bomba4eva

Nov 16, 2007
Footy is back guys. It is just the NAB Cup but you know when the competition ends the real season is just around the corner. I thought Id start up a thread regarding the match.
Should we instill youth into the team or play with a good mix? Personally I think we should play the senior blokes who are cherry ripe and are guaranteed to be in the best 18, and put in the youth that we will be giving every opportunity this year to shine for the club.
What should we get out of the game?
Would you like to win at all costs or let Knights try a few different tactics? What should be our approach towards the competition?
Who are the players you will be looking out for?
Which particular players would you like to get game time and why?

Thoughts?

Ive changed my mind a few times on who should play but i certainly think that Lee, Dyson, Johns and Lonergan all should get a run. It should be an opportunity for them and if they dont perform, then i think they still should get some quality game time through-out the season.
I also think that most of our 06 Draftees should play and maybe some of our 07 Draftees. Reimers is much fitter, Jetta also, Hocking looks a ready player and Gumby is travelling ok.
In regards to our senior players, im not sure if all Lloyd, Lucas, Fletch, Pev and Mal will play. Lets remember that these players will like to play to just to get some real match time before the season. Id like to see JJ play and see if hes with the game.
Id like to see Dempsey play if fully fit and see Monfries to play on-ball (been on his bandwagon for a while). One other play id like to see is Neagle. He showed acceptional signs against WCE and i liked the look of him.
I wouldnt be dissappointed if we lost, all i want to see is progress from our youngsters.

I think you'll find Brisbane won't play many of our senior players so it may well be a shoot out of the youth. Well i know that Black and Brown definitely won't play, Lappin/Power might i'm not sure. Bradshaw is not fully recovered yet. I expect Johnstone to play though. Thats about all we have in terms of experience. :)

I think this is an important game for essendon and they have to win. Knight has to make a strong start to convince ppl that he is good enough and the win would give good confidence for the young players and new coaches. They should play the ones who are 100% fit and players who will play a roll in years to come. younger players like gumby, hislop, jetta, houli myers reimers should play if they are ready. Theres extra numbers of players allowed on the bench so they should fit most of them in.

IMO, we should be playing predominantly youths. Give the kids a go at proving themselves, and see which of them wants it most. Most importantly, I agree that we should give those who will be pushing for AFL level (Johns, Dyson, Lonergan, JJ etc.) a chance to put forward their case to be played in first division, or to confirm they should be left for Bendigo. Playing our more experienced "certain starters" will not benefit themselves or the team anywhere near as much.

I don't believe Knights should be mixing around positions, but should try and keep the general structure he has planned for the real season. Not only will this give the kids more worthwhile experience, but it will give us a glimpse of how effective Knights' strategy is.

I reckon give as many kids a run as we can. It will be good for there development just to give them a run and let them get a feel for it only even though its only the NAB cup.

Im mostly looking forward to seeing what Knights does with some of our more established players. McVeigh on SEN said McPhee is heading to the Half Forward line which will be a real positive move, not only for the club but for him. Apparently Johns has lost some of his unnessacary weight which is another thing im looking forward to seeing. With a bit more mobility, he'll give himself a better shot at retaining his place on the list as well as getting a gig in the 1's.

Even though ive never been exicted about the pre-season comp, im glad its here and im genuinly pumped.

I will be interested to see how Knights manages Hille and Laycock (assuming they both play). I think if these two can play well while on the field at the same time then we will play some good footy this year.

I am also excited about seeing our fleet of foot in action; Dempsey, Jetta, Lovett, Reimers.

As others have said it is important for us to get some wins up early to get some confidence for the season proper. I think Knights has stated that he will be taking the pre-season competition seriously.

Just the NAB cup!!??

I don't care what it is, the sooner footy is back the better!

I'd really like to see us have a red hot crack this year.

I'm sick of finally seeing Essendon playing again then having us lose week 1 and then it's another month before I get to see us play again.

I'd be looking for a fine balance between youth and experience.

Playing our best 22 and leaving out the youngsters isn't the go, but at the same time we need to have respect for the competition and not fill our side with new guys.

Same as above though.......I want to see pace.

I don't think any of our latest picks need to play.....not unless there is a standout?

It'll be an especially exciting pre-season this year.

For the first time we'll see some of Knights' plans and ideas come into effect.

I'm hopeful of seeing a near full strength side play, and for players to play in their intended positions.

What I think would be a waste is to play a team of complete youth with the senior guys playing taking on positions that they won't spend any time in in 2008.

I hope we rest some of our older guys like Fletcher, Lucas and Lloyd, and bring in the youngsters for a run to give them a good run in the seniors.
I'm looking forward to watching Bachar Houli, Tom Hislop, and hoping to see Ricky Dyson take the next step. McPhee's move to the forward line is something I wanted for the better part of last year. He just seemed to have little confidence when kicking the ball on the backline. A move forward will give him the chance to play with a little more freedom. I think he's trimmed down from some of the reports I've read on Bomber Blitz, adding to his mobility. His mobility and marking ability could pose some problems for defenders.

Tell me about Neagle, mate of mine rates him highly....where did he come from, what draft/pick did he go?

Is he a FF? Who will he end up like?

Honest unbiased opinions please :thumbsu:

Tell me about Neagle, mate of mine rates him highly....where did he come from, what draft/pick did he go?

Came from his mothers womb, F/S pick in the late 30's.

Touted as a FF but could play HFF.

Will end up like Jay Neagle.

Jay Schultz can play, it's not his fault he got drafted to Richmond and plays under a coach who doesn't rate talls.

You're being unfair on him.

:confused: - There are many players in the AFL playing well in unsuccessful teams with coaches who aren't in the top bracket.

Shulz is a dud who will never be a KP forward of any quality:thumbsdown:

A gun player will stand out, no matter who surrounds him :)

:confused: - There are many players in the AFL playing well in unsuccessful teams with coaches who aren't in the top bracket.

No one's calling him a gun.

Doesn't mean he isn't a more than handy player, Longy is right, he can play, he needs a change of scenery

Hard to stand out when you aren't given the opportunity.

28 shots at goal in 14 games is hardly dud material.
He is only 22.

Father/Son selection. Played mainly forward in under 18's. Kicked around 60-70 goals that year but was told his body was much stronger than his opponents which allowed him to push them aside easily.

Came to the club, a bit overweight carrying 'baby fat'. Has had problems with stress fractures most of the time he's been here. In shape now, looking lean. Has broad shoulders. Is very quick off the mark with a great pair of hands and a big leap. Somehow knows how to find the ball and has a presence about him.

Will be a hff or key position player but i feel once he gets kms in his legs will become a part-time midfielder later in his career.