NAB Cup vs. Geelong

just a thought, who gets the gate receipts from NAB cup games? does it work the same way as H&A?

... & we (well in this case both teams) miss an opportunity to sell more memberships and more merchandise.

True Geelong smashed Melbourne, but I have them and Richmond as favourites for the spoon this year (I like Melbourne, but a new coach with a playing list that's a bit hodge-podge doesn't boad well for them).

I don't know why we got smashed we only played the premiers at there home ground.....with 13 players out...and 8 players making there debut's.....:rolleyes:

I'm looking forward to the game - that is if it is being broadcast on free-to-air (anyone?).

I hope that all pulled up OK from Friday night and players like Grammy, Gilbo, Baker and Schneider are available. Maybe even one out of Hayes, Goddard, and Ball?

The Saints were moving the ball well, and players like Miles, Geary, King, and Chucky G really added to the mix. Our tackling was very good and skills not bad.

Geelong set the bar with good pressure and then effective risk taking and run off half back. In my view the Saints have drafted well, and the game plan seems to center around quick ball movement.

Nope it's only on FOXTEL....

Makes you wonder why it's only on foxtel. You'd think a game between two Victorian teams playing interstate would take precedence on free-to-air than showing a game between two Victorian teams in Melbourne. It's not like Canberra's an hour's drive up the road.

haha yeah. the main thing i hope for in the nab is to see young players show signs, and win so that i can watch more sainters the next week! i recon the G could be in for a big one if scarlett isnt playing. it will be our awesome forwardline verse there average backline (with out scarlett). it will also be good to see sammy gilbert tearing up the backline with his 'dont arugue's and his crazy shimmys.

www.myspace.com/ripper_gtain good music about sainters. get on it footy fans.

By the sounds of the ins and outs Geelongs midfield will be too strong as they have a good second tier of midfielders... but if we can beat them there our forwards should be able to stand up

Great game coming up. I have no idea in this one. Cats have never won (or even looked like winning) at Canberra before. I would have no problem if Cats lose to St Kilda. I think Saints will be our main danger this year. They are strong and experienced all over the park as Geelong are. Plus they addressed their weaknesses in the off season about as well as they possibly could (off the field too imo). As said bloody shame this game is not at TD I reckon we would get 40,000 even in February lot to like about these teams this year I know I'd go. :cool:

unlike the home and aways series. The AFL takes the gate takings in the NAB cup

We are resting Bartel, Ottens, Wojcinski, S. Johnson, Harley and Ablett is out injured...

Back in are Selwood, Joel Corey, Corey Enright, Max Rooke and Varcoe (+ a few rookies).

St Kilda squad is:

1 - Jason Gram; 3 - Xavier Clarke; 6 - Leigh Fisher; 8 - Max Hudghton; 9 - Fraser Gehrig; 10 - Steven Baker; 11 - Leigh Montagna; 15 - Michael Gardiner; 17 - Aaron Fiora; 19 - Sam Gilbert; 20 - David Armitage; 22 - Shane Birss; 23 - Justin Koschitzke; 25 - Sam Fisher; 26 - Nick Dal Santo; 27 - Jason Blake; 28 - Charlie Gardiner; 29 - Michael Rix; 30 - Brad Howard; 32 - Andrew McQualter; 34 - Steven Jack; 36 - Jarryd Allen; 37 - Eljay Connors; 38 - Clint Jones; 39 - Luke Van Rheenen; 40 - Robert Eddy; 41 - Glenn Chivers; 42 - Jarryn Geary; 44 - Stephen Milne; 45 - Luke Miles

King, Harvey & Raph Clarke out from last week's side. I get the feeling all three are precautionary, especially with Clarke after his collapse.

Here is how I see the side taking shape on Saturday:

B Geary S Fisher L Fisher
HB Gilbert Hudghton Gram
C Armitage Baker X Clarke
HF Fiora Koschitzke Birss
F C Gardiner Gehrig Milne
Foll M Gardiner Dal Santo Montagna
Int Rix Jones Blake Howard Allen Miles Eddy McQualter

Running total is once again 9 out of our best 22 out, but King, Harvey, Steven & Chivers replaced by Gram, L Fisher, Baker & McQualter.

thanks Punter...
looking forward to seeing Geary, Eddy, Jones etc run around again.
R Clarke .. not surprised considering ...

I was looking forward to the Blake v King matchup, will have to wait.

We'll struggle to contain Gehrig and Kosi given we're missing Harley, Egan and Scarlo. Should be a good game though.