Opinion Non-Crows AFL 4: The Centre Cannot Hold

Cultural? He played cricket! He didn’t cure cancer. He didn’t save lives. He played bloody cricket.

This post alone shows how sad Australians are in general.
Putting a flog like warne above people who actually save lives for a living.

A great Australian dies unexpectedly, one who brought joy to millions, and you guys decided it was time to be an a-hole?

Shocking really

Honestly, now that mention it, no I’m not. By either

Deaneus
Bacchus
Warney
The horrors in Ukraine

And you’d think it was time for more humanity, less being sh*t people
Far out. I just expressed that I didn’t think he should get a state funeral. A bit of further reading would show you I’m actually not a fan of state funerals - for anyone. Let the family grieve in private. Even further reading would show you I admire Warnie and believe he’s one of the best. I think his death is tragic. We also lost a good friend at 52 to a sudden heart attack. I’m not being a shit person or an arseh*le. It’s just an opinion. Faith, on the other hand.

Far out. I just expressed that I didn’t think he should get a state funeral. A bit of further reading would show you I’m actually not a fan of state funerals - for anyone. Let the family grieve in private. Even further reading would show you I admire Warnie and believe he’s one of the best. I think his death is tragic. We also lost a good friend at 52 to a sudden heart attack. I’m not being a sh*t person or an arseh*le. It’s just an opinion. Faith, on the other hand.

I think there's a time and place. I regret starting up and continuing on with the McGill/Warne discussion. It's a good discussion, just piss poor timing.

Far out. I just expressed that I didn’t think he should get a state funeral. A bit of further reading would show you I’m actually not a fan of state funerals - for anyone. Let the family grieve in private. Even further reading would show you I admire Warnie and believe he’s one of the best. I think his death is tragic. We also lost a good friend at 52 to a sudden heart attack. I’m not being a sh*t person or an arseh*le. It’s just an opinion. Faith, on the other hand.
The family have to ok it, so if they are good for it what’s the issue?

It’s a bizarre take. If Warnie isn’t State funeral worthy as she posted then who is? State funerals should be for people who impacted peoples live and any cricket fan who watched Warnie was impacted.
DUDE, I just don’t think State Funerals should be a thing… period. It’s not about who is worthy and who isn’t. Clearly, not everybody follows cricket. Or Footy. i Just think our priorities are skewed, is all. Too much emphasis on sporting “heroes and legends” (terms greatly overused).

While I dont necessarily dont disagree with the basis of your comment, youre not taking into consideration Warne's contribution to society off the field.

You said he wasn’t worthy. Go back and read your post.

Probably should have said that rather than saying
Because state funerals should be for important people. You know, like scientists or people who save lives, or dignitaries…. Actually, they shouldn’t do em at all. Let the family grieve privately.
As I’ve said before it’s up to the families.
So if that’s the only reason?

No, you argue that if state funerals are a thing, then it should be scientist or people involved in the drug manufacture industry. It wasn’t a blanket no, it was a conditional no. So the arguments coming your way are relevant.

You said he wasn’t worthy. Go back and read your post.
Look, he was a brilliant cricketer, I already acknowledged that in my original post. I just don’t think being a brilliant cricketer, or footballer or (insert any sporting or other “personality”) qualifies you for a State Funeral. I’m not saying anything disparaging about him, the person. Rather the act of state funerals in the first place.

While I dont necessarily dont disagree with the basis of your comment, youre not taking into consideration Warne's contribution to society off the field.
Lots of people do lots of good things Grotto. They don’t get State Funerals. That’s all I’m saying.

True but this person touched people worldwide.

There was genuine mourning worldwide, sure its majority in cricket communities, but a lot of people outside this circle have felt and are hurt by his loss.

Should have just posted your first sentence.

I remember when Steve Irwin died and there were all these people out there (who never met him) passionately and angrily defending him from other people (who never met him) who said they didn’t care or thought the whole thing was overblown. It’s happening again. Settle down.

You missed the “or probably shouldn’t do them at all”.
I didn’t miss it, you followed it by, its private let the families grieve.
They have to be ok’ed by families, so that’s not a valid reason to not hold them.
And after you changed your reason from he’s not worthy, it seems the only reason you’ve provided left.

They have to be ok’ed by families, so that’s not a valid reason to not hold them.
And after you changed your reason from he’s not worthy, it seems the only reason you’ve provided left.

“It’s a no from me, unless it’s someone from my or my husband’s industry getting one, in which case I could be turned around”

I don’t get your outrage. Nor dogged chase down. I have an opinion. I’m entitled to it. Accept it, or don’t, and move on.

True but this person touched people worldwide.

There was genuine mourning worldwide, sure its majority in cricket communities, but a lot of people outside this circle have felt and are hurt by his loss.
As am I grotto. I shed a tear when I heard of his death. its alway sad when someone dies before their time. Princess Di, Phillip Hughes, Phil Walsh, Shane Warne, Deaneus. Our best mate Lyle. My friends little boy. All tragic.

I don’t get your outrage. Nor dogged chase down. I have an opinion. I’m entitled to it. Accept it, or don’t, and move on.
That’s fine, but if I say I think Taylor walker is a good because he’s got 3 kids like me, you’re not entitled to challenge the reason why?
Obviously my opinion on thinking Taylor walker is a good bloke is my opinion but the reason why is in valid because it’s wrong.

Your reason for not him not having a a state funeral is valid. But you then changed this to no one should have a state funeral, which is also valid, but when you say because the families should get to grieve, that is just wrong because they have to agree to it.
So if they weren’t fine with it they can say no.