Nathan G. Brown broken Leg

inyourcool said:
This injury is different to Snell's. Jason's break occurred virtually at the ankle joint and was far more complicated. In fact it never healed fully and he had to have his ankle fused.

Brown's injury is similar to Voss' in that there are clean breaks of the fibula and tibia bones away from either ankle or knee joints. This will allow for a more straightforward mending process (unless there are shattered bone pieces in his leg). Voss made a full recovery and become one of the greatest players of his time following a similar injury so there is plenty of hope for Nathan.

To Nathan :(
I hope you make a full recovery and my best wishes go out to you. My deepest sympathies.

To richmond supporters :D
What goes around comes around. I will never forget the way the MAJORITY of you carried on in the 2001 semi-final when Kouta did his knee. A few fights broke out in the stands as a result. I will NEVER forget hearing comments like - suck sh.!t, that's all the f'n wog deserves, suck sh.!t wog, f@*k him, and heaps of 'woo-hoo's' and cheerful delight.

And that game was 4 days after Sept.11. You would've thought that an event like that had brought some sympathetic reality to most humans, but not the yellow and black toothless scum. No sympathies for you lot!! :p

I am a Richmond suppoerter and i have a lot of respect for Kouta. Yes some richmond supporters are ferrals but dont put us all in the same category as I would not boo or swear at any player getting injured under any circumstances such as those.

cupid_k4 said:
Figured. How long until he would have started to feel pain?
Not a sadistic question... Im just curious.

Not sure, had him on pain relief in the rooms, how ******ed was it about the ambulances the one at the ground wasnt a "proper" abulance so they had to call and wait for another!

For goodness sakes.
He has a tib/fib fracture.Nothing more nothing less.

He doesn't have a mangled leg from a motorbike crash.
He will recover.He has a marvellous support team.Unlike a lot of other people who fracture their tib and fib and are reliant on a public hospital ED, where they can wait for hours without being seen let alone having the surgery required to fix it.

He was at the hospital within the hour, he would have had the surgery as soon as possible after that.He is lucky in the context of his injury.

Supporters should put some perpective on this.He has not been diagnosed with a disease that will kill him in a week.He is fine,He will mend and play footy again.

Richmond will develop another player to replace him this season, the wheel turns, life goes on.

not a good sight seeing any player go down with a season ending injury be it during a game or training, be it a star or a young bloke trying to get into the team.

its a lot of preseason work done for nothing, and each team has them.

i gotta respect the tigers for the standing ovation they gave jason mcartney along with the roo fans when he kicked his goal in his final game.

there is at least one player from any team on the field just for the class they bring to the game, brown is one of those.

campbell said:
For goodness sakes.

He doesn't have a mnagled leg from a motorbike crash.
He will recover.He has a marvellours support team.Unlike a ot of other people who fractre their tib and fib and are reliant on a public hospital ED, where they can wait for hours without being seen let alone having the surgery required to fix it.

He was at the hospital within the hour, he would ahve had the surgery as soo as possible after that.he is lucky in the context of his injury.

Supporters should put some perpective on this.He has not been doagnosed with a disease that will kill him in a week.He is fine,He will mend and play footy again.

Richmond will develop another player to replace him this season, the wheel turns, life goes on.

Very well said

inyourcool said:
Brown's injury is similar to Voss' in that there are clean breaks of the fibula and tibia bones away from either ankle or knee joints. This will allow for a more straightforward mending process (unless there are shattered bone pieces in his leg). Voss made a full recovery and become one of the greatest players of his time following a similar injury so there is plenty of hope for Nathan.

While I agree that Voss has been able to rise above the injury, he has never fully recovered from it. If you look at the tapes of his Brownlow year, he's very quick and covers the ground as well as anyone.

My understanding is that ever since he came back in 1999 he has had a much more limited ability to do the running training he once did, and so became more of a one-paced, highly skilled Deisel meets Harvey type player. Still got to the footy but did it more with brains and power than a big engine and pace.

Brown relies more on guile and skill than his engine so it may not effect his game too much.

stugutz said:
Brown is a selfish and conceited person(this is a bad thing). He is a selfish and conceited player and this is probably a good thing.

The selfish and conceited person walked out on us and if you think we are going to wish him well you are all delusional. 'It could not have happened to a nicer bloke'. I would not go to that length but if you lined up all the players in the AFL and had to select from that list a player at a time that I did not want to see injured. Guess who would be at the end of that list? Why would he be last on that list?

Footy will only make up 15 years of the guys life. He has been and will continue to be a poor person for the rest of his life.

Do you know him personally? If you don't you should say crap like that. He was arrogent when he was a teenager but he has improved since then. His friends and team mates probably don't think he is selfish and conceited person. You are just a bitter Bulldogs supporter because you have lost the your teams best player and one of the AFL's best players and replaced him with a dud named Rawlings. Brown had every reason to leave the Bulldogs because they have a losing culture and they never look like winning a premieship and because they were not prepared to pay him his worth. The losing culture and lack of resoures was the reason Terry Wallace left. A coach usually has a worse record if they coach the Bulldogs.

Re: How bad was Browns leg?

moe sizlak said:
Haven't seen it yet, but you do go into tremendous shock when an injury of that nature occurs. I've had a very similar injury happen to me (from all accounts) and it's very hard to describe the shock you go into. For about 4 minutes everything seems kinda surreal.

