New Years Eve

It’s been coming on for a few years, but I can now confirm that this is the one where I officially cannot be ****ed. I’ve generally had an average night when going out (tossers everywhere, transport home impossible resulting in walking the city streets aimlessly), so I dispensed with that a few years back and stuck to parties... I have one tonight but I can’t even be stuffed doing that. A few of us are meeting at a mate’s house for a drink this arvo, I’d be more than happy just sitting on his back deck all night with just a few of us and drink.

I almost wanna do absolutely nothing but would feel anti-social (I know it’s stupid, I should just do what I feel, but anyway). I don’t know what it is, any other time I like socialising, just something about this night that gives me the CBFs

Anyone else completely over it? Or am I just a grumpy old **** who should lighten up?

I've had a lot of shit going on this past month and honestly I completely forgot it was NYE until I saw FB posts this morning. After celebrating the past 6 NY's I can say that not a single one of them was enjoyable and most of them were expensive. I'll be giving it a miss as I have work tomorrow morning anyway.

I'll be overseas this time next year so hopefully that makes up for it.

I will be staying home tonight, as I don't know how my new dog reacts to fireworks, don't want her freaking out & jumping through a window. So I'm going to have some Johnny Walker red label my daughter gave me for Xmas & watch DVD's.

I really don't mind staying home, I'm over NYE celebrations now, leave it to the youngsters.

Happy New Year everyone.

There is an amazing hardcore band 'Limp Wrist' playing at the Bendigo Hotel that I am going to see... otherwise I probably wouldn't have been going out

will be having some drinks at mine bbq and pool dont like the clubbing much espically at 30degrees tonight

Welcome to the club, Bunk Moreland.

Most overrated night of the year.

Was going to go to a friends place that i've gone to the last few years, but it has always been shit, so i'm not going tonight.
Gonna stay home by myself and play playstation :D:thumbsu:

Done something every year up until this year where I'll do nothing and pretty happy about it

I like the ticketed party events but this year we didn't get around to it. Went to Falls Festival one year which was probably my favorite new year, Riva in St Kilda last year which was pretty decent as well

Feel pretty wrecked after this season though, even went into work voluntarily today just to bring some normality back to life. It seems to be more of a family event as well

I would say atleast 80% of people go on about how NYE is so overrated/always a shit night/similar that it isnt rated at all so their statement is redundant.

Me and the Mrs use it as an excuse to have a night out. Go to the casino, have a few drinks, gamble a bit, walk outside to watch the fireworks, go back inside and have a few drinks, gamble a bit more, get a train home. Just like a saturday night if we decided to have a night out.

The bar we drink at in the casino is never packed and you can always geta drink right away, you couldnt pay me to go to one of those ticketed bars for the night where its packed to the rafters and you gotta queue to get a drink etc.

Last couple of years I've stayed home and hung out with a girl and watched movies, then gone out to party on NYD. tonight i'm going to take lots of ecstacy and shove as much cocaine up my nose as i can. and listen to funk records... and then go out and party on NYD.

That's if you survive tonight. :p

Has anyone ever had a good NYE night out?

Mate and I tried to remember all our NYEs yesterday.

Last (and really only) good one was a last minute house party at a mate’s when I was 16. Tons of people showed up and we all got blind on small amounts of cheap warm beer and had a blast. Pulled myself some teenage hotty.

They’ve literally all been shit to some degree since then. Something always conspires to **** it up.

NYE is such a nothing holiday to me, especially since I usually go to bed around 10pm-ish and dont drink. Best of luck to everyone next year! But I wont be counting down, im finishing 2 assignments due next week anyway.

i'm not a massive fan but the missus is so partake to keep her happy

going to a dress up party tonight, leaving straight from work so have worked the last few hours in a ridiculous luigi costume. that alone gets a :thumbsu: from me

I love NYE, come at me. The last 2 would definitely be in my top 5 nights ever. Last year the Perth Cup was on NYE instead of NYD for some reason which was awesome, so drank beers all day, won ~$80 on horses, went clubbing, drank more beers and picked up a fairly decent bird, which was something of a rarity being 18 and skinny as ****. Mates 18th the year before, everyone got smashed and had sex. This year have another 18th so hoping for a repeat of 2010/11. Not expecting, but hoping :p. Will still get wasted regardless

Has anyone ever had a good NYE night out?

I've had a fair few. I just assume most people who complain about NYE have stupidly high expectations about it. I don't do anything different to any other weekend- i surround myself with good people and get ****ed up. Don't see how that could ever turn out so bad. If you want to spend a fortune on a shitty "event" and end up in the CBD throwing punches with the other bogans that are frustrated they couldn't get laid and can't get a cab home, go right ahead.

I'll probably just head over to a friend's place, play a few games, and do a bit of karaoke; but I really can't be stuffed doing anything much tonight.

Most overrated night of the year.

Agreed. I actually don't want to do anything for it at all, but going to go to a mates house for a bbq and some beers. Quite happy that the weather is alright though.

I'll be going to a mates place with ~15-20 people. Something I would have done even if it wasn't a "special night."

I had a few good New Years down at Glenelg when I was underage; excuse to drink on the beach with girls and let hormones rage. I don't really like or dislike it otherwise.