Opinion Non-Crows AFL 4: The Centre Cannot Hold

Lets not forget, he has now lost 3 games after the siren in the last few years. I dont know his record in close games, but it would be very interesting to critique that.

Port will think they can still make the finals, in two weeks time, reality will set in when they are 0-5.

They make a PF last year and think they can go one better this year (not sure why given the total garbage they served up in the PF and their arrogance before it)

So what if not only does that not happen, they don’t even make finals…

Who’s the Riccuito who would stand up for change? Tredrea? He’s probably not even allowed in the club unvaxxed

Ah the little side joys of football!

They make a PF last year and think they can go one better this year (not sure why given the total garbage they served up in the PF and their arrogance before it)

So what if not only does that not happen, they don’t even make finals…

Who’s the Riccuito who would stand up for change? Tredrea? He’s probably not even allowed in the club unvaxxed

Ah the little side joys of football!
Maybe Timmy G, he wouldn’t stand to see his beloved club fall to such depths……. Oh wait.

to be fair i think ken hinkley has been an extremely unlucky coach, especially on friday night....Mostly his players for years have been extremely mentally fragile, 3 losses after the siren in 3 or 4 years, that type of thing happens once in 10 or 20 years only to the same club, damning stat.... I think he was a very good coach for them but last few years its fairly obvious he's mentally done, he will be sacked end of this year, surely there is no way he survives.

Game, Set and Match.

Revealed: Three moments that prove epic Showdown was ‘lost in the coaches box’​

Sorry the other thing I wanted to contribute for you is just about how they are teaching at SANFL junior levels. Clubs teach boys code words for certain set actions. Silly, simple words you’re average boy can process.

They are drilled that when a certain situation arises they must ALL be leaders with their voice and call the code when needed. It’s amazing how well this works and how they do take responsibility. Code words are used for lots of plays including stoppage set ups, style of general play (eg slowing it down), shallow or deep 50 entry. The boys are also responsible for calling their own rotations - you don’t call your player off, then you don’t get to go on.

All these things reflect teachings of players taking full ownership of what’s going on when the game is in motion. Now you can have a crack and say well it’s SANFL kids not afl - but this is a pathway system to prepare boys for afl or sanfl league - so we should assume the teachings are on point.

I hope that gives some assistance

Sounds like the Ken PR Machine has clicked into action, Chief Cheerleader S.Rowe pumping up the tyres this morning. 'Loved by the players', 'only a vocal few want him gone', 'Boaky kicks the goal they win' just a few of the lines in Ken's defence.

Long may this praise continue!
He is stubborn, Ken will continue to believe even at 0-5.

His contract suggests Port will keep him in 2023.

The Power will have to endure another 18months of this.

I wonder if the idiot thought that Murphy was going to take the kick and hence was laughing the entire time, then to his horror one of the best kicks in the AFL instead was having a shot at goal?

Murphy does not kick that goal almost 99/100 times.

Considering how the Dawson ball swung, and how impressive of a choke job Port were doing, I reckon even Nick Gill makes that set shot. It's like the Monfries bounce from years ago, the football gods are sick of your shit.

No way it takes 2 minutes, I reckon he went down whilst Murphy was in the hands of the doctors, was a couple of minutes there I reckon.
why though? Can only be for the self-satisfaction of celebrating beating a bunch of kids who recently won the spoon because they missed a difficult set shot after the siren.

In which case, what a tool.

to be fair i think ken hinkley has been an extremely unlucky coach, especially on friday night....Mostly his players for years have been extremely mentally fragile, 3 losses after the siren in 3 or 4 years, that type of thing happens once in 10 or 20 years only to the same club, damning stat.... I think he was a very good coach for them but last few years its fairly obvious he's mentally done, he will be sacked end of this year, surely there is no way he survives.

Or are they mentally fragile because Hinkley is a poor coach?

why though? Can only be for the self-satisfaction of celebrating beating a bunch of kids who recently won the spoon because they missed a difficult set shot after the siren.

In which case, what a tool.
No idea why.

Sounds like the Ken PR Machine has clicked into action, Chief Cheerleader S.Rowe pumping up the tyres this morning. 'Loved by the players', 'only a vocal few want him gone', 'Boaky kicks the goal they win' just a few of the lines in Ken's defence.

Predictable, won't be any criticisms allowed on the show tonight.

Say whatever about Kane and SEN, he's a Ken fan as well, but at least they'll let callers/guests have the alternate view and have the conversation on things like this.

Bottom line is that a team that believes it is a top 4 contender and genuine chance for a flag, was dismantled by Hawthorn (a team that is likely to be bottom 5) and then struggled to beat (and eventually lost to) a team that is likely to also be bottom 5.

Two weeks, two losses to pretty ordinary teams. No matter how you try and twist it, that's pretty damning in itself.

I know that Clarko will probably end up in charge of the Tasmania bid, or possibly on huge dollars to sort out Gold Coast, but if Port go 0-5 or even 1-4, and with Clarko potentially available end of this year, surely someone on the board is having a few conversations…

As they are in several clubs around the country

I know that Clarko will probably end up in charge of the Tasmania bid, or possibly on huge dollars to sort out Gold Coast, but if Port go 0-5 or even 1-4, and with Clarko potentially available end of this year, surely someone on the board is having a few conversations…

As they are in several clubs around the country
Port's list is in a bit of a mess with a lot of key players at the edge of the cliff.

Clarko will chose the best career move for him and its not Port, Suns and Tassie are closer to a flag than Port.

Wrong still, that's the reason you have on field leaders for, exactly for times like this. If there was communication failure it was the on field leaders not Kenny.

You think the clubs don't train for moments like this late in games all the time? Of course they do.

Maybe you might have noticed Sam Mayes the offender played forward for most of the game?

Not much evidence Kenny gets his players to train for this scenario, is that 3 after the siren defeats in 4 years?

Players when under pressure make mistakes/forget team instructions, I watched it again and there was plenty of time for the Port runner to run out the 5m screaming "hold it in hold it in"

Plus the setup was horrible extras on the ball and behind the ball, not one forward of the ball which allowed Billy to win his first "contest" of the night. Port should've had one player forward of the ball to at least contest the quick kick and/or provide pressure on the opposition. Hell one whiff of an opponent and Billy doesn't gather that ball.

Game, Set and Match.

Revealed: Three moments that prove epic Showdown was ‘lost in the coaches box’​

Quotes a David King opinion piece… expects to be taken seriously… :p

How does David know all this for certain?.. was he in hinkleys coaching box?… maybe hinkley did send down demands for these things to occur and they couldnt be relayed efficiently to his players on the ground..

Runners cant just run around willy nilly.. they get in the road of the play and they end up giving away free kicks..

Surely the experienced players on the Powa side, guys like Boak, wines, Jonas that have hundreds and hundreds of games experience each wouldnt need to be told where they shouldve been marshalling their troops for the last minutes of that game?..

I think hinkleys a flog and love that the shit seems to be hitting him, and really sticking at the moment, but lets not go too far and attribute this loss entirely to him..

This was a massive onfield failure of the powa leadership..

I don’t know how people can absolve the coach when they think a team has been repeatedly “unlucky.”