Yes ive felt this 'sureal' sensation when I broke my arm.

tosseer said:
.why am i having difficulty to believe this

Cause your a git?

campbell said:
For goodness sakes.
It's still pretty damn serious. These type of injuries have seen permanent loss of feeling to legs and even amputations.

campbell said:
He doesn't have a mangled leg from a motorbike crash.
But it is still seriously damaged.

campbell said:
He will recover.
You'd wanna hope so. Just because he got to the hospital pretty quickly, doesn't mean he is assured of a proper recovery. Just gives him a good chance.

campbell said:
Unlike a lot of other people who fracture their tib and fib and are reliant on a public hospital ED, where they can wait for hours without being seen let alone having the surgery required to fix it.
Fracture - yes. We know about this. Brown's leg was pretty much only held to his body because of the skin and soft tissue. The leg basically snapped like a twig. More than a "fracture".

campbell said:
Supporters should put some perpective on this.He has not been diagnosed with a disease that will kill him in a week.He is fine,He will mend and play footy again.
What's wrong with them showing a bit of emotion? They've just pretty much their best player for 12+ months (at the best).

campbell said:
I agree here. Another player will develop. Life goes on. It is disappointed what happened and yes, it is time to move on.

As for Browne. If anyone doubts Brownes courage, have a look at the replay as he came off the ground tonight. A double broken leg, extreme pain, and he didn't show it for a moment. A brave and courageous effort from a footballer whose season is done, and possibly a threat to his career.

I wanted to comment on this, too. As Nathan Brown was going off I got the impression that he was telling himself how he is going to come back from this and be better than ever. His pain tolerance must be enourmous.

Watching his face as he went off showed me how tough he is. Far tougher than any hit man who took another player out- the man's leg was broken and at a wierd angle yet as he goes off his face is a picture of calm determination.

That was courage.

Get well soon, I love watching you play.

answerman said:
I wanted to comment on this, too. As Nathan Brown was going off I got the impression that he was telling himself how he is going to come back from this and be better than ever. His pain tolerance must be enourmous.

Watching his face as he went off showed me how tough he is. Far tougher than any hit man who took another player out- the man's leg was broken and at a wierd angle yet as he goes off his face is a picture of calm determination.

That was courage.

Get well soon, I love watching you play.

Well said mate.

UNIT said:
A note to Dockers supporters, thats 'passion'.

A note to Unit, this thread is about a bloke who has suffered a serious injury, not your continuing obsession with the Dockers. ;)

cupid_k4 said:
I finally had a chance to watch the incident on replay. I totally missed it at the ground. For a moment, I thought that he was going off with concussion, until I was told what happend.

I made myself watch it. A leg simply shoulndt bend like that! I cant beleive how calm browny was. Maybe the pain hadnt set in yet?
Hope that he makes a full recovery sooner rather then later.

As far as i know, breaks like that dont actually hurt as bad as you would think as the nature of the break seperates bone from nerve or something so that its more numb than just excruciatingly painful.

This is a real tragedy for Football. Sure, he is player from a team I don't barrack for, but he is one of the stars of the game, a great player to watch.

I hope he makes a full recovery.

tapestry said:
Ever seen the Voss footage?

I thought Voss's was a compound fracture. ie bone thorugh skin.

I know you guys think its a mess, but really its not.He has a tib/ fib.He had no bone protuding outhis skin, he has not shattered either or both bones.

He is fine silky.I don't think some of you guys could ever work in an ED, let alone be an Ambo.

His was bad but not that bad.

Originally Posted by answerman
"I wanted to comment on this, too. As Nathan Brown was going off I got the impression that he was telling himself how he is going to come back from this and be better than ever. His pain tolerance must be enourmous.

That was courage."

I agree.

Surely nobody can call this guy soft and weak ever again!!

campbell said:
I thought Voss's was a compound fracture. ie bone thorugh skin.

I know you guys think its a mess, but really its not.He has a tib/ fib.He had no bone protuding outhis skin, he has not shattered either or both bones.

He is fine silky.I don't think some of you guys could ever work in an ED, let alone be an Ambo.

His was bad but not that bad.

That's right. Because of the nature of the break he should be able to come back ok. Will take time, but it appeared to be a clean break and shouldn't have been any shattering.

He will be back as good as ever. The look on his face as being stretchered off displayed a courageous and focused man.

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=205781 said:
Surgery for Brown
1:21:19 PM Sat 28 May, 2005
Sportal for afl.com.au

Richmond's Nathan Brown has undergone surgery to insert a rod and three screws to support his badly broken leg amid confirmation that he will be sidelined for the remainder of the 2005 season.

Brown was operated on at 6.30 am Saturday at Vimy House private hospital in Kew to repair an injury that Richmond club doctor Greg Hickey described as one of the worst of its type.

Brown's tibia and fibula in his right leg had fractured as a result of the smother by Melbourne defender Matthew Whelan early in the final quarter of Friday night's match at Telstra Dome.

Brown was treated on the ground before being stretchered off and taken immediately by ambulance to hospital.

He's expected to stay in hospital for two to three days and his leg will remain in plaster for some time.

A six month recovery period is considered the best case scenario for such an injury.