Sacramento Kings
I listened to Nigel's regular weekly interview and he was rather refreshing. He said that power are well known for playing games with their line ups and he said that Crows have few match up surprises up their sleeve. He said he is really looking forward to the game and says that he thinks these surprises would come out of the blue for Port.

Now he's got me thinking as to what those tactical surprises are. Can't wait for the Showdown.:D

Originally posted by Stiffy_18

Now he's got me thinking as to what those tactical surprises are. Can't wait for the Showdown.:D

Heard the same interview as I was driving home Stiffy. I think the one that you posted about Mattner on junior burger could well be one of them. I hope AFC don't try to get too tricky and too far ahead of themselves. Sometimes the KISS principle is the best.

Loved the part where he said that Bicks was ragging him about being the 4th oldest footballer in the AFL, and he said that it gave him great delight to inform Bicks that he was the 5th oldest!!!

While he didn't say that he would, he certainly didn't rule out the possibility of playing on next year if he was still playing well at the end of the year.

He's always good value to listen to is Nige.

Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

Originally posted by macca23
Loved the part where he said that Bicks was ragging him about being the 4th oldest footballer in the AFL, and he said that it gave him great delight to inform Bicks that he was the 5th oldest!!!

That was a classic. I was driving to my friend's place and this little comment from Nige has cracked me up. He is one of thos personality's that are just intruiging and you soft of hang on to every word they say. His weekly segmant is my favourite.

Did anyone listen to Kerley's thoughts. I missed it. If anyone listened details would be appreciated.:D

Both KG and COrensy have put the kiss of death on the power:D

Re: Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

Did anyone listen to Kerley's thoughts. I missed it. If anyone listened details would be appreciated.:D

Yep, certainly did. Not that you missed much Stiffy. You could have predicted almost word for word what he said. Hard tight tough contest rah rah rah. Side that kicks the straightest will win etc etc . I thought he worked the cliche book to death :D

He picked the Crows.

Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

While he didn't say that he would, he certainly didn't rule out the possibility of playing on next year if he was still playing well at the end of the year.
It's probably a bit early to say but I see no reason why he couldn't stick around for another year. His form so far this year has been good. He's on the veterans list so its not like he'd be taking the spot of a youngster. And I don't see an obvious replacement for him in defence yet.

Originally posted by DaveW
It's probably a bit early to say but I see no reason why he couldn't stick around for another year. His form so far this year has been good. He's on the veterans list so its not like he'd be taking the spot of a youngster. And I don't see an obvious replacement for him in defence yet.

If you are going on form so far this season then both him and Bickley are playing vintage footy.

As great a player as Bicks is I still think Nigel would be a hell of a lot harder to replace. If Nigel continues on with good form and at the end of the year feels that he still has a year of footy left in him then I say let him play on for one more season Loosing Smart and Bickley at the same time would mean loosing some 500 + games of AFL experience from your list. That is a huge chunk especially for a young list. You cannot buy experience.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

Yep, certainly did. Not that you missed much Stiffy. You could have predicted almost word for word what he said. Hard tight tough contest rah rah rah. Side that kicks the straightest will win etc etc . I thought he worked the cliche book to death :D

He picked the Crows.

Thanks macca23. I pretty much knew he would bring back the bag of all cliches but I was interested who he picked and why.

Fecksake, use a spellchecker! :D

That does it. If those idiots have both picked the Power we are Doomed.

Originally posted by Pred
Fecksake, use a spellchecker! :D

That does it. If those idiots have both picked the Power we are Doomed.

Nah mate spellcheckers are a waste of time.

Both picked the power. KG has been raving all week as how good the power look and how he thinks they have a better list that Brisbane. He has really been talking up the Power.:D

History shows he knows how to put a kiss of death on a team. He's been doing it to Crows a lot in the past.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

KG has been raving all week as how good the power look and how he thinks they have a better list that Brisbane.
Maybe he has some redeeming features after all.

I have to admit that given KG and Cornesy's miserable track record, this is probably the reason that the Crows are a tight favourite with the bookies, and shortening all the time!! :D

We will win this one - and these two losers have guaranteed it.

Both picked the power. KG has been raving all week as how good the power look and how he thinks they have a better list that Brisbane. He has really been talking up the Power.:D

Its obvious hes trying to use reverse psychology. I cant see how KG can be so damn confident that the Power will off the Crows this weekend. I just really cant see how he is so damn confident about it. And he says the Power have been in better form than the Crows. :confused: What???

We will win this one - and these two losers have guaranteed it.
Macca have you said "We will win this one" enough times yet? Don't forget it's a game of footy mate, it can fall either way. You'd better pray it falls your way.

Don't worry, I am praying!!! :)

I might well be wrong, but I genuinely think that this is the Crows best chance to win a Showdown for a long long time. I hope they believe it as much as I do because then I'd be very confident.

Bloody good side the Power, but no Primus, no Francou, and a very underdone Tredrea and Wilson puts the odds in Adelaide's favour - this time.

And if I'm wrong??? Won't be the first time!!! :D

We don't need Primus to win. Our other rucks are more than serviceable. Plenty of other leadership out on the ground too.

Francou is a loss, but we still have a formidable midfield.

Tredrea doesn't need to be well-done, or even medium-rare. He just has to stand at CHF, miss goals, and give us plenty of crumbs.

Wilbur will make you eat your words. :)

I'm not confident, but I'm not fearful either. Truly unpredictable, this one.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Nigel Smart on 5AA today

Originally posted by Macca19
Its obvious hes trying to use reverse psychology. I cant see how KG can be so damn confident that the Power will off the Crows this weekend. I just really cant see how he is so damn confident about it. And he says the Power have been in better form than the Crows. :confused: What???
What's that about reverse psychology Macca. How much are you picking the Crows by... ;)

Last Sunday....

Originally posted by Macca19
I reckon Port will struggle to keep up with the Crows. Will be interesting to see how Port go without their no.1 Showdown player in Josh Francou.

At this very very early stage, im tipping Adelaide by 39 points.

I listened to Nigel's regular weekly interview and he was rather refreshing. He said that power are well known for playing games with their line ups and he said that Crows have few match up surprises up their sleeve. He said he is really looking forward to the game and says that he thinks these surprises would come out of the blue for Port.

Ken McGregor up forward that was it :D
What a fantastic tactical surprise that was :p

We don't need Primus to win. Our other rucks are more than serviceable. Plenty of other leadership out on the ground too.

Francou is a loss, but we still have a formidable midfield.

Tredrea doesn't need to be well-done, or even medium-rare. He just has to stand at CHF, miss goals, and give us plenty of crumbs.

Wilbur will make you eat your words. :)

I'm not confident, but I'm not fearful either. Truly unpredictable, this one.
Thanks guys, I'll take the points for this one ;)