pumped

I have come under the notice of another bigfooty member for what he sees as an attack and hatred of Nick Stevens. I want to make it clear that I do not hate Nick Stevens and would like to use this thread to explain once again and hopefully more clearly what my thoughts about him are.

Firstly I think Nick is probably the 3 or 4th most gifted player on Carltons list. On performance this year he is probalby between 7-10 in how I would rate our best and fairest award. So I am not saying the guy has not got ability or has not got performance warranting his position in the side.

However I believe that Nick throughout his whole career has never consistently produced what he is capable of. On stats it may appear that he has however I don't believe stats to be an absolute guide to performance. On limited occassions I believe Nick has performed to 100% of his capacity. On these occassions he does everything with passion and truly looks to be enjoying his footy. Not only does he run hard with the ball and to receive the ball but also chases and tackles with high intensity. When at his capacity he also attacks marking contests and disputed balls with similarly high intensity.

This Nick Stevens is a pleasure to watch and is inspiring to supporters and I would imagine teammates. This guy is a real leader. As recently as the Melbourne game I felt he approached this level. These performances in my mind prove that not only is he gifted but that he can also physically produce performances that do justice to the talent he has. My problem with Nick and the question I have over him is why can he not play with passion and intensity for the majority of his games?

People have suggested taggers as being a major reason. I can accept that taggers can limit possessions and they can also pressure disposals to not be as effective as they would with no pressure. What I cannot accept is that a tagger can inhibit Nick's ability to put intensity into all facets of his game. I believe that the taggers not only beat Nick physically but also mentally.

When this happens Nick becomes agitated and then drops his head and sets a poor example to the other players. I believe he loses enjoyment for playing and his intensity in contests drops way below what it is when he is at 100% efficiency. Given his standing and experience this is very dis empowering to less experienced or less talented players in the side.

If Nick could find the mental key to having intensity regularly then I would be 100% keeping him at the club. However Nick to this stage has not shown that he can play with consistent intensity yet has a high enough reputation to attract strong interest from other clubs. My belief is that if we could get a 10-15 pick for him that it is worth considering.

If Nick is retained on the list then perhaps the captaincy could be the key to him finding consistent passion and drive. My main concern is for the Cartlon Footy club to have the most talented players available playing to their optimum. Nick is a talented player however something has to change deep within Nick if he is to be a viable long term leader for Carlton.

Agree with you.

Nick no doubt has talent, and is one of our potential best, he just does not seem happy playing. There appears to be no joy in the game for him at the moment.

If he wishes to leave us, I'd not fight it and part on good terms. If he wishes to stay I'd be happy for him to.

pumped said:
What I cannot accept is that a tagger can inhibit Nick's ability to put intensity into all facets of his game. I believe that the taggers not only beat Nick physically but also mentally.
Everything that's being said about Nick Stevens this year was being said twelve month ago about Brendan Fevola. Thankfully Pagan knew better than many of our supporters, and even some board members. Hopefully he still does.

It's a dirty job playing in our midfield even when you're personally feeling 100% and in form. Nick's definitely not at his best, but he's by no means our worst. Let's see how he goes next year with a stronger Bentick, Blackwell, Murphy and a shiny new Gibbs in there with him.

We need midfield talent. We don't need to get rid of it for speculative picks.

I think that's a pretty fair summation of where Nick Stevens is at with his footy. Everyone knows he has the skills, it's just his application and desire can be found wanting from time to time.

When things aren't going our way, he tends to drop his head and just looks disinterested.

AlecDuncan said:
Everything that's being said about Nick Stevens this year was being said twelve month ago about Brendan Fevola. Thankfully Pagan knew better than many of our supporters, and even some board members. Hopefully he still does.

It's a dirty job playing in our midfield even when you're personally feeling 100% and in form. Nick's definitely not at his best, but he's by no means our worst. Let's see how he goes next year with a stronger Bentick, Blackwell, Murphy and a shiny new Gibbs in there with him.

I agree with some of pumped's post - he has looked out of sorts a fair part of this year, but disagree with some too - eg i don't think we should trade him for pick 15 in the draft, he could easily turn it around next year and as The Grover would vehemently argue...this would leave an even greater talent hole in that 26-29 bracket and subject our young midfield to higher pressure and taggers.

pumped, a scan through your recent posts confirms that, not always, but FAR more often than not your posts have a negative slant to them - admittedly this post only partially so. Appreciate your passion for the club is the motivation, but why don't you try focussing your energy more on the positives - it's depressing enough being a Blues supporter these days...

This thread could get interesting once Audas notices it.

Whatever pumped. Why dont you give us concrete examples of this as asked rather than your airy fairy twaddle-dee-gloop. For anyone wondering why pumped has such a bee in his bonnet, is so negative and appears to be using these forums to promote himself as some self appointed "passion" and "intensity" regulator here you go:

PUMPED

Pagan..Leaders and a New Age approach
I listened to Denis' press conference and he suggested that Carltons problems are in the head and not physical. When asked why this is so he said he did not know.

