Go the Guts

Mighty Double Blues
Gday all, first new thread so be gentle...........
Am interested in others' thoughts on Nick Gill. For mine, his decision making is just nowhere near the level required for him to be effective as an AFL player. His aerobic capacity seems huge, he can be a ball magnet on his day, but he makes soooo many stupid decisions and mistakes. Let alone the fact that he can't kick, a minor issue for a top level footballer. I cringe everytime he takes a mark in our forward 50. He might make a better on-baller, as long as he handballs all day, or else learns to kick. Don't like getting down on our players, but being realistic, is he up to scratch?

this is 09. Stop living in the past.

Hmm..............fairly sure he had limited shots on goal on sunday, of which I distinctly remember him spraying a relatively simple one as he usually does. Pretty sure that was in 09. If he has made some drastic change since last year please elaborate, otherwise why not discuss his kicking, apart from the fact that you obviously love North Adelaide? This is about him playing for Adelaide.

IMO If all our fowards develop Gill will be gone, I am a fan of his but I think the other players will overtake him.

Hi Go the Guts...

You're not getting many serious responses because everyone has discussed Gill's issues, and shortcomings many times and we all agree he has some major deficiencies.

Some believe his good qualities (workrate, marking, chasing) make him a valuable member of the team at this stage, others don't.

Most of the posters in this board will say like Stabby did, that he's useful, but only so long as we don't have something better to fill his spot (Burton/Hentschel).

/thread.

Your right, Gill wont last the year IMO. He is injury prone, and he makes too many wrong choices on the field.

Add to that he isnt a very effective goal kicker...

He was a cult hero there for a while as well...lol, ahh.

Yeah, I really do want to like him, but struggle to when he constantly makes bad decisions and sprays shots on goal on a regular basis. From memory he had one good game a while back, where he kicked 4 or 5 but apart from that, can't ever remember him doing too much that was really good. You're probably right, he might just be forcedaside by natural attrition, weight of numbers of better younger players coming through. I'm not asking for his head, just interested in others' thoughts on him.

Hi Go the Guts...

You're not getting many serious responses because everyone has discussed Gill's issues, and shortcomings many times and we all agree he has some major deficiencies.

Some believe his good qualities (workrate, marking, chasing) make him a valuable member of the team at this stage, others don't.

Most of the posters in this board will say like Stabby did, that he's useful, but only so long as we don't have something better to fill his spot (Burton/Hentschel).

/thread.

No worries mate, appreciate that feedback. Being a newbie I haven't been involved in those discussions, but cheers for the clarification. I did look over the boards for threads about him but didn't find a lot, it must be buried in threads with different titles. :)

funny how many people lauded McLeod's goal in the last quarter, and yet somehow ignore the great release handball from Gill as he drew 2 defenders and then handballed over his head to McLeod running forward.

People only see what they want to see!

I thought he had an average game with a few good moments, and would have come away with 2.1 were it not for that desperate fingertip spoil from Hill.

I think he worked hard in the game. Always does. Set up a couple of goals... handballed to Danger from the base of a pack on the back flank and the clever look-away handpass to the running McLeod. Was a nice part of a handball chain from defence to forward that also resulted in a shot on goal. His running shot on goal was going straight through the middle if not for the smother. A return of 2.1 would have been good reward for his efforts. Yes he has brain fades - but he's not on his pat malone. He's a great depth player for us while Burton/Hentschell are out. I think it's a shame he's out too!

I dont think so; more like sneaking in for a behind.
The wind was flukey though;) ask VB

What game were you watching? It was dead set rocketing through the middle, at a speed and trajectory the wind would have had trouble to deviate before it crossed the line.

Adelaide Freo:confused:...and we are talking about against the wind from just short of CHF off a couple of steps

It was only from 20-30 metres out, low angle (hence the smother) and was aimed - and heading - for the goals. No way that would have missed.

As a temporary measure I dont mind him. He would be a nightmare to match up on.
I would seriously hate to stand the guy. From a backmens perspective I think you would get very confused trying to follow him around.:confused:

He's a depth player.

In top form, he's in our best 22 at this stage. However, the appearance of his top form is far too sporadic due to inconsistency and injury...we've persisted long enough. Hentschel is first option, second option should now go to the youngsters in order to give them a bit of experience.

Besides...the fact that he's actually been available in the first few rounds will probably mean that he'll miss the entire second half of the season through injury, as opposed to missing the first half of the last two seasons.

In top form, he's in our best 22 at this stage. However, the appearance of his top form is far too sporadic due to inconsistency and injury...we've persisted long enough.

Fully agree. Just like we persisted with Perrie for years. OK he had a few reasonable games but is that good enough if we want to be pushing for a premiership? I'd much prefer to see the young guys given a go to show their wares. So if I read it correctly, some believe if Gill gives off a handball and misses a shot due to wind that he should hold his place. Ive seen equally as good or better players players bagged on this board recently, guys like dogger, Symes, Shirley, Reilly....I don't get it.

People only see what they want to see!

I thought he had an average game with a few good moments, and would have come away with 2.1 were it not for that desperate fingertip spoil from Hill.

That was shit football by Gill for kicking it so low and or not realising Hill was in the vicinity. Should have been a gime.

He had two nice handballgives inteh last quarter but his mistakes far outweigh his contribution on most occassions when he plays. Has played 4-5 good games though.

Shouldn't be playing AFL level with his skill level.

Whilst Gill's kicking is lousy (from close range anyway), he can still contribute to the side with his strong running and marking. That game against Essendon last year was the best by an AFC CHF since Mark Stevens was in his prime and left us wanting more. The harsh reality though is that he simply cannot stay fit for more than 8 weeks at a time which is not good enough for a 26 year old. This may cost him his spot on the list at the end of the season.

Speaking of injury prone forwards, what do others here think about Hentschel's future at the AFC?