Non-AFL chat thread

• Thread starter Thread starter d0gs

I will undoubtedly be one of those ones that goes for a week and then flakes out.

So I've got a question for you guys: I'm unfit, and I don't like exercise. How do I continue to get myself to the gym?

I will undoubtedly be one of those ones that goes for a week and then flakes out.

So I've got a question for you guys: I'm unfit, and I don't like exercise. How do I continue to get myself to the gym?
Get a PT. As stupid as it sounds, if you get a pt for the first month of your training and get them to work with you two days a week, you'll get a program and a rhythm. And if you're clever, you'll snag a decent looking little lady for a bit of extra motivation as you get to the back end of your set of curls.. ;)

I have toyed with the idea, but then this leads on to my next problem:

I'm broke as all **** and don't have the money for a PT.

If you get in contact with the closest Uni to your gym, they'll have trainee human movement students etc that are more than happy to get the practise. Generally you'll just send the department an email and express your interest and they'll send you a number or email to give a buzz and hey presto, free PT.

You know what to do.

ddp_awesomeface_display_image.jpg

You know what to do.

ddp_awesomeface_display_image.jpg
I'm actually kind of tempted to try it.

Because anybody can do it! It's made for people of all ages, of all fitness levels. And if you go to DDP Yoga and enter the code Y2J, you can get a discount off of the main pack, which includes a poster telling you the 12 core positions of DDP Yoga and I need to not listen to Jericho's podcast so much.

I'm actually kind of tempted to try it.

Because anybody can do it! It's made for people of all ages, of all fitness levels. And if you go to DDP Yoga and enter the code Y2J, you can get a discount off of the main pack, which includes a poster telling you the 12 core positions of DDP Yoga and I need to not listen to Jericho's podcast so much.
I recommend it. It's great. I got the main pack dealio and it comes with heaps of shit :p

But still listen to Jericho's podcast because it's also great.

You should adopt my fitness regime.

1. Don't go to the gym.

2. There is no step 2.

You should adopt my fitness regime.

1. Don't go to the gym.

2. There is no step 2.
Unfortunately I don't stay skinny like you, I balloon out.

Try to get into a casual, social sport like tennis. It doesn't need to be at club level or anything of the sort, but try to get a mate or a family member to go and have a hit with you once or twice a week. Doesn't matter if you suck or you tire quickly; the beauty of tennis is that it can be made fun by getting mates involved no matter your skill level. You'd be surprised how quickly you forget it's exercise.

Doesn't have to be tennis, though - I just find that it's the easiest to make fun while still getting some quality exercise in. One from more left field is squash - ridiculously fun game and ****ing hard work.

Try to get into a casual, social sport like tennis. It doesn't need to be at club level or anything of the sort, but try to get a mate or a family member to go and have a hit with you once or twice a week. Doesn't matter if you suck or you tire quickly; the beauty of tennis is that it can be made fun by getting mates involved no matter your skill level. You'd be surprised how quickly you forget it's exercise.

Doesn't have to be tennis, though - I just find that it's the easiest to make fun while still getting some quality exercise in. One from more left field is squash - ridiculously fun game and ******* hard work.
I used to play tennis a lot and love it, but unfortunately high school had the mandatory sport program, and that put me off tennis fairly quickly, and I don't really have much interest in it any more. Squash is something that's awesome, me and my brother play occasionally, but we're hardly ever free at the same time. That's another problem, I'm busy on weekends and free during the week more often than not these days which isn't great for other people's schedules.

I would love to get into something like footy, but, even though I talk a big game, I'm not the most physical of guys. Those guys that get stuck into Higgins for being soft would have a field day with me :p Although good thing is that the work I'm getting into involves carrying around 100 kg speakers, so that should get me a little bit fitter hopefully :D

Good to hear
Was doing pretty well before i did some damage to my calf early in my this month so just been re-building the strength in it
Put on 2kg from all family events though haha
Oh damn sorry to hear. Just keep smashing it and you will be fine!

haha yeah im giving myself a couple of kilos over the christmas and new year period because its too hard to not pig out.

I used to play tennis a lot and love it, but unfortunately high school had the mandatory sport program, and that put me off tennis fairly quickly, and I don't really have much interest in it any more. Squash is something that's awesome, me and my brother play occasionally, but we're hardly ever free at the same time. That's another problem, I'm busy on weekends and free during the week more often than not these days which isn't great for other people's schedules.

I would love to get into something like footy, but, even though I talk a big game, I'm not the most physical of guys. Those guys that get stuck into Higgins for being soft would have a field day with me :p Although good thing is that the work I'm getting into involves carrying around 100 kg speakers, so that should get me a little bit fitter hopefully :D
Proof right there that mandatory sport programs are freaking insane, flawed, and often work in direct opposition to what they're trying to accomplish. Honestly though it's a different beast when you're just playing socially. I used to play competitively and loved it so I can't totally relate to you, but it really is a fun sport when you've got somebody you get along well with to play with. Much more enjoyable than slugging out a run if exercise isn't your thing.

