forward to the barrage of criticism that will follow!!

Having a look at the Carlton picks, if we take Hansen with our first pick, I'm sure we wouldn't take another defender in Brown.

Option 1
Take Hansen, then best available mid or ruckman with our likely PP, and then best available mid with our second round pick.

Option 2
Take Gibbs, then take Brown with our likely PP, then take best available ruckman with our second round pick.

I really like Benjamin, but Collingwood could probably use Ben Reid, Brock O'Brien, Nathan Brown, Ricky Petterd, Nathan Brown #2 (I'm assuming you mean Mitch Brown) or Eric MacKenzie ahead of him.

Then again, sometimes you have to draft for talent.

If that scenario played out, Collingwood would really be just killing themselves that they missed out on Albert Proud by one pick... I'd be pretty upset too.

Thanks for picking up those couple of mistakes - I did mean Nathan Brown to be taken by Carlton and Mitch Brown by Essendon - the idea that Carlton have been notoriously light on for key big men over the past 5-10 years. Whitnall is not getting any younger and Livingstone has been a failure. Having seen Mitch Brown in a couple of U18 games his intensity, leadership and ability to play both forward and back were impressive qualities. This versitility I thought may be attractive to Essendon (and Sheedy).

Please reverse Hawthorn and North's sequence - an error made in haste. Only seen a little of Collier but is a beautiful kick of the footy as well as being quite mobile for his height (192cm).

Daniel Connors was my next pick!!! No based on his form in the recent championships he would be a reasonable chance to go top 30. Maybe the Cats may consider him as a second round pick?

Decent list

But Chris Schmidt ain't a first rounder and is exactly who the Crows have too many players of. Hurley would go before him. Probably go for Everitt.

year of the cat said:
Thanks for picking up those couple of mistakes - I did mean Nathan Brown to be taken by Carlton and Mitch Brown by Essendon - the idea that Carlton have been notoriously light on for key big men over the past 5-10 years. Whitnall is not getting any younger and Livingstone has been a failure.

5 to 10 years is an awfully long time to be making a generalisation like that. The last 5 years I'll grant you, but 10 years c'mon!

If we take Hansen at 1 or 2, we will not take Nathan Brown in the 2nd. We have young developing defenders in Hartlett O'hAilpin and Bower to go along with Whitnall and Thornton.

We need pace and skill in midfield and a ruckman, as Hansen would fill the void for a KPP.

WTTF said:
5 to 10 years is an awfully long time to be making a generalisation like that. The last 5 years I'll grant you, but 10 years c'mon!

If we take Hansen at 1 or 2, we will not take Nathan Brown in the 2nd. We have young developing defenders in Hartlett O'hAilpin and Bower to go along with Whitnall and Thornton.

We need pace and skill in midfield and a ruckman, as Hansen would fill the void for a KPP.

Ok 6.23 years - bloody pedantic aren't you...you are probably correct regarding your second pick - I don't pretend to know Carlton's requirements intimately - I just went for a gut feel on where the various clubs were either deficient or would draft a player based on their state of origin etc.

year of the cat said:
I didn't think there were quite enough threads yet re. draft so I thought i would start my own!! For me the interest in this draft is not so much in the top 5 or even first round but speculation of how the remaining picks will be determined. Anyway here's my effort based on the current ladder-

1. Ess Bryce Gibbs
2. Car Lachlan Hansen
3. Haw Scott Gumbleton
4. NMelb Mitch Thorp
5. Bris Joel Selwood
6. Port James Sellar
7. Rich Matthew Leunberger
8. Geel Leroy Jetta
9. Frem Clayton Collard
10. Syd Tom Hislop
11. WBul Jack Riewoldt
12. StKil Albert Proud
13. Coll Clinton Benjamin
14. Melb Ben Reid
15. WCoa Broc O'Brien
16. Ade Chris Schmidt
17. Ess Nathan Brown
18. Car Ricky Petterd
19. Ess Grant Weeks
20. Car Nathan Brown
21. NMelb Andrejs Everitt
22. Haw Tim Collier
23. Bris Gavin Urquhart
24. Port Mark Austin
25. Rich Bachar Houli
26. Geel Jackson Sheringham
27. Freo Eric MacKenzie
28. Syd Bird from NSW
29. WBull Travis Boak
30. StKil Ben Renouf
31. Coll Sam Fielding
32. Melb Varsamakis
33. WCoa David Gourdis
34. Adel Run out of ideas!!!

Anyway look forward to the barrage of criticism that will follow!!

Good list, but I reckon we would be more likely to take Jarryd Morton or Gary Moss with our second pick than Graham McKenzie. I know he is a small player, but he has some skill and pace and is closer to what we need than McKenzie. I think Jarryd Morton though would fit the bill perfectly.

does anyone think dave mackay will get drafted? plays oakleigh, n was in the vic metro team, didnt have the best tournament but still reckon he's worth getting picked up by a club at the end of the year.

sinepari said:
YSAYE-morton is about 190cm not small.

