News NMFC AFLW 2019

How is that not sexist? You are implying that women are inferior to men???
Is it sexist if it's true? Because, in this case, women are inferior to men. It's a scientific fact, men have genetic advantages when it comes to playing afl that make them superior to women.

Pull your heads in!

There are a lot of female NMFCBF members and I'm sure, like me, they are disgusted to read some of the diatribe and disrespect towards women shown in this thread.

FWIW I could beat the crap out of any of you.

lol, steady tiger

I've always been advocate that North should push for a license and I am glad we are. But my support was theoretical up until today.

This arvo I was out walking by the river in Western Melbourne and stumbled across an under 16's women's match at a local footy oval.

Yes it was one sided, it was windy and rarely did a drop punt spin properly. The skills weren't great (yet). But there were 40+ teenage girls out there playing. All shapes. All sizes. All nationalities. So I asked myself why?

Is it for fitness? Did they kick a footy for years with friends and siblings and get interested? Are they AFL fans wanting to have a go? Or can they now see pathway with the impending women's league?

Whatever the reason this trend is much bigger than many people think.

My two daughters are already entrenched as North supporters. But for those with toddlers, things may get tough when Dad barracks for North but they have no North women's team to follow. I foresee family division in the future unless we can secure a licence this round or next.

This will be a long term membership growth and retention opportunity.

Like **** the afl will grant it for us.

What makes you think that?

Glass half full:
As far as the 4 Vic licences go, Melb and Bulldogs are a shoe in. But why wouldn't we get one of the other 2 licenses?

The Huddle.
Focus on new Australian assimilation.
Big numbers of female staff.
Dedicated female manager to lead the charge.
Long term historical connection with Melb Uni women's footy.
No pokies.
Leverage Tassie male and female development plan.
Actively support a "smaller club" with another marketing stream.
Links with the growing western Melbourne growth region (Werribee)
Recent good record of self-managing to financial growth and member numbers

What makes you think that?

Glass half full:
As far as the 4 Vic licences go, Melb and Bulldogs are a shoe in. But why wouldn't we get one of the other 2 licenses?

The Huddle.
Focus on new Australian assimilation.
Big numbers of female staff.
Dedicated female manager to lead the charge.
Long term historical connection with Melb Uni women's footy.
No pokies.
Leverage Tassie male and female development plan.
Actively support a "smaller club" with another marketing stream.
Links with the growing western Melbourne growth region (Werribee)
Recent good record of self-managing to financial growth and member numbers

Completely agree with you that on merit we should have a good shot but the afl will give 2 of the 4 to the dees and dogs, and the larger clubs will get looked after with the other two .

I would advocate for women license to be a priority.

1: Huge untapped market potentiality, we are talking about national women population here, not just male Victorian population that is VFL.
2: We are the 4th oldest team in AFL, we might as well get 3rd/4th oldest team in the Women AFL.
3: There are only 4 licenses for Victoria... We would completely miss the boat if we don't get one of the licenses, took us 28 years to get into VFL after being rejected and denied.
4: Starting our own VFL side isn't important when we have Werribee... We can always try to take them over and become NMFC in VFL side if we cannot get our own VFL side. (or at least change it to Werribee Kangaroos with Royal Blue and White)

I have self belief in NMFC team to get the job done and able to get women's license. I am looking forward to cheer on the women and follow them on WatchAFL website.

I would advocate for women license to be a priority.

1: Huge untapped market potentiality, we are talking about national women population here, not just male Victorian population that is VFL.
2: We are the 4th oldest team in AFL, we might as well get 3rd/4th oldest team in the Women AFL.
3: There are only 4 licenses for Victoria... We would completely miss the boat if we don't get one of the licenses, took us 28 years to get into VFL after being rejected and denied.
4: Starting our own VFL side isn't important when we have Werribee... We can always try to take them over and become NMFC in VFL side if we cannot get our own VFL side. (or at least change it to Werribee Kangaroos with Royal Blue and White)

I have self belief in NMFC team to get the job done and able to get women's license. I am looking forward to cheer on the women and follow them on WatchAFL website.
Werribee will never change they colours or nickname they should but won't after all we have been spoon feeding them with finals appearances for quite some time now

When are the licenses announced?
Decision time as 13 clubs want women's team
Bruce Matthews April 29, 2016 7:16 PM

THE MAKE-UP of next season's AFL national women's league is likely to be confirmed by the end of May, with 13 clubs lodging bids for licences by the Friday deadline.