The schedule thing is something I can relate to, though. It can be pretty tough. Generally I've found it's easier to organise these things at 7-8ish at night rather than during the day but of course that is dependent on whether there's a court nearby with lights.
Another thing you can look into is whether your local club does night tennis social competitions. Generally they're light-hearted weekly or fortnightly comps with a bunch of casual players. I've done a few with mates and they're a lot of fun without being too serious at all.

Haha, I'm pretty much the same. That's why I play tennis. :cool:

Proof right there that mandatory sport programs are freaking insane, flawed, and often work in direct opposition to what they're trying to accomplish. Honestly though it's a different beast when you're just playing socially. I used to play competitively and loved it so I can't totally relate to you, but it really is a fun sport when you've got somebody you get along well with to play with. Much more enjoyable than slugging out a run if exercise isn't your thing.

The schedule thing is something I can relate to, though. It can be pretty tough. Generally I've found it's easier to organise these things at 7-8ish at night rather than during the day but of course that is dependent on whether there's a court nearby with lights.
Another thing you can look into is whether your local club does night tennis social competitions. Generally they're light-hearted weekly or fortnightly comps with a bunch of casual players. I've done a few with mates and they're a lot of fun without being too serious at all.

Haha, I'm pretty much the same. That's why I play tennis. :cool:
I did used to play competitively, and I use that word loosely, when I was in primary school and I did love it then, apart from the fact I had to get up at 8am on a Saturday. Which is horrible. I've been meaning to teach my best friend how to play, but it doesn't help that she lives about an hour away from me...

I am actually going to look around, probably look for squash for something a bit different though. The problem at the moment though, is that I'm going to be working hopefully 4 days a week, but for me a day means from 9am until midnight. If I'm lucky, finish at 8. And that's lots of heavy lifting and on the go a lot, which means I think I might be too tired to actually do anything :p I'm probably going to play it by ear in the new year and see what happens.

It's all motivation im afraid. If you're not motivated enough to go every day or whatever it just wont happen and will be a waste of money. You need to want to get fit and change yourself. The first and best thing I would be doing would be cleaning up your diet, getting rid of all of the unnecessary shit that you eat that is high in sugar/salts/carbs. Easiest way to shed some kegs.

I did used to play competitively, and I use that word loosely, when I was in primary school and I did love it then, apart from the fact I had to get up at 8am on a Saturday. Which is horrible. I've been meaning to teach my best friend how to play, but it doesn't help that she lives about an hour away from me...

I am actually going to look around, probably look for squash for something a bit different though. The problem at the moment though, is that I'm going to be working hopefully 4 days a week, but for me a day means from 9am until midnight. If I'm lucky, finish at 8. And that's lots of heavy lifting and on the go a lot, which means I think I might be too tired to actually do anything :p I'm probably going to play it by ear in the new year and see what happens.
You got off lightly - I was up at around 6am on Saturdays for an 8am start. Premiership medallions make it all worth it though. ;)
You could always suggest meeting in the middle - half an hour isn't too bad.

I'm not sure how prevalent social squash events are as I generally just play casually with a mate or two but it's definitely worth checking out. A lot of fun.

I didn't mind Primary School cricket, often one of a couple that brought a Kookaburra (and later a Slazenger) to school when we were batting. Didn't play Rugby League though.....but the killer for me in Grade 6/7 was the 7:30 or 8PM start for Basketball. It was worse when it was my sister's team that was playing and not mine. Eventually now I do marathons, half marathons and long distance road running events, can be a pain getting up at 4AM on a Sunday but for me it's a ticket to see the world and (especially on the Gold Coast) it's not every day you get to share the same course with world class elite athletes.

timtamWB others have touched on it but definitely the best way to get yourself committed is to go with a mate, ideally one that has already been doing gym/casual sport for a bit. Has the same effect as a PT, but without the awkwardness of not knowing anyone to begin with.

Should've just done pre-season training with a local football club, at worst it gives a solid base

this month diet has been horrible due to being on holiday but i play bball three times a week and train for about 3 hours a day
though its mostly cardio my arms are forming due to non stop shooting drills

Well I see I'm the opposite to some people here. I need to exercise more to gain weight every time I have a break from it I seem to shrink to be under 55kg (sometimes as low as the high forties) always been that way for me even though I'm a glutton :P 183cm 51kg last time I checked, never been over 65kg.

I guess on this board you can call it Jarrad Grant syndrome