Sorry I know - I was talking about Moss being small. I just finished up by saying Morton would be right (because he was a tall player who might play Wing/midfield).

List will continue to evolve. My knowledge of SA and WA u/19 and Colts non existent besides State sides.
1 Ess S Gumbleton
2 Car B Gibbs
3 Haw L Hansen
4 Roos M Thorp
5 Bris J Selwood
6 PA J Sellar
7 Rich T Hislop
8 Gee M Leuenberger
9 Freo L Jetta
10 Syd A Proud
11 WB A Everitt
12 STK J Reiwoldt
13 Coll C Benjamin
14 Melb M Brown
15 WC E McKenzie
16 Ade C Schmidt
17 Ess C Collard
18 Carl B OBrien
19 Ess S Grigg
20 Carl N Brown
21 Haw T Hurley
22 NM D Gourdis
23 Bris B Reid
24 PA R Eddy
25 Rich G Moss
26 Gee S Colbung
27 Freo J Hawkesley
28 Syd J Allen
29 WB R Prismall
30 STK B Houli
31 Coll R Petterd
32 Melb G Weekes
33 WC L Thomas
34 Adel J Ryan

Lots of unlucky players which include: Qld boys, Vasilevski, Gray, Colbert, Adams, Dawes, Anderson, Morton, Mackay, Masten. There Also plenty of other 17 year olds who may flourish in 2nd half of the year.

foj1 said:
List will continue to evolve. My knowledge of SA and WA u/19 and Colts non existent besides State sides.
1 Ess S Gumbleton
2 Car B Gibbs
3 Haw L Hansen
4 Roos M Thorp
5 Bris J Selwood
6 PA J Sellar
7 Rich T Hislop
8 Gee M Leuenberger
9 Freo L Jetta
10 Syd A Proud
11 WB A Everitt
12 STK J Reiwoldt
13 Coll C Benjamin
14 Melb M Brown
15 WC E McKenzie
16 Ade C Schmidt
17 Ess C Collard
18 Carl B OBrien
19 Ess S Grigg
20 Carl N Brown
21 Haw T Hurley
22 NM D Gourdis
23 Bris B Reid
24 PA R Eddy
25 Rich G Moss
26 Gee S Colbung
27 Freo J Hawkesley
28 Syd J Allen
29 WB R Prismall
30 STK B Houli
31 Coll R Petterd
32 Melb G Weekes
33 WC L Thomas
34 Adel J Ryan

Lots of unlucky players which include: Qld boys, Vasilevski, Gray, Colbert, Adams, Dawes, Anderson, Morton, Mackay, Masten. There Also plenty of other 17 year olds who may flourish in 2nd half of the year.

Nice effort - included a couple that in retrospect I should have in Hurley and Moss. You realise pretty quickly that there a lot of very draftable players this year.

foj1 said:
1 Ess S Gumbleton
2 Car B Gibbs
3 Haw L Hansen
4 Roos M Thorp
5 Bris J Selwood
6 PA J Sellar
7 Rich T Hislop
8 Gee M Leuenberger
9 Freo L Jetta
10 Syd A Proud
11 WB A Everitt
12 STK J Reiwoldt
13 Coll C Benjamin
14 Melb M Brown
15 WC E McKenzie
16 Ade C Schmidt
17 Ess C Collard
18 Carl B OBrien
19 Ess S Grigg
20 Carl N Brown
21 Haw T Hurley
22 NM D Gourdis
23 Bris B Reid
24 PA R Eddy
25 Rich G Moss
26 Gee S Colbung
27 Freo J Hawkesley
28 Syd J Allen
29 WB R Prismall
30 STK B Houli
31 Coll R Petterd
32 Melb G Weekes
33 WC L Thomas
34 Adel J Ryan

Very nice effort mate, just have a few things to say about Carlton.

At the moment, I am leaning towards us taking Hansen at pick 2, no matter what happens at pick 1. Gibbs would be very nice, but we are screaming out for a tall defender. Midfielders will be a priority later in the draft. In saying that, I agree that if we do take Gibbs, we will go for a tall defender later on, and Brown would be nice. Really like the selection of O'Brien, spot on. My only query is about Renouf, and this is why I think we will take Hansen. A big defender, a few midfielders and a ruckman is what we need, so Renouf will be worth a look. So I think it will be Hansen, O'Brien and Renouf heading down to Carlton, if possible of course. Thoughts??

pacman said:
Any info on Tim Collier would be appreciated.
Tassie boy. And his name is Tom. The AFL Prospectus also had him as Tim, had a chuckle to myself when I read a book that is sold internationally had gotten it wrong!

