Certified Legendary Thread Nathan Freeman Updates

• Thread starter Thread starter SK_MD_#7

The upshot is you're delisting the kid after he has finally got his body right and broken into the side.
After all the investment in him it is like selling a stock after wearing all the loss and the price is just starting to bounce.
It just makes no sense - nobody knows what this kid can be.
A rookie spot would have been fine and done no harm.
Smfh.
Yeah I would have thought a rookie spot...
Maybe there is something from the medicos about his health or durability that we are not privvy to..
One thing I am glad about is that after all of his hardships and hard work he was finally able to play AFL (albeit only 2 games).
Thanks Sainters. Best of luck to a really nice bloke....cheers Freeza:thumbsu:

Nothing but respect and admiration for his resilience and dedication to overcome his injuries.

One thing not mentioned is that although he's been in the system for 5 years, he's only played about 15 games at any level.

This means he's the same as an 18 year old recruit in a 22 year old body. So he would probably need two more preseasons and at least 30 to 40 more games before he becomes a consistent performer.

Too much of a lag IMO. If he had 40 games under his belt and was coming off a 1 year recovery then different story.

I would have given him a rookie contract TBH, but that's me.

I honestly got the impression that Richo didn't want to play him at all and only caved in late due to supporter and outside pressures. He knew he would look like the biggest wowser of all time if he didn't give him a game considering our position on the ladder. Now he just looks like a w***er.

Probably why he didn’t really want to give him a game. Reckon they knew quite a while back that they were going to delist him. I remember someone saying mid-season that his GPS readings were only 8,9 k’s per game. Plus some other indicators. He was just not doing enough. It probably didn’t really improve.

Now it makes sense why no-one passed it to him in his two games, so many players burnt him off, I actually thought for two games with limited game time he was good, kicked a goal..

Roosy mentioned in commentary that players were selfish, playing for contracts and burning each other off..

There is a really bad vibe at St Kilda..

I wanted them to play him last year when he was getting 30 plus possessions...

Sandy has been the worst they have ever been, so not surprised his possessions dropped from 30 plus last year to 22 this year..

I still think the person who needs to be delisted most is richo

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Now it makes sense why no-one passed it to him in his two games, so many players burnt him off, I actually thought for two games with limited game time he was good, kicked a goal..

Roosy mentioned in commentary that players were selfish, playing for contracts and burning each other off..

There is a really bad vibe at St Kilda..

I wanted them to play him last year when he was getting 30 plus possessions...

Sandy has been the worst they have ever been, so not surprised his possessions dropped from 30 plus last year to 22 this year..

I still think the person who needs to be delisted most is richo

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app
I doubt the rest of the players got together and decided not to pass him the ball because they all knew he was going to get delisted.

It would have more to do with the fact he was calling for the ball all the time despite standing in bad positions

"At VFL level Freeman became a prolific midfielder, averaging 22 disposals from 11 matches for the season. But the real numbers were only known behind closed doors, where it became apparent to St Kilda’s coaches and fitness staff via his GPS readings that he was either incapable or hesitant to reach top speed."

like i said, the club has detail we don't have

That sounds like why Buckley said his problems would follow him when he left. Understandable when you’ve done that many hamstrings to go at full pace but when you’ve finally got a game you’d need to let go and go for it at full pace.

"At VFL level Freeman became a prolific midfielder, averaging 22 disposals from 11 matches for the season. But the real numbers were only known behind closed doors, where it became apparent to St Kilda’s coaches and fitness staff via his GPS readings that he was either incapable or hesitant to reach top speed."

like i said, the club has detail we don't have
We played Freezer gave him a go. Image the exit interview.

Freezer depending on what happens during trade period we may well need your list spot but we may rookie you just depends on what happens.

Look if we say in the media why we delisted you no club will look at you at least someone may give you a chance if we stay reasonably silent and give their medicos something to think about. If you get a gig thru the draft as you cost nothing but a pick then great if no good we may still rookie you.
You have nothing to lose bag us at your peril hence no sour grapes on SEN.

On [device_name] using BigFooty.com mobile app

Don't think so - Ray was originally a defender who couldn't defend before becoming a forward who didn't kick many goals and still couldn't defend.

Darragh can at least defend.
Ray could kick goals, which is not subjective and is lightning quick, unlike a whole lot of others. Darragh is far off any of the defenders we have, althought we just got rid if Goddard, cant kick and isnt physically a freak in any way. Happy to eat my words, but 99.5% sure he wont play more than 50 afl games. Ray could make a dangerous small forward and add a lit of pressure if he worked on his pressure game, which is something you can learn

Putting aside the freeman delist, i just don't see anything to look forward to at the club. What hopes do we have? Dreams? We've lost our soul. If we downgrade our pick 4 for hannerbery i think that'll be it for me. I just cant justify investing so heavily monetarily and emotionally knowing it'll be a disaster. Get a gun at pick 4. We need something or someone to believe in again.

I'm a bit disappointed they let him go.
He's younger than Clinton Jones was in his first games, and got more of the ball, and YES more kicks.
More upside IMO, and CJ went on to play 149 games.

I'm a bit disappointed they let him go.
He's younger than Clinton Jones was in his first games, and got more of the ball, and YES more kicks.
More upside IMO, and CJ went on to play 149 games.
There could be more to it , we will never know - could be club doctors have been told his soft tissue problems will never improve or the damage done has caused damage that will never improve.
must be some reason - if he can pick 37 disposals against Boxhill with a crook shoulder , he has a future - never know they might pick him up as a rookie

I just listened to his interview with whately. Geez this kid is all class.

Whilst i have calmed down somewhat i still cannot fathom why we didn't give him an undertaking to give him a rookie spot if he isn't snapped up elsewhere first. Say "here you go mate, death or glory." Let him go out swinging if that's what fate has in store for him instead of this.

Anyway. It's done now so we move on i guess.

Against Essendon he had only 55% game time… in which time he was still our 8th ranked player.

14 touches @ 78% 5 marks, 2 tackles, 1 goal 1. 1 goal assist.

If he'd played 85 - 90% like most others, he was on track for 20+ touches, 8+ marks, a couple of goals and a couple of assists. Top 5 in our side.

In a team belted by an average side with no players on the bench, it was actually just pathetic to drop him.… but I guess it makes it easier to delist him two weeks later.

Richo is a dickhead.

Against Essendon he had only 55% game time… in which time he was still our 8th ranked player.

14 touches @ 78% 5 marks, 2 tackles, 1 goal 1. 1 goal assist.

If he'd played 85 - 90% like most others, he was on track for 20+ touches, 8+ marks, a couple of goals and a couple of assists. Top 5 in our side.

In a team belted by an average side with no players on the bench, it was actually just pathetic to drop him.… but I guess it makes it easier to delist him two weeks later.

Richo is a dickhead.

how many were handballs

plus maybe he cant spend more than 55% game time... it sounds like his GPS numbers and effective pressure isnt there and never will be

I heard , need a club ITK to confirm that Saints will offer a role of some sort if his search for another footy gig fails .
Nice touch if true .

tbh i'd like to see him stay involved with sandy and help mentoring the younger players