The AFL wants to give the eight chosen clubs maximum time for the massive task of organising teams for the competition starting next February.

AFL game development general manager Simon Lethlean and his department have 13 applications to scrutinise, with licences expected to be granted to four Victorian clubs and one each in South Australia, Western Australia, NSW and Queensland.

"We'll review what we've got in the next week and provide copies for discussion with the (AFL) executive in the coming fortnight. After that, we'll take that discussion to the AFL Commission and try to round it out within the month if we can,'' Lethlean said.

It's likely a special AFL Commission meeting will be held to table recommendations for the inaugural women's league.

Late on Friday, the Sydney Swans decided not to apply to field a team.

BIDDING CLUBS: Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, West Coast, Western Bulldogs.

LIKELY MIX: Four clubs in Victoria and one each in South Australia, Western Australia, Queensland and New South Wales.

WHAT’S NEXT? The AFL executive will assess the 13 bids and make recommendations to the AFL Commission.

BIDDING CLUBS: Adelaide, Brisbane Lions, Carlton, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong, Greater Western Sydney, Melbourne, North Melbourne, Richmond, St Kilda, West Coast, Western Bulldogs.

Bolded are the Melbourne teams I reckon that will get the licenses.

Okay this thread has been requested to stay open, which I think is a reasonable request, as this will no doubt be an ongoing issue that should North be unsuccessful in receiving a licence to operate a women's team, we will continue to push for.

It has been given a cursory clean up. Please refrain from making sexist comments. It cheapens the discussion and detracts from the larger issue and the good work that the club has done not only in the refugee community but also for women everywhere. I should hope that the majority of this board's posters are above that sort of juvenile humour and the accusations that it violates some bastion of PC culture. To me, and I'm sure, others, it is offensive to basic decency.

By all means, discuss the potential for North having their own female team to your heart's content. It is a discussion which should endure. But please be aware that any derogatory remarks will be removed. We have female posters who I am sure do not appreciate their gender being denigrated.

Cheers.

Surely we would be given a license considering the Hawks haven't applied for one?

Give our girls a go: Muscle needed for Tassie team to crack women’s AFL

http://www.themercury.com.au/sport/...l/news-story/8e125ec0adb1bb752021e635b52db414

May 3, 2016 12:00am
BRETT STUBBS
Mercury

THERE are calls for high profile Tasmanian women and football identities to join a task force to lead the state into a truly national competition.

Without such a powerful push, a Tasmanian women’s AFL team is destined to hit the same brick wall as proposals for a state men’s team.

On the day Tasmania’s female youth team proudly wore the famous map jumper at the national championships for the first time, there was growing concern the dream of seeing the state represented in an elite men’s or women’s national competition would not eventuate because of a lack of political leadership and the AFL’s lack of interest.

A Tasmanian women’s team would cost up to $1 million a year to run and it is believed at least one high-profile Tasmanian business, salmon producer Tassal, has shown interest in sponsoring the team.

While the State Government has expressed support for a women’s team, Tasmanian Greens Senator Nick McKim said Premier Will Hodgman had been all talk and no action.

Tasmania will not field a team in the inaugural eight-team competition next year as the AFL only accepted bids from existing AFL clubs.

v1

Senator McKim said the Government should form a task force, including football identities and “high profile Tasmanian women”, to engage the AFL. He said a feasibility study could be done for $100,000 out of the Department of Premier and Cabinet’s budget.

“What Will Hodgman should be doing is forming a task force, going out and showing public leadership, attracting high profile Tasmanian football identities, particularly high profile Tasmanian women, on to his task force and engaging rigorously with the AFL and making it clear to the AFL that he believes Tasmania should have the opportunity to put its case and to be heard with an open mind,” Senator McKim said.

The Government would not answer inquiries if the state was planning to, or in the process of, applying for a team in 2018.

“Developing women’s football in Tasmania is being considered as part of our ongoing discussions with the AFL and North Melbourne,” a spokesman said.

