Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

It was a joke. I know he isn’t 34.

Hard to say we have no patience though, he’s a pretty unique case. I can’t think of many that have been on an AFL list for almost 5 years without a game. That is exactly why it will be a huge success for him if he finally debuts.
Freeman finally gets named for his debut:

b820kh.jpg

Phillips' debut was Beatles For Sale
Rice's debut is Rubber Soul
Freeman's debut will be Revolver

Did you know? Paton and Clavarino will be the only seniors on our list yet to play a game after Freeman debuts.

Who have we got for Sgt Pepper?

Phillips' debut was Beatles For Sale
Rice's debut is Rubber Soul
Freeman's debut will be Revolver

Did you know? Paton and Clavarino will be the only seniors on our list yet to play a game after Freeman debuts.
Reckon we wait a few weeks for Freeman. Dont agitate

Let it be.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

How many weeks did Freezer play in a row last year until he got injured? I think I remember it being later in the year though not this early and not playing quite this well? Could be way off.

It was a joke. I know he isn’t 34.

Hard to say we have no patience though, he’s a pretty unique case. I can’t think of many that have been on an AFL list for almost 5 years without a game. That is exactly why it will be a huge success for him if he finally debuts.

Perspective:
Irregardless of what Collingwood wanted/expected of him ( he played only 4 VFL games for them ) , StKilda thought he was worthy of Pick 33 in the 2016 draft. The pick that took Willem Drew.
He has played more "Senior " footy than Drew and has had more impact at that level.
He's slightly behind our earlier 2016 pick of Long. ( 11 senior games ), and is probably at a similar level to our other 2016 Pick, Josh Battle ( 1 game ).

As a 2016 draft pick , he is by no means a failure.

Daniel Menzel played some early AFL games, but missed a massive 4 seasons.

If the Saints were confident there is a good chance of getting him right, he remains a good choice. Remembering that of our 2015 draft picks, one of them is just getting his first game, and the other usually has closer than 10 disposals than 20.

IF : he was not attached to a team and he played a full season of VFL , the way he's played his last couple of games, would he remain undrafted?

How many weeks did Freezer play in a row last year until he got injured? I think I remember it being later in the year though not this early and not playing quite this well? Could be way off.
About 9 by memory mate. First two or so on significantly reduced minutes.

So really put together 6 before he got a collision injury (not hamstring). Got 30+ at least twice and would have been in our best players for probably half those games. From what I have seen so far this year, he isn't at that level yet.

While he has got through his second up game (which is the hardest), he needs to show he can run out games. If he stars this week MAYBE he could play next. But that would be ambitious. And given we have Richmond and then West Coast on a rock hard deck in the next fortnight, I would make him play 3 more in the seconds (including this week).

If he gets through that block, then he has put together 5 weeks and should be considered match fit. Then for me he gets a debut against Sydney, and fingers crossed the final 10 games of the year. But he needs match fitness first.

Has more talent and raw ability than 90% of our list, so well and truly worth being cautious.

About 9 by memory mate. First two or so on significantly reduced minutes.

So really put together 6 before he got a collision injury (not hamstring). Got 30+ at least twice and would have been in our best players for probably half those games. From what I have seen so far this year, he isn't at that level yet.

While he has got through his second up game (which is the hardest), he needs to show he can run out games. If he stars this week MAYBE he could play next. But that would be ambitious. And given we have Richmond and then West Coast on a rock hard deck in the next fortnight, I would make him play 3 more in the seconds (including this week).

If he gets through that block, then he has put together 5 weeks and should be considered match fit. Then for me he gets a debut against Sydney, and fingers crossed the final 10 games of the year. But he needs match fitness first.

Has more talent and raw ability than 90% of our list, so well and truly worth being cautious.

Last year Richo Said it was more about conditioning with Freezer rather than getti him into the seniors. I’d guess this year they’d be more willing to get him seeing as it’s his last contracted year and they’d want to see if he’s worth further investment.

Its been 2 steps forward, 1 step back with him. Even if he had another setback, if the doc's thought his problems could be overcome, it would be worth putting him on the rookie list.

He played the VFL practice match in AFL round 3, then played 9 weeks in a row, Sandy had the bye in AFL round 13, he played 4 out of 5 weeks after that (missing only AFL round 16), then he was done for the year.

So between AFL round 3 and AFL round 18 he only missed two weeks of footy, one was because of the VFL bye.

He played the VFL practice match in AFL round 3, then played 9 weeks in a row, Sandy had the bye in AFL round 13, he played 4 out of 5 weeks after that (missing only AFL round 16), then he was done for the year.

So between AFL round 3 and AFL round 18 he only missed two weeks of footy, one was because of the VFL bye.
Good perspective dude. Thanks