I believe that Denis honestly believes he is doing everything he can at Carlton. That he is doing and saying all the right things. I too believe that our problems are phychological but I do believe I know the reason.

Aside from a footy background I also have a business studying depression and possible causes some of which touch on New Age philosophy. Much of this relates to thoughts and how they affect others and yourself.

Most of us relate to words and actions. We are very used to our 5 senses yet have little knowledge of our 6th sense. There is much scientific and medical information coming out that is proving that our thoughts are felt as energy.

What this means is that how a person is thinking and feeling internally can affect the physical condition of both themselves and those connected to them. There is also a theory that some people have a stronger thought energy than others. These people have a very powerful energy force to affect others either positivly or negativly.

I am not suggesting that Denis' thought can be read by players but I am strongly suggesting that his thought energy can be felt. The players may not know exactly where the energy is coming from..in fact they may just feel down and lethargic for no reason.

etc,etc,etc....................................

Hows your business panning out mate ? Glad your using these boards to spruke your ideas. Are you hoping to get Nick on the books maybe ?

As Ive said when you can provide some examples of your observations, as thats where science starts and quakery begins, then perhaps you will get some credence. IN fact it would be good if you could provide us with anything usefull at all apart from what "you reckon". But, in the meantime your sideline observations mean nothing. Sorry. Move on and leave Nick Stevens alone.
Seriously its getting boring. :thumbsd:

DIG said:
I agree with some of pumped's post - he has looked out of sorts a fair part of this year, but disagree with some too - eg i don't think we should trade him for pick 15 in the draft, he could easily turn it around next year and as The Grover would vehemently argue...this would leave an even greater talent hole in that 26-29 bracket and subject our young midfield to higher pressure and taggers.

pumped, a scan through your recent posts confirms that, not always, but FAR more often than not your posts have a negative slant to them - admittedly this post only partially so. Appreciate your passion for the club is the motivation, but why don't you try focussing your energy more on the positives - it's depressing enough being a Blues supporter these days...

I think Nicks been frustrated by playing in a poor side recently, i feel that Nick is on the verge of some good form and can improve when the side does. As for a trade a top ten pick id consider however not a speculative later pick.
Maybe Nick has been frustrated as in 2004, early 2005 we seemed to make some headway, and now we are the joke side of the afl.

AlecDuncan said:
Everything that's being said about Nick Stevens this year was being said twelve month ago about Brendan Fevola. Thankfully Pagan knew better than many of our supporters, and even some board members.
good call mate.

Having seen Nick a lot in his Port days I think the author of the thread has it just about right. Nick is a highly talented, but frustrating player. He is an enigma. My conclusion about him was that he probably not well suited to a team sport and would have excelled at something like tennis.

DIG said:

Hi DIG,

It all depends upon what you see as negative. I firmly believe Cartlon are far better than their performances. Many on this forum feel that we have been beaten by the past decisions of the AFL and our past board. I can accept what has happened but also believe we could be performing far better now. Is this really so negative.

With regards to players like Nick I believe they are an example of the greater problem at Carlton. ie; A victim mentality limiting their output. We all face various pressures in life and we all have a chioce to thrive under pressure or allow ourselves to be dis heartened. My posts in general reflect the philosophy of going deep to work through pressure and achieve optimum performance. I see Nick as a leader of the club and believe he has a responsibility to stay focassed even when the side around him is down.

With regards to Fev I see his situation as a little different to Nick. Fev was a real loose cannon. Through last year and even parts of this year this has been evident. Nick seems more defeated than Fev and also in my opinion has less ability than Fev. As such trading Nick for a top 15 pick would not be as fraught with danger as trading Fev for the same pick.

Having said all this if Nick really could find the long term answers to his consistency then he is well worth keeping. However even if Nick performs for the next 3 weeks I would still would not be totally convinced of him being able to maintain that form next season.

To Audas I will continue to voice my opinions which is my right. I believe that if anything is boring it is your attacks on me for having an opinion. Even if you don't agree with my opinion I don't think it is necessary to try and dis credit me personally. By all means discuss the issues that I raise but making it as personal as you do is going further than you need to go imo.

Also to DIG I have posted a lengthy message on the thread about positives.

QPower said:
Having seen Nick a lot in his Port days I think the author of the thread has it just about right. Nick is a highly talented, but frustrating player. He is an enigma. My conclusion about him was that he probably not well suited to a team sport and would have excelled at something like tennis.

Thanks for your feedback QPower,

Many on the Carlton board find it hard to be objective about Nick. I am sure some of them may query your thoughts based on the fact that he left Port .

