lacrow

Dodgers, Lakers
OK, so here's my attempt to pick who I think should be in next year's team.

Backline:
1. Hart - Obviously
2. Basset - is a rock-solid defender as long as he doesn't have to play on the best forward.
3. Rutten - always liked this kid, as you all have probably read from previous posts. I still think he should be moved up forward (for god's sake the kid can MARK!)

HB:
1. James Begley - before injury hit was starting to really show something. Big upside on this guy. Maybe Tim Watson will turn out to be right after all.
2. Mattner - the more I see, the more I like. The kid is big, fast, hard and really starting to show confidence in his abilities. I really think he's gonna be something special in about 2 years (or hopefully even next year).
3. McGregor - only thing he's lacking is a cool gangster-rap name like Fraser Gherig (wanna be... G-train my @ss). How about K-Mac? :D

Center:
1. Reilly - we all know he's gonna be a star. Anybody who says they want to model their game after Roo gets my vote.
2. Tyson Edwards - IMHO the best player we have aside from Roo. More consistent than McLeod (when properly motivated McLeod is better) and definitely better than Goodwin - who USED to be dominating.
3. Ricciuto - of course

Ruck:
1. McLeod
2. Goodwin
3. Biglands - please start throwing people around like the ragdolls they are. Imagine if this guy played with as much CONTROLLED aggression as Roo. Ouch, get outta my way b*tch.

HF:
1. Johncock
2. Schuback
3. Watts - assuming M. Stevens retires. If not, then Mark Stevens.

F:
1. Hentschel - love the way this kid has progressed
2. Welsh - please stay off the injured list for more than 3 games straight. Sheeesh, this guy is quickly becoming the new Matthew Richardson.
3. Burton - adds a level of unpredictability to the forward line

Others that can be swapped around with the above, as you please:
Massie - a really gutsy player who gives his all on the field. Yeah, he's having a bad year, but last year he was awesome. Don't forget that.
Torney - another really gutsy player who leaves 100% of himself on the field every night. IMHO players like him and Massie are must-haves on any football team, just for the inspiration factor.
Bode - although not having a great year, we need an in-and-under guy for the midfield
Gallagher - still think he's a good player on the up
Clarke - solid tap work...nothing else though.. but we don't have anybody else
Doughty - was also having a good season until injury took him out. Kept on for depth
Hudson - shows potential, kept for depth.

I probably missed a couple of players, but this is just coming off the top of my head. Feel free to comment and know that a lot of the players could be swapped around. I just wanted to get a list out there of players I think the club should keep.

Everyone else is delist/trade material.

Originally posted by lacrow
3. McGregor - only thing he's lacking is a cool gangster-rap name like Fraser Gherig (wanna be... G-train my @ss). How about K-Mac? :D

He's been called everything from KMac/K-Mac to McGrug for the past couple of years mate :)

Re: Re: Next year's squad

Originally posted by dyertribe
He's been called everything from KMac/K-Mac to McGrug for the past couple of years mate :)
I believe his real nickname is "Poochy" acording to Biglands anyway. Apparently he has these knitted coushins in Crows colours in the back of his car that earned him the nickname. Apparently he cops a fair bit for those cushions:p

OK, Here’s my first attempt at looking at next year’s squad.

Definite Keeps…

James Begley*
Matthew Bode*
Tyson Edwards
Simon Goodwin
Ben Hart
Trent Hentschel
Luke Jericho
Graham Johncock
Josh Krueger
Ken McGregor
Andy McLeod
Brent Reilly
Mark Ricciuto
Ben Rutten
Jacob Schuback*
Hayden Skipworth*
Fergus Watts
Scott Welsh

* Would only trade if they were part of an exceptional deal for the AFC.