From the prospectus:

Tom Collier - Tall Forward (although he is a utility) - 192cm/87kg
Tassie Mariners - 25/03/1989

Collier represented Tasmania in the Under 16 Championships in both 2004 & 2005 and has impressed as a mobile ruckman who can also play in defence or attack. At 192cm his rucking potential at AFL level may be limited, however his mobility allowed him to average 14 disposals and four inside 50s in the 2005 championships. Collier has a booming kick, finishing with 17 long kicks & only 5 short kicks in 2005.

Collier used to be heavily into athletics - high jump, long jump, hurdles etc. and was fairly successful. From memory he's since given up athletics for footy. For some reason, I've got this thought that he's actually out injured at the moment. Don't know what though!

Hope that helps

Jeremias said:
Very nice effort mate, just have a few things to say about Carlton.

At the moment, I am leaning towards us taking Hansen at pick 2, no matter what happens at pick 1. Gibbs would be very nice, but we are screaming out for a tall defender. Midfielders will be a priority later in the draft. In saying that, I agree that if we do take Gibbs, we will go for a tall defender later on, and Brown would be nice. Really like the selection of O'Brien, spot on. My only query is about Renouf, and this is why I think we will take Hansen. A big defender, a few midfielders and a ruckman is what we need, so Renouf will be worth a look. So I think it will be Hansen, O'Brien and Renouf heading down to Carlton, if possible of course. Thoughts??

It is an interesting year for clubs seeking a ruckman. Lueuenberger is clearly the standout. There are a bunch of players who are about 192-196 who are talented but are they AFL ruckmen? Queensland have Renouf and Hampson but I have them rated 3rd round and beyond. Two of the better ruckmen in TAC are Kruezer and McEvoy who are too young to be drafted while Putt is an intriguing prospect at Calder- 202cm, athletic and good skills but a LONG way away from being a good ruckman at any level. I suspect Carlton will grab Gibbs (if ess dont) and accept they will get a pretty good key position prospect at 18-20 such as brown, everitt, mckenzie, reid, allen etc. Carlton like essendon really need quality throughout the ground so I suspect with their first pick they will choose the BEST player regardless of perceived need. Lachlan hansen is extremely talented and would be a worthy number 1. I wouldnt be surprised if Collingwood, Melbourne, WC or Essendon grabbed OBrien before Carlton have the opportunity. He is hard at it, tough and from all reports a natural leader.

No.1. Essendon B.Gibbs
No.2. Carlton S.Gumbleton
No.3. Hawthorn L.Hansen
No.4. Kangaroos M.Thorp
No.5. P.Adelaide J.Sellar
No.6. Brisbane J.Selwood
No.7. Richmond Leuenberger
No.8. Geelong Connors
No.9. Fremantle Jetta
No.10. Bulldogs Riewoldt
No.11. Sydney Proud
No.12. Collingwood Everitt
No.13. St.Kilda Hislop
No.14. West Coast Morton
No.15. Melbourne Tippett
No.16. Adelaide Collard
No.17. Essendon Pettard
No.18. Carlton Reid
No.19. Essendon Collier/Allen/N&M.Brown
No.20. Carlton Armitage/Grigg/Moss/Boak
*If they finish in this order & haven't trade their picks.

purebomber said:
No.1. Essendon B.Gibbs
No.2. Carlton S.Gumbleton
No.3. Hawthorn L.Hansen
No.4. Kangaroos M.Thorp
No.5. P.Adelaide J.Sellar
No.6. Brisbane J.Selwood
No.7. Richmond Leuenberger
No.8. Geelong Connors
No.9. Fremantle Jetta
No.10. Bulldogs Riewoldt
No.11. Sydney Proud
No.12. Collingwood Everitt
No.13. St.Kilda Hislop
No.14. West Coast Morton
No.15. Melbourne Tippett
No.16. Adelaide Collard
No.17. Essendon Pettard
No.18. Carlton Reid
No.19. Essendon Collier/Allen/N&M.Brown
No.20. Carlton Armitage/Grigg/Moss/Boak
*If they finish in this order & haven't trade their picks.

Carlton definitely will not be taking Gumbleton under any circumastances. We have enough forwards. Hansen would be the pick in this scenario. If O'Brien is still around at pick 18 we will pick him for sure. Will definitely go top 20.

Jeremias said:
Carlton definitely will not be taking Gumbleton under any circumastances. We have enough forwards. Hansen would be the pick in this scenario. If O'Brien is still around at pick 18 we will pick him for sure. Will definitely go top 20.

Carlton will take the best KPP which is Gumbleton & look to move Kennedy to CHB, because Gumbleton is a better CHF/KPP then Kennedy. Carton would Consider Reid as THEY would have expected him & to go earlier & they would have cleaned out their mature age versitile talls before the draft.
They also wouldn't want him to fall to the Bombers who would hope he falls to them as Carlton will hope Pettard falls to them.
O'Brien will be considered as a rookie.