Players still get called for blocking even if the guy makes the contest.To be fair, Frost had his eyes on the ball but he had no intention of going for the mark; he could see that Jiath was in the box seat and his only intention was to block Hawkins from competing with Jiath.
BUT Hawkins could have made the contest - or at least forced Frost to make a genuine block. Hawkins' staging should have disqualified him from getting a free.
Remember when, a year or two ago, we were remarking on umpires saying to players who were exaggerating contact - something like "You make it difficult for us <to pay you a free> when you do that"? More of that, please. Players need to know that if they exaggerate or stage at all, they are losing any benefit of the doubt.
Frost just isn't allowed to do that full stop. Either body Hawkins and go for the ball yourself or at least pretend like you are.