Keep…But will probably retire…

Mark Stevens

Keep, but trade if a reasonable deal comes along…

Rhett Biglands
Nathan Bock (probably worth persisting with, but still looks like a goon at times)
Brett Burton
Michael Doughty (at best, workmanlike – handy backup utility)
Chris Ladhams (can’t delist everyone, would get my nod ahead of Shirley/Massie/Gallagher)
Martin Mattner (see Bock)
Tyson Stenglein (obviously going back to Perth, this WILL be our big trade)
Scott Stevens
Jason Torney

Trade or delist…

Nathan Bassett (28 next year, has never been in the best dozen players at our club, time to move him on -- may get a trade?)
James Gallagher (dud)
Ben Hudson (won’t make it)
Kris Massie (lost ground)
Ian Perrie (may get a trade?)
Robert Shirley (dud – may get a trade to Carlton where Pagan has a high opinion of him)
Ronnie Burns

Make Retire…

Matthew Clarke (If we can nab Ottens and/or a couple of good young rucks, then Clarke’s’ time is up. If not, probably keep for 1 more season).

Long gone…

Wayne Carey
Nigel Smart

Rookies…

Keep on rookie list or promote to main list: Rowan Andrews (a raw talent, worth persisting with, Matt Smith (depending on AFL form, assuming he gets a game)
Delist: Brad Dabrowski, Tim Hazell, Aidan Parker

Originally posted by mymansyd
OK, Here’s my first attempt at looking at next year’s squad.
Delist: Brad Dabrowski, Tim Hazell, Aidan Parker

Don't be surprised to see Parks elevated to the Rookie List at the end of the year, or maybe even sooner. He's got potential and he justified this through his solid form over the last 6 or so weeks.

Anyway, I would delist the following players:
Gallagher - Not up to it, tries hard but is not fast enough for his minute size at this level.

There we go, now attempt to trade the following players:
- Shirley - Not a bad player, so worth trading for a solid deal.
- Perrie - Can't break into the side and is not as dominant as his frame would suggest.
- Stenglein (for a good trade, perhaps a joint trade with Perrie)
- Johncock - Perhaps not, but he may have already hit his best and most clubs like the look of him. A solid deal would come along if successful.

The following should retire:
- Burns - Has stated he doesn't really want to play even more. Besides, he is clearly not up to it anymore.

Hazell should be delisted if he cannot improve any further.

And we can definitely not get rid of Clarkey. Without him we would not have a ruck setup, and that's with Biglands still playing.:rolleyes:

Hazell kicked six goals a couple of weeks ago, I admit it was crap opposition, but it's something. Although I guess we can't keep all these players based on "merit" or whatever, if that makes any sense.
Upgrade Parker and keep Andrews on the Rookie List. He looks like he'll be alright, and we need a couple of young rucks.
Lads, Gags, S. Stevens, Burns etc. can all **** off.

If you think Lads should **** off, your logic means Skipworth should also **** off. Lads has shown more over his career than Skipworth.

Shirley we have to keep if Stenglein goes, otherwise we don't have a proven tagger.

Originally posted by spindoctor
If you think Lads should **** off, your logic means Skipworth should also **** off. Lads has shown more over his career than Skipworth.

Shirley we have to keep if Stenglein goes, otherwise we don't have a proven tagger.

Correct, but Lads doesn't even really want to play for the Crows anymore. He's already stated that he prefer's the SANFL (or something along those lines).

Besides, Skippy's had the better year, and if Lads doesn't want it, then why should he get it?

Don't be surprised to see both delisted.

Originally posted by spindoctor

Shown more what?

Attitude? Arrogance?

Look, Ladhams has talent, but at least Skipworth looks like he want to be out there ...

Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Correct, but Lads doesn't even really want to play for the Crows anymore. He's already stated that he prefer's the SANFL (or something along those lines).

Besides, Skippy's had the better year, and if Lads doesn't want it, then why should he get it?

Don't be surprised to see both delisted.
Ladhams would have to produce something special very quickly to stay on the list as he is a goner at the moment. Skippy is on the edge, but unlike Ladhams is at least putting up a fight to tey & stay on the list.

Please explain how Skippy is on the edge. This guy has had a good game in every game he's played for us. Plus, you can definitely see he's giving you all he's got out there.

