Autopsy NAB Challenge 2016 - Collingwood d Geelong by 8 points

• Thread starter Thread starter catempire

Gday all.

Talk about the pros and cons of NAB1 here...

And remember...

Stick to the game,what you liked, what you didn't.

Play the ball and not the man.

A good hit out for the club..

Go Catters

A lot of positives from the game, Smith, Danger and thought Duncan was really good. Few negatives also; Motlop was well out of sorts, wont go on attacking him as it is only pre season, but that was pretty bad. Henderson did not do much, but could be just finding his feet. Wasn't at the game so not sure how the Pies kept finding space over the back. Entertaining match nonetheless.

NAB1 is a good indicator of future performance, so im righting off this year. Nothing can be learnt from this, its all been a waste of time this pre season. Scott is a hack, time to bring in the Biggy_Boy lead cynic brigade who will right the ship. Until then im gonna go follow the Netball.

Oh wow. That was truly awesome.
Congrats to the pies.

Geez I love our intent.

And..........I know it's only one game.......but I'm worried about Enright, and Mackie.

Not worried about PFD.
My son (8 years old) grabbed the iPad off me at one stage.
PFD burst from the middle and he said "oh wow Dangerfield"

Had a tear in my eye. Lol

Not really worried about the result win/loss wise but I think C Scott needs to really rethink his guarding space game plan, hasn't worked for a few years and even with a changing of the guard it is still a really flawed plan.
In saying that I think we had a few too many talks tonight, and that's understandable because we have 3 games to get it right, some looked very rusty and although on paper we looked a more experienced side I really don't think we were. We had most of our youngsters and chronically injured out there tonight so although they have been on the list a while they haven't played much footy.
Don't think Essendon at Shep next week will tell us much either.

Seemed like very little defensive pressure from both sides - both were playing front running football which meant as soon as the ball got goal side, the attacking tram had the numbers.

Lots to like and lots to work on. Great atmosphere for a preseason game.

Leading possession winners for the game:

Dangerfield 28
Duncan 22
Horlin-Smith 21
Menzel 19
Gregson 17
Motlop 17
Thurlow 16
Guthrie 16
Smith 14

Thought wtf was going on with the threads, closed autopsy, seriously.

Just too slow in the end. The turnover kills us every time.

Liked the centre, having a ruck who can tap is great. Now the mids just have to gel.

PD was unreal. Just oozes class.

Menz looks great, sort of making me want to place him into supercoach.

Our press is not working, so that will need some tinkering.

Some of the old crew are very rusty. Some of the young kids not living up to the hype.

Exactly what I reckon what you'd want from a preseason game, a really solid hitout and a chance to try some new things.

Loved: Dangerfield, Smith, Menzel, having our injury prone foursome get through a game, winning clearances
Disliked: Third quarter fadeout, Menegola injury, Mackie's terrible handball, our defensive unit struggling

A great preparation for the season. A genuine contest, being punished for a lack of work rate and then being rewarded on the scoreboard when that increased. We had less big names out than Collingwood but it was land of the giants out there and they ran us off our feet in the third. I don't think you will see five Ruckmen, Harry, Lachie, Kersten and Hawkins all in the same side when we start playing for points.

Dangerfield was Well, Dangerfield but the real positive was the form of Zac Smith. Linc McCarthy looked the goods and Mitch Duncan moved well. Motlop and Guthrie look off the pace and Henderson struggled. Throw in Lonners, Caddy, Selwood and Bartel and maybe play a couple less giants and we will be about the place.

A great hit out.

Ps. Mackie LOL

The ageists are out for blood again yet will turn a blind eye to how awful Kolo, Bews, Lang and Cowan were.

#neverchange

Agree with most already listed pros and cons. I can deal with getting done over the back on turnovers but a few came from slower play which is a massive concern.

Thought Hawkins was moving a lot better than last year, McCarthy provided some spark also.

Mackie, Bews and Enright had poor nights, that's a lot of defenders having a poor night, hopefully it improves quickly

Need more pressure through the midfield. Pies were just waltzing through there in the 2nd half, and it showed - 15 goals from 26 inside 50's after half time.

Exactly what I reckon what you'd want from a preseason game, a really solid hitout and a chance to try some new things.

Loved: Dangerfield, Smith, Menzel, having our injury prone foursome get through a game, winning clearances
Disliked: Third quarter fadeout, Menegola injury, Mackie's terrible handball, our defensive unit struggling

I think id add the MF pressure to the that before I cooked the defensive unit - The Def unit is where you see it but it manifests itself up the ground first IMO.

Go Catters

Bubblegum footy...

Motlop looked terrible, but is obviously not taking himself or the game seriously enough. To be so far from tip top shape in Feb is simply not excusable.

What's Guthrie's excuse?