Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

Fantastic to see Freezer get through another week of footy :thumbsu:
Got his hands a bit more dirty too by the sounds of. Great way for him to finish the year. Hopefully a bit more confidence in himself and body heading into the 2017 preseason. No doubt the champ will be down at Seaford with Jake on 13 September making an early start on it too.

Is that it for the Development league?

The Freezer journey's all a bit strange.

One minute he's not playing and not looking like playing. Media reports of the club looking at options such as going to Germany for treatment. Real doubts he'd play again in 2016, and if so, when.

Now all of a sudden he's back and has chalked up something like 5 games on the trot.

Like I said; all a little bit strange.

But in a good way :)

The Freezer journey's all a bit strange.

One minute he's not playing and not looking like playing. Media reports of the club looking at options such as going to Germany for treatment. Real doubts he'd play again in 2016, and if so, when.

Now all of a sudden he's back and has chalked up something like 5 games on the trot.

Like I said; all a little bit strange.

But in a good way :)
Media overhype his injuries

Great to see Nathan racking up the possessions on the weekend and using the development league for it's intended purpose ... development.

Unfortunately the development league wrecks local footy. They shouldn't have it. If you cant make the firsts then you go to a local club. If you are an AFL player who cant make the firsts then you rest. No AFL stand alone team have it. Its also crap footy. About b grade ammos.

Can't disagree with any of those points, however if Nathan is able to use the development league as a source of match fitness and gaining confidence in his own game then at least it serves some purpose not only in improving his game (mentally and physically), but also the overall strength of our list for the future.

Its also crap footy. About b grade ammos.

Hey! Ease up there one cotton pickin minute buddy.
I'll have you know im very proud of my crappy career in the B Grade ammos..................(reserves):oops:
But playing in the magoos has its perks.
The seniors werent allowed to drink beer while watching us.;)

Hey! Ease up there one cotton pickin minute buddy.
I'll have you know im very proud of my crappy career in the B Grade ammos..................(reserves):oops:
But playing in the magoos has its perks.
The seniors werent allowed to drink beer while watching us.;)

Yes sorry about that. I would be very happy for my side to be playing B grade ammos especially as it looks like we are heading to D grade again. It seems so long ago we were in B grade.

No worries mate. I wasnt offended anyway.
Im proud of my spectacularly unspectacular career.:thumbsu:

I'm not in the 'it's all in his head' stuff people keep going on about

Each time he is re-injuried it's not his mental wellbeing doing it, believe it or not it's the hamstring or the body

So he has had 4 or 5 in a row right?
So if it pings next week going full tilt into a loose ball contest is it his head that made it twang???
Of course not
Its the body

Each time he is re-injuried it's not his mental wellbeing doing it, believe it or not it's the hamstring or the body

So if it pings next week going full tilt into a loose ball contest is it his head that made it twang???
Of course not
Its the body

Its in his head though because a couple of MRI's have shown no new damage. Of course if its a new tear its his body but that hasn't always been the case and who could blame him.

Of course not
Its the body
What is in his head is not trusting his body to go full tilt hence why he's been in 1st gear the whole time in the seniors. We're not saying the hammies are just a mental thing, it's just the confidence in his body is all between the ears, if he gets through the year, gets through pre season, I think he'll have the confidence to come out next season and play at 100%

Of course confidence is between the ears
But the way people have been carrying on its like the injury is
It wasn't that long ago he was injured

I'd guess that not running flat tilt is on orders from the club....preseason will be the test
Thats when he will be expected to go full on imo

What is in his head is not trusting his body to go full tilt hence why he's been in 1st gear the whole time in the seniors. We're not saying the hammies are just a mental thing, it's just the confidence in his body is all between the ears, if he gets through the year, gets through pre season, I think he'll have the confidence to come out next season and play at 100%

Or he's been instructed to ramp it up slowly after not pulling up after the first game.

Obviously we do not have any of the medical reports for Freeman, but if the club are to be taken on their word, which is that Freeman was experiencing "hamstring awareness" during his games, then it could well be the case that it's "between the ears". The mental component of rehab cannot be understated, particularly for athletes since they rely on their bodies for their career and are also under perceived time constraints.

For all we know, Freeman's "hamstring awareness" could've been simple apprehension to push himself due to fear, could've been some pain from lactic acid build up that he perceived to be potential damage, or he could've been on the verge of re-injury and correctly backed off. We don't know, but I suspect that it is unlikely that these setbacks were physical in nature, due to the clear scans (again, this is assuming that the club has been forthright). If it weren't mental, then either the club has been playing funny buggers with the released information, or Freeman has some large issues pertaining to his connective tissue.

Let's worry about the 2017 FA class this time next year Stav, there'll be plenty to keep us occupied over the next few months!

MG what's the general feel around the club with Freeman at the moment?
I've been to a few VFL games & watched him play. Obviously seems to be stuck in second gear & is struggling to find the footy. Now back in the DEV squad.

Are there any concerns that you know of or are we still confident he can get back to the sort of form that earned him a top 10 selection.

MG what's the general feel around the club with Freeman at the moment?
I've been to a few VFL games & watched him play. Obviously seems to be stuck in second gear & is struggling to find the footy. Now back in the DEV squad.

Are there any concerns that you know of or are we still confident he can get back to the sort of form that earned him a top 10 selection.

Nobody is concerned with how much footy Freezer is getting, it's just about getting him back to playing footy, get his body used to games and then once everything is ticked off physically and mentally then he will start to really pick up speed.
You need to remember that even after a few hiccups that this season is the most footy he's played since being drafted. It's all about getting some more footy into him and then leading into what is hopefully a full pre season.

30 this week
Debut against Lions

I think it would be madness playing him this season. He obviously isn't going fall pelt which maybe mentally or because he just cant but if he played in the seniors he would have too and that could be a problem for him. Give him a full pre season to go 100%.