Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Yeah they have proper ref'sBut to be fair, at that age group its generally the parents that are officiating games, running lines etc (if you are in clubland) so its hard for a parent to send off a kid as most parents have little understanding of the rules and what they can and cannot do to kids in terms of warnings and sendings off etc
I am not sure how it works for school sports - do they have proper refs there?
hilarious part about that is this question; Where are all the Chinese fans?
China was never a good idea and its better its over. All it was was a member funded jaunt for port execs and sponsors who didnt watch the game while a handful of dedicated fans who travelled actually watched the game, not to mention the state government wasting tax payer funded money for the piss up under the guise of opening South Australia to China. Terrible idea that was horribly carried out and was cringeworthy at best. Credit to Port for conning the AFL into participating in the self serving exercise.
But to be fair, at that age group its generally the parents that are officiating games, running lines etc (if you are in clubland) so its hard for a parent to send off a kid as most parents have little understanding of the rules and what they can and cannot do to kids in terms of warnings and sendings off etc
I am not sure how it works for school sports - do they have proper refs there?
Credit to the Chinese guy whosponsoredhoodwinked Port, all the money they received from Mr Gui had to be spent in China on school clinics, promotions etc.
Plus they got a few thousand bogan Powah supporters to spend their Centrelink money in China instead of Bali.
The SA government paid a few $100k for the naming "rights" of the ground, like you say it was all about Kochie and the other hanger oners enjoying the jaunt to China - wasn't there a local mayor who went over for the game on rate payers money. The whole thing was such a scam on so many levels.
what about when parents get involvedYeah they have proper ref's
My son also plays soccer and similar things happened last year in u9s where he got taken out and ref did nothing.
I don't think there are cards in that grade but a free kick would have been nice!
On SM-G986B using BigFooty.com mobile app
I hear you - one of my lads has been in clubland since he was quite young and there are some coaches out there that instruct their kids to go in rough. Some coaches also verbally abuse their kids and those on the other team too - ugly stuff.Yeah it was a parent officiating (was a club game) but it wasn't the first tackle this same kid had dished out, if I was in charge I would have at a minimum had a word with the opposition coach about it.
Impressive that you've turned a conversation about umpiring, into a conversation about Covid. Well done for shoehorning that in here.
Please also tell me where the 'arms out 50m' decision has been based on a statistic?
You're literally making things up to suit your little rant about an entirely different topic.
It's weird.
Grundy the true winner here. Really did a number on the Pies. Im not even sure they would pay him half of that per year now.
I hear you - one of my lads has been in clubland since he was quite young and there are some coaches out there that instruct their kids to go in rough. Some coaches also verbally abuse their kids and those on the other team too - ugly stuff.
Now that I know you hate it I’ll do it a lot more often
Soccer is an interesting one. The recent rise of soccer academies is a great thing as generally those who run them are ex pros from other countries with heaps of experience. They are levels better than what you find at just about all the local clubs so if you can , get your child into one as they learn the game much better there and it toughens them up too and then they can deal with the issues you raised or see them for what they areThe blight on junior sport are coaches who manipulate kids abilities and lack of umpire experience or if the club supplied the umpire to win, instead of actually teaching them to play the game successfully as they rise up the levels.
DuringIt started after last year’s preliminary
Port openly marketed they sold out each and every game. While, at the same time they also stated they gave thousands of tickets to schools for kids to come to the match (which they didn't) and they gave tickets outside of the ground and around the city. They also ran clinics for school kids and gave thousands in gear. The only thing making the game worthwhile was the Port fans conned into parting with thousands to attend a match under the impression the club was about to score multi million dollar sponsorship deals that would propel Port into the richest of the rich list of clubs.
Jesus Vader, you got too much time on your hands on that cruise of yours![]()
To be honest I pictured the Seniors Buffet as something entirely different.Well if the Grannies aren’t biting, then time with his hands is all that’s left![]()
Good call. Kids are kids. They won't always get it right. Adults need to act like adults.Are there "proper" umpires at any junior sporting event?
No
There are guys (or kids) that have done an online course, been given the clothing and own their own whistle.
The No 1 requirement is Are you prepared to do a job no one else wants to do for a handful of dollars? And would you like to give up some of your weekend?
Coaches: Why aren't they very good at it???
For the same reason most of you aren't good coaches
Are there "proper" umpires at any junior sporting event?
No
There are guys (or kids) that have done an online course, been given the clothing and own their own whistle.
The No 1 requirement is Are you prepared to do a job no one else wants to do for a handful of dollars? And would you like to give up some of your weekend?
Coaches: Why aren't they very good at it???
For the same reason most of you aren't good coaches
They don't train and if they do it's mostly fitness relatedNot sure that’s right. Junior umpires have coaching, and they train during the week.
Well, they did, at one point. Would be surprised if that’s changed.
Soccer?Soccer is an interesting one. The recent rise of soccer academies is a great thing as generally those who run them are ex pros from other countries with heaps of experience. They are levels better than what you find at just about all the local clubs so if you can , get your child into one as they learn the game much better there and it toughens them up too and then they can deal with the issues you raised or see them for what they are
Context my good dirty bird..contextSoccer?
Toughens them up?
Oxymoron if I've ever seen one.
fIt’s a bit more involved than this.
This syndrome is, in fact, a raging epidemic in a lot of modern organizations and government bureaucracies.
Someone who conducted their career in a particular fashion, slowly but surely abandons principles and views they were widely known to hold, at a pace commensurate with their rise to executive leadership roles.
By the time they’re a head honcho there’s nothing left but a shell, they’ve sold out everything they once believed in, in favour of hivemind handjobs.
This is a modern syndrome and Gen Xs are the culprits… they’re now the ones taking over these positions and ******* everything up.
Brad Scott is merely a poster child for this. This is a bloke who was a known tough-guy and antagonist on the field, he played in a team regarded as probably the hardest of the modern era — they took no prisoners and they spared nobody.
He’s the last bloke you’d expect to continue down the path of neutering the game.
But he’ll do it.
He’ll actively push for the game to become a floppy, flaccid shadow of itself.
UsDon’t expect anything less.
That would be magical if the whole crowd did this as a bug f#ck you to the afl... they deserve it
.. this waving hands business is the most ridiculous thing I've ever seen in afl