I tend to agree that Nick may have been better suited to non team sports. However I have seen some evidence of Nick having leadership potential in a couple of games this season. If he really goes deep and applies himself he could yet become a leader and a champion mid fielder. I just hope that he does this soon before his career passes him by.

i think the reason Nick has been so frustrating is because the team is loosing , so he says to himself " why the hell am i trying when we just gonna loose " im not saying he thinks this way but this might be the reason why hes been playing the way he is .

I no when i play soccer ( i dont play for the best team in the world and we dont always win ) and when we are loosing i try my guts out but it seems that isnt enough , and when your team is down its really hard to play at your best , but dont worry when carlton are up and running again he will show us all

AlecDuncan said:

exactly correct.
to everyone - get of Stevens back. We all agree this is not his best year, but he is a class act and so important to us ON and OFF field.
2007 is shaping a promising year for us, early draft picks, good pre seasons for our recent picks, Hartlett getting thru being fit and ready and having an experienced leader in the midfield to help develope the Blackwells, Murphs, Gibbs??, Eddie, Simmo, Jesse S etc means Stevo is a MUST keep.

Blah Blah Blue said:
to everyone - get of Stevens back. We all agree this is not his best year, but he is a class act and so important to us ON and OFF field.

I have criticised Stevens a fair bit this season, but I don't want him to leave the club. What has been frustrating this year is not so much his in possession game, but his defensive game and I think that it is fair to criticise this.

When you are a senior player on the field the 1 percenters have a huge impact on the attitude of the younger squad. No one can be blamed for not being a superstar all the time, but when you are having a s**t time of it, you need to get back to basics, be accountable and show your teammates that you are willing to put yourself on the line for them even if most supporters don't notice it and no possession comes from it.

Stevens is a great talent and it is for that reason that he cops so much criticism when he underperforms. I think it is possible to be critical of him, without going too far and calling for his head on plate.

RiCHii said:
i think the reason Nick has been so frustrating is because the team is loosing , so he says to himself " why the hell am i trying when we just gonna loose " im not saying he thinks this way but this might be the reason why hes been playing the way he is .

I no when i play soccer ( i dont play for the best team in the world and we dont always win ) and when we are loosing i try my guts out but it seems that isnt enough , and when your team is down its really hard to play at your best , but dont worry when carlton are up and running again he will show us all

Hi Richii,

You are probably right about Nick and in fact many of us finding it hard to perform at our best when our team is losing. I also think you are right in suggesting that Nick will get back to his best when the team is playing better.

However I don't think it is necessary for Nick to wait for the team to start winning to play well. I believe that guys like Nick, Kouta, Lappin and a few other talented players could turn the fortunes of the whole team around if they rose above the present situation the team is in. Hopefully we will see signs of this today against Richmond.

Gee couldnt get to the game today but from what ive seen on nines crap coverage is that Stevos had a shocker! Thought we might beat Richmond today but alas not to be.

That 2nd quarter was a shocker, getting sick of these quarters and halfs where we dont compete. From the few positives id say Kouta shows enough that he can go on and be a contributer next year and Scotland Simpson are good players.

Stanton said:
Gee couldnt get to the game today but from what ive seen on nines crap coverage is that Stevos had a shocker! Thought we might beat Richmond today but alas not to be.

That 2nd quarter was a shocker, getting sick of these quarters and halfs where we dont compete. From the few positives id say Kouta shows enough that he can go on and be a contributer next year and Scotland Simpson are good players.

You could add walker to that list, but yet again we bring a young player in (smith) and he gets left on the bench, why do we bother bringing them in?

4blues said:
You could add walker to that list, but yet again we bring a young player in (smith) and he gets left on the bench, why do we bother bringing them in?

Yeah Walker good player, how much game time did Smith get? Its a bit hard to judge him on his first game, didnt have any impact obviously. Ohailpins run in the 2nd or third quarter was great though.

Stanton said:

To be fair, Kane Johnson wa tagging him, and hes probably the best tagger in the game at the moment. Kept Burgoyne to a fewe touches a few weeks ago and done some excellent defnesive jobs. Not many beat him.

Kane Johnson is a pretty good tagger, STevens still had a poor game and didn't seem to be running as hard as he could. Is he injured?

Just to give some feedback on Johnson's tagging; S Burgoyne had 3 possessions against him in round 14 while N Dal Santo had 8 possessions against him in round 17

Well Johnson did shut him out the game, im not usually one to bag Stevens but he stunk today.. But we are bottom of the ladder the spoon is practically stirring the soup.

Stanton said:
Well Johnson did shut him out the game, im not usually one to bag Stevens but he stunk today.. But we are bottom of the ladder the spoon is practically stirring the soup.

It sure is but the worst part is, we only have ourselves to blame. Hawthorn and Richmond were both games we should've won. Typical coulda, woulda, shoulda!!! :mad:

Stevens is a joke to the Carlton jumper, he should be dropped to the Bullants this week.

Enough said. Pathetic effort.