Next Three Weeks!

• Thread starter Thread starter Polly

I don't often make stupid declarations about something I have absolutely no control over, and I never "declare" a game of AFL footy as un-winable or un-losable.

Your "predictions" stand out in my mind not only because they are usually wrong, but due the fact that they are not presented as predictions, but rather as statements of fact.

You don't say "I don't think we will make the finals...", you say "We won't make the finals..". You often exlude the possibility of winning. Something that strikes me as remarkably stupid.

Could you mention the word 'stupid' a little more, i'm not sure I got your point.

??? So maybe they should just make the home and away 9 rounds? Then finals. Seeing as we have no hope.

What will happen for the rest of the year is quite a few teams will have all manner of ups and downs. As well as form slumps and injuries, some of them will invent brand new ways to effect their chances of going anywhere. Just take a look at half the Eagles squad if you want an example of new ways to shoot yourself in the foot. Or how about Pickett not showing up for the game after going on a bender the night before. Or what about some knucklehead hitting a bouncer.

The other thing that will happen is that some teams who have had a heap of players suspended for things that other teams' players don't even get cited for, will get some players back, begin playing to the plan, find form, and make a pretty good fist of finals action.

You're right Gav, most teams will have a down patch at some stage during the season. But if we lose this week we'll be 3-5, and will need to win 12 of our last 14 to guarantee a top four finish. We don't need to win all of the next 3 to finish top 4, but I reckon we need to win 5 of the next 6.

Could you mention the word 'stupid' a little more, i'm not sure I got your point.

I'm not sure you get my point either. I don't insinuate that people are stupid just for the fun of it, and I don't do as a form of one-upmanship, I do it because their reasoning is flawed.

If you are not accepting the possibility of something that is possible, then your thinking is flawed. Anyone who says "We will win the next three" or "We will lose the next three" is wrong, regardless of whether we win or lose any or all of them. They are wrong because they are not accepting the possibility of what is possible. If someone says I think/I predict/I tip then they are accepting the possibility of all outcomes but are suggesting one is more likely. That is fair enough. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

This kind of semantic nitpicking may sound very pedantic, but when people use this kind of flawed reasoning on this board it makes rational discussion impossible. For example, when people make statements like "We will never win a flag under Connolly, so he has to go!", they are not only ignoring the possibility of something that is possible, they are trying to use their flawed reasoning to back up their prescribed action. It's crazy! And what's worse, it doesn't lead to any thoughtful discussion.

If there is a need for crystal ball gazing, why not accept all of the possible outcomes as at least possible and use your own observations, insights, criticisms, to put up a case for one being more probable than the others?

This kind of semantic nitpicking may sound very pedantic

I think you hit the nail on the head there.

Now, if you'll excuse me I'm off to my debating/english/grammar/probability class where I hope to pick up some tips on how to post on the bigfooty forum.

cheers :)

I'm not sure you get my point either. I don't insinuate that people are stupid just for the fun of it, and I don't do as a form of one-upmanship, I do it because their reasoning is flawed.

If you are not accepting the possibility of something that is possible, then your thinking is flawed. Anyone who says "We will win the next three" or "We will lose the next three" is wrong, regardless of whether we win or lose any or all of them. They are wrong because they are not accepting the possibility of what is possible. If someone says I think/I predict/I tip then they are accepting the possibility of all outcomes but are suggesting one is more likely. That is fair enough. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

This kind of semantic nitpicking may sound very pedantic, but when people use this kind of flawed reasoning on this board it makes rational discussion impossible. For example, when people make statements like "We will never win a flag under Connolly, so he has to go!", they are not only ignoring the possibility of something that is possible, they are trying to use their flawed reasoning to back up their prescribed action. It's crazy! And what's worse, it doesn't lead to any thoughtful discussion.

If there is a need for crystal ball gazing, why not accept all of the possible outcomes as at least possible and use your own observations, insights, criticisms, to put up a case for one being more probable than the others?

You said it.

nor do I, tipping with your head is hard...

I use to just tip against Freo every week. that way if we lost, i got a tip, if we won, who cares we won!

I went back to this tactic the last three weeks, we have won two, so as you say it was a case of "who cares we won!"

I always tip Freo. Can't bring myself not too. I figure as long as we win more than we lose I'll come out in front.

These next three games are going to be so important to the rest of our season. Win all three and we are sitting possibly as high as 5th. I think it's possible.
Geelong at Skilled - Always a tough ground to win at especially with the Cats in current form but we seem to have either great games or lousy games against the Cats. They can be as inconsistent as us.
Saints at Subi - Definately can win this one. I think the Saints are a bit shaky. Again always something happening between these two teams.
Collingwood at the G - I haven't seen anything from the Pies that would suggest we can't win that one.

Alot of if's I know, what do you think? Give me hope!

We win 2 were going ok
Win 3 , well........were definately back in the hunt
win 1 and its very possible ... were under the pump and so is Connolly
win none............. Goodnite season and Connolly , time to bring in Harvey to sort out the ship from the clay for 2008

i've tipped freo correctly over the last 4 games.

I picked freo to lose against geelong then win the next four.

Reveler Champ I commented to my mate during the 3rd qtr , my exact words , we'll lose to Geelong ( based on there current form ) but were 2 weeks away . 2 weeks away from hitting our straps .