Never Moon A Warewolf

One of the few times I have heard Eddie speechless...I think he was rolling around the floor in laughter..

It came from nowhere too..I was sitting there watching listening to some rambling analysis and then he leads with that comment.

maccas_no1 said:
Cometti is one of the best commentators around.

he is THE best. he can relate anything with football to anything, its all about mooning the warewolf..u know.

DC is an H-Bomb, Dmitri.

Literally laughed my arse off - spent five hours facedown on a guerney in Flinders Medical Centre casualty, but it was worth it to be treated to such rapier wit.

Stiffy_18 said:
DC is a GUN and if Nine lose the rights I hope he gets signed up by another TV station. Football wouldn't be the same without DC and his corkers :D

This does raise the interesting question of who is likely to come across to 7 or 10 if 9 loses the rights, as looks most likely.

10 already has it's own motley crew currently so any movers from 9 are likely to be picked up by 7.

Denis Cometti is a must - he is the voice of football and by far the premier caller - yes he is, McChins. :D

Surely Bruce would make a re-appearance, so that would make a pretty powerful combo.

Eddie obviously wouldn't come across, and in all probability neither would Gary Lyon.

Surely they wouldn't want that conceited arrogant puff-ball Dermie? Would they?

macca23 said:
This does raise the interesting question of who is likely to come across to 7 or 10 if 9 loses the rights, as looks most likely.

10 already has it's own motley crew currently so any movers from 9 are likely to be picked up by 7.

Denis Cometti is a must - he is the voice of football and by far the premier caller - yes he is, McChins. :D

Surely Bruce would make a re-appearance, so that would make a pretty powerful combo.

Eddie obviously wouldn't come across, and in all probability neither would Gary Lyon.

Cometti and Bruce would make an awsome combo. Best 2 football callers IMHO.

I don't think Ch7 would want Dermie. I think they could do a lot better when it comes to special comments man. However, I am afraid they would go with Chris McDermott and Graham Cornes as their special comments men for Adelaide games :eek:

Stiffy_18 said:
Cometti and Bruce would make an awsome combo.

1997 GF they're calling together, but unfortunately DC is number 3 in the team behind Sandy "HE BENDS IT BACK!" Roberts and didn't have the freedom to be as colourful as he is in his prime role on Nine.

dyertribe said:
1997 GF they're calling together, but unfortunately DC is number 3 in the team behind Sandy "HE BENDS IT BACK!" Roberts and didn't have the freedom to be as colourful as he is in his prime role on Nine.

God forbid that we ever see Sandy Roberts back on our screens calling footy again. He really used to give me the sh*ts.

dyertribe said:
Sandy Roberts, well there is one negative if 7 gets the rights :rolleyes:

That bloke really gives me the sh*ts.

Macca23 said:
Sandy Roberts ... He really used to give me the sh*ts.

Stiffy_18 said:
Sandy Roberts ... That bloke really gives me the sh*ts.

BigFooty's answer to Johnny Warren and Les Murray are back with a vengeance ;)

Seriously though, totally agree, what was with Sandy's "HE BENDS IT BACK!" call for every single shot at goal regardless of the ball's trajectory?

I love the 97 call in the last qtr when all dennis has to say is one word and we know what happens

that was "jarman"

:D I can still hear that particular call in my head - that's a commentator!

I'd like to see Commetti and James Brayshaw get a place with either 7 or 10, Brereton and Lyon can go back to radio along with Eddie.

I also think Brain Taylor is a good commentator adn should get a role somewhere and there is another guy on 9 who commentates on Sunday games (cant think of his name) I'd like to see continue.

Sandy Roberts leave him to commentate the Golf :mad:

NikkiNoo said:
I love the 97 call in the last qtr when all dennis has to say is one word and we know what happens

that was "jarman"

:D I can still hear that particular call in my head - that's a commentator!
A little OT but relevant: Martin Tylers call in an FA Cup final after a huge buildup and goal all he said was ''1-1' and let the noise from the stadium take you further along.

Stiffy_18 said:
I don't think Ch7 would want Dermie. I think they could do a lot better when it comes to special comments man. However, I am afraid they would go with Chris McDermott and Graham Cornes as their special comments men for Adelaide games :eek:
Dipper has been doing Dimmy's and Forges ads over the past couple of years just waiting for Seven to get the rights back. :p

macca23 said:

I remember when Nine got the rights thinking that they wouldn't want to take Brereton from Seven but they did so it may well happen in reverse.

What do people think of Steve Quartermain? IMO he is out of his depth as a sports commentator, too many "oohs" when something happens. In addition he often doesn't seem to be able to pick out what is significant in the action and makes irrelevant comments while his colleagues are trying to talk about the important stuff.

Toots Hibbert said:
I remember when Nine got the rights thinking that they wouldn't want to take Brereton from Seven but they did so it may well happen in reverse.

What do people think of Steve Quartermain? IMO he is out of his depth as a sports commentator, too many "oohs" when something happens. In addition he often doesn't seem to be able to pick out what is significant in the action and makes irrelevant comments while his colleagues are trying to talk about the important stuff.

Have to agree - he's a very ordinary commentator is old "Quarters" as they lovingly refer to him.

There must be heaps better commentators than him lurking in the wings.

I've really gotten to like Grybas on Foxfooty, him with Commetti (it does happen sometimes) is great. The one Foxfooty had on when they had AAMI games telecast up until McDermott took over (some older bloke) wasn't that good. He was the one who had a stroke when Carey kicked that freaky goal against the Roos in the wet (at AAMI) but they went on to win.

Brayshaw actually used to be Nine's 'SA Game' guy and he was brilliant, I do like him when he commentates on the radio.

Lane and Taylor are ordinary.

Leigh said:
The one Foxfooty had on when they had AAMI games telecast up until McDermott took over (some older bloke) wasn't that good. He was the one who had a stroke when Carey kicked that freaky goal against the Roos in the wet (at AAMI) but they went on to win.
Mark Aiston. Whose departure had escaped my notice.

Though he wasn't replaced by McDermott. After all, McDermott's a comments man and Aiston is a match caller. McDermott's been doing the Footy Park games for Fox Footy since they started.

I guess you'd say Schwass is the one who's turfed him out of a job.