Next Pie midfielders

He was a half forward flanker in his early years and "occasionally" went in the middle so the ruck rover could rest on his HFF

H Shaw, Swan, Pendlebury, Thomas, Holland, and Johnson will be the nucleus of the next good Collingwood midfield. We still need greater depth and class, though.
What we need to add to that group is a Scott Burns or Gavin Brown style hard-nut who can win the ball inside. I'd be focusing on that as a primary need in the draft from here.

You're probably being a bit generous including Holland in it though...

Daics preferred to play on the ball, and he did spend several seasons when he spent more time there (when in form) than up forward, but he did start mostly as a flanker and finish that way too (still protesting that he'd like more time in the midfield). Those were the days...
went to the forward line when mark williams came over in 81 which was his third season

HAH... knew I wasn't that drunk... although we boys on the hill gave it a fair tilt in those days

What we need to add to that group is a Scott Burns or Gavin Brown style hard-nut who can win the ball inside. I'd be focusing on that as a primary need in the draft from here.

You're probably being a bit generous including Holland in it though...

I've got a bit of time for Brodie as a player. He's an antagonist: the niggly little bastard who drives opposition players up the wall. Every side needs one or two like that, especially around the ball. His at his most valuable when he pushes forward and snags the occasional goal. He's got terrific goal sense. He's not top-flight, but every midfield needs some worker bees.

No doubt? I have doubts that ruck will be a priority ever under MM. Midfield is likely but FMD this was coming a long back and it can’t possibly have just dawned on MM!

That's true, Mark. The writing's been on the wall for a while. With the decline of Buckley and Burns, we need quality replacements. But, you know, the list has a lot of holes in it -- by virtue of poor recruiting a few years back. We only had a finite number of draft picks and the talent pool isn't limitless.

I don't think them not picking many mids last year was due to them being oblivious to our problems in this area, but more a case of them saying our KP problems are even more pressing.

I have no doubt mids will be our focus in the next draft. As for rucks, well, yeah, I agree. On exposed form, I'm not convinced we will use an early draft pick on one of the premium young ruckmen...

There is and will only ever be 1 gavin brown.

I still recall chatting to him in the urinal at Bobby McGees after we got knocked out of the finals in the early 90's. Great footballer. A young Nathan Buckley got kicked out for throwing ice across the dance floor and my little mate nearly got his head caved in by Michael Christian for accidentally walkng between him and some bird. Good times!

Re: Daicos

Daicos started as a centreman. He played reserves footy there and his early senior games were as a centreman. When Mark Williams came to Collingwood he played centre and Daicos was moved to the forward line where he promptly went berserk and remained there until Williams faded and moved forward and Daicos replaced him in the middle. MM marched Williams, then captain, out the door not long after arriving when he refused to sign his contract. Early in 1990 Mathews moved Daicos back to the forward line where he promptly went berserk again and Mathews said that had he realised he would be that good a goal kicker he would never have played him away from the forward line.

Daicos is the second best midfielder I have seen at Collingwood after Buckley and the best all-round player.

Its pretty obvious that we are looking to develop:

Heater, Swan, Pendles, Thomas, ****, Nicholls as center square options

Iles, Toovey, Clarke (& possibly Goldy) as run with taggers

Egan, Wellingham as wingman

with a few mix and matches in there

Next Pie midfielders