During the Brisbane game for example, he was one of our only decent players. Even the commentators noticed that.

C'mon guys, give the guy some credit. He's gonna be all right. No way I would delist him. Ladhams definitely gets the flick over Skippy... and if we're doing comparisons, so does Doughty, Schuback, Gallagher.

Originally posted by lacrow
Please explain how Skippy is on the edge. This guy has had a good game in every game he's played for us. Plus, you can definitely see he's giving you all he's got out there.

During the Brisbane game for example, he was one of our only decent players. Even the commentators noticed that.

C'mon guys, give the guy some credit. He's gonna be all right. No way I would delist him. Ladhams definitely gets the flick over Skippy... and if we're doing comparisons, so does Doughty, Schuback, Gallagher.
Both Doughty & Schuey will be kept before Skippy - however he is ahead of Ladhams & Gags IMO.

OK, broad agreement with most assessments so far - but I think Skippy is getting a harsh deal from some. Also don't know why Bock doesn't get on the first choice HF line ahead of Schuback. He's got a way to go but is showing some good things; works hard.

Trade Perrie and Burton. Should get something for Burton at least or both as a package.

Perrie because he clearly is not going to get a decent run in future; too many other more promising players in his place. And no he's not a top flight player but someone may have a place for him.

Burton - has a head problem. He can't seem to focus on the team rules and game plan, too loose with his disposal. Too much of a loose cannon without the impact to justify it. A club change might do him good.

Originally posted by arrowman
Also don't know why Bock doesn't get on the first choice HF line ahead of Schuback. He's got a way to go but is showing some good things; works hard.

I like Bock.

Of all our first or second year players Bock seems to get the least attention, yet in my opinion he has been the most impressive youngster behind Hentschel (and perhaps Reilly now). He is slowly but surely improving, always shows great effort, offers a good marking target. There's a lot to like.

I must admit i had not a huge fan of Skippy, but he has proved me wrong and he has played some decent games of footy of late.
I am a fan of Ladhams, but he has unfortuantly failed to cement a spot in the team and it is time for him to go. I couldnt see him being traded.
Burton is a player i feel we need, even if he is just used of the bench and in the forward line.

Jericho is promising and I think he should be used at FF but we need to open up the forward line a little bit to be able to utilise his pace, he cant go one on one with anyone at the moment.

Rutten, is looking good, I thought he played pretty well against Lynch, alot of the goals he did kick could not be stopped. This will allow Bassett to become that extra running defender which we will miss through Smart. Personally i feel bassett gets treated a bit harshly on here, the amount of times he puts his body on the line, this was evident in the Brisbane game.

Mattner is another player who will be a star for adelaide running of the half back, he backs himself and is prepared to take the opposition in and he is prepared to chase.

Once again thats my 2 cents worth

Yeah, I think Ladhams is a bit like Perrie - a good fill-in player with too many younger and promising competitors for his position, who deserves a chance to be part of the first team (or at least a more regular player) somewhere else. Good possible second-tier trade.

Re: Re: Next year's squad

Originally posted by maccas_no1
He adds a new level of unpredictablilty to Football, you never know what the dumbass is going to do:rolleyes:

Which is why he should be up forward. How the hell would the opposition's defence know what he's going to do, when we don't and he doesn't? ;)

Burton would only be worth trading if we get a very good deal. He is one of the few decent players we have in that mid-age bracket - ie. better off trading a more experienced player IMO.

Burton should not even be considered unless something comes up we cannot decline but i think that is unlikely.
Burton has not had a good season this season but he has been injured so we have to take that into consideration.
Burton is a very good player, he is exciting, he is a ball magnet, and yes he does have his fair share of clangers, but through him up forward and see if anyone can outleap him? To minimize his clangers through him up forward when he can run and jump and then have a set shot. When it comes to ground he is very good with his snaps. He adds a bit of X factor, people will come to the game to see him take his grabs, much like the old days with Modra.