North Melbourne is one of the 13 AFL clubs to apply for one of the eight licences.

It is believed the AFL is keen for Tasmanian talent to be funnelled into the Roos via a North Melbourne academy based in the state.

Senator McKim said the AFL “owed” Tasmania some recognition.

http://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2016-05-03/dilena-north-deserves-nwl

Carl Dilena believes being granted one of the AFL’s first women’s team licences will provide a competitive advantage in growing female supporter and membership bases.

North Melbourne submitted its application for one of four Victoria licences in the National Women’s League (NWL) last week with Dilena telling The Herald Sun’s Grant Baker that no one has done more for women’s football than the Roos.

“We are very prepared and have a long history in women’s football to hit the ground running,” Dilena said.

“From our perspective we’ve got an existing and robust model for women’s football given our existing and long-term partnership with Melbourne University Women’s Football Club. They are the biggest women’s football club in Australia.

“They train here at Arden St and we support them with player development and mentoring from our coaches.

“They have been able to develop about 10 players who have played in the existing Melbourne and Western Bulldogs teams. So their talent pathways are excellent.”

Dilena said the club’s model was “low-cost, low-risk, ready to roll and commercially viable straight away”. Key planks include the expansion of the award-winning Huddle community program into Wyndham and Tasmania, linking in with a junior academy focusing on the development of girl’s and women’s football.

Dilena said the National Women’s League could be used to address financial inequities in the AFL.

“If you are looking at the longer-term strategy of the AFL, to reduce these inequities the AFL needs to undertake policies which assist smaller supporter based clubs to grow their supporter and membership bases. That is just logical,” he said.

“The concern that I have is that those clubs that receive the first round of licenses will have a competitive advantage in building the female supporter and membership bases as well as their club’s overall brand profile.

“If you just hand licenses to the bigger clubs, you are just reinforcing the inequities in the competition.

“In the interest of competitive balance and the longer term strategic objectives the AFL, it would be logical to grant licenses to clubs such as ourselves who are really striving to grow our supporter bases and being very competitive in the competition.”

Casual misogyny is the exact opposite of what we need to prove that we deserve a women's team.
I hate misogyny, casual or otherwise. But if we don't get this licence based on something Mr North Man has posted, then by golly we better be wearing blue shorts in home games from that point on.

http://www.nmfc.com.au/news/2016-05-03/dilena-north-deserves-nwl

Carl Dilena believes being granted one of the AFL’s first women’s team licences will provide a competitive advantage in growing female supporter and membership bases.

North Melbourne submitted its application for one of four Victoria licences in the National Women’s League (NWL) last week with Dilena telling The Herald Sun’s Grant Baker that no one has done more for women’s football than the Roos.

“We are very prepared and have a long history in women’s football to hit the ground running,” Dilena said.

“From our perspective we’ve got an existing and robust model for women’s football given our existing and long-term partnership with Melbourne University Women’s Football Club. They are the biggest women’s football club in Australia.

“They train here at Arden St and we support them with player development and mentoring from our coaches.

“They have been able to develop about 10 players who have played in the existing Melbourne and Western Bulldogs teams. So their talent pathways are excellent.”

Dilena said the club’s model was “low-cost, low-risk, ready to roll and commercially viable straight away”. Key planks include the expansion of the award-winning Huddle community program into Wyndham and Tasmania, linking in with a junior academy focusing on the development of girl’s and women’s football.

Dilena said the National Women’s League could be used to address financial inequities in the AFL.

“If you are looking at the longer-term strategy of the AFL, to reduce these inequities the AFL needs to undertake policies which assist smaller supporter based clubs to grow their supporter and membership bases. That is just logical,” he said.

“The concern that I have is that those clubs that receive the first round of licenses will have a competitive advantage in building the female supporter and membership bases as well as their club’s overall brand profile.

“If you just hand licenses to the bigger clubs, you are just reinforcing the inequities in the competition.

“In the interest of competitive balance and the longer term strategic objectives the AFL, it would be logical to grant licenses to clubs such as ourselves who are really striving to grow our supporter bases and being very competitive in the competition.”
Good stuff from Carl. I am shocked to read that North's legwork over years has turned into a Western "innovation", though.