Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread X

• Thread starter Thread starter Doss

Nah, they win a lot of contested footy. Thay just have so many players that butcher the ball

its probably a combination of both. she actually texted me tonight saying she'd kill for Hibberd at the Scray's. tough, hard and clever.

Trust me, most of their list is made up of turnover merchants

Posted halfway through the year that I was worried about the Dogs. They definitely improved in the last third of the season, which may have covered up their flaws. Their biggest issue is speed - Outside of Dalhaus and Cooney in their midfield its slow and plodding. Wood and Murphy give speed off the half back line, though Wood can't kick over a jam tin. They also don't switch the play enough - Which leaves them with only side to find space in the forward line.

?? so you'd rather see them win all the time?
No lose all the time so Crameri loses.
I know I shouldn't hold a grudge, but I just don't like the way he left the club.

I went to the last training session last year and got my jumper signed by Crameri.... 3 days later he announced he was going to the Bullies.

I couldn't begrudge any person earning half a million dollars when they're only worth a quarter...... well..... not even that.

let it go boys! he's not that good :D

I've said it before, I will always cheer for Monfries, but never for Crameri.

On another note Port are an unbelievable football team, and I just hope they haven't peaked to early or run out of gas later in the season. If Monfries is part of their success I will be so happy.

I've said it before, I will always cheer for Monfries, but never for Crameri.

On another note Port are an unbelievable football team, and I just hope they haven't peaked to early or run out of gas later in the season. If Monfries is part of their success I will be so happy.

Like said earlier if they beat Sydney easily they will win the flag.

Port are a seriously likeable side, at the moment. Hinkley already has started refreshing players like Boak, to maintain conditioning deep into the finals.

Wingard, Wines, Westoff, Schulz, Cornes and Boak pose a massive threat to all opponents, in their current form, and this team's transformation has been meteoric.

If we can't be there at the big dance, I hope these guys can do it, and good luck to Gussie in the process.

What happens in the back end of the season?

The side that beat St.Kilda had something like 8 players with less than 30 games. Will a long season get ahold of them?

Sydney, Hawthorn (with returning big bodied players), Collingwood even, Fremantle also have a very solid squad of 25 - 28 players.

(note: I am loving the Port Adelaide style of play, merely throwing up a discussion point here)

Posted halfway through the year that I was worried about the Dogs. They definitely improved in the last third of the season, which may have covered up their flaws. Their biggest issue is speed - Outside of Dalhaus and Cooney in their midfield its slow and plodding. Wood and Murphy give speed off the half back line, though Wood can't kick over a jam tin. They also don't switch the play enough - Which leaves them with only side to find space in the forward line.

I agree, I have no idea where that list is at - seems to have had the same structural issues for ever.

I don't care we lost Crameri and would never swap it back for Merrett obviously - but how the heck can a club with as serious structural issues in the talls as Footscray waste that sorta coin on Crameri - now you have Grant, Stringer and Crameri, all flaky and all trying for a similar position. Bar Minson and Morris, who are getting on, the rest of their 'talls' are an extremely unimpressive bunch. No idea what their thinking was, but sheesh are they lucky the father son rule exists. Not sure they have got much else right.

What happens in the back end of the season?

The side that beat St.Kilda had something like 8 players with less than 30 games. Will a long season get ahold of them?

Sydney, Hawthorn (with returning big bodied players), Collingwood even, Fremantle also have a very solid squad of 25 - 28 players.

(note: I am loving the Port Adelaide style of play, merely throwing up a discussion point here)
Those 8 players were Wines, K Mitchell (24 y/o), S Gray (22 y/o), Hombsch, Young, Newton, Polec and Impey. Only two of them are teenagers (Impey and Wines). Mitchell, Young, Gray and Newton aren't even in Port's best 22.

So they have 4 players in their best 22 with 30 games or less experience. I reckon that won't matter to much come finals time.

$450k a year for him is way overs. I honestly think our offer of $350k was overs. Wouldn't pay him more than $300k a year, probably closer to $270-280k even then

Considering the fact that Jetta's on 300K to play magoos, as a best 22 player I would of went to 400k over 3 for Stewy.

At the end of the day I'm happy to have Z.Merret Patty Ambrose & some space in the cap to go after a FA when we are in our premiership window.

Getting Jetta off the books will also free some cap space up.

Those 8 players were Wines, K Mitchell (24 y/o), S Gray (22 y/o), Hombsch, Young, Newton, Polec and Impey. Only two of them are teenagers (Impey and Wines). Mitchell, Young, Gray and Newton aren't even in Port's best 22.

So they have 4 players in their best 22 with 30 games or less experience. I reckon that won't matter to much come finals time.

You're probably right eth. Just think people need to remember it is a marathon not a sprint and the premiership isn't as foregone a conclusion as some are suggesting.

Bulldogs are full of 'Colyer' type players.. look great in patches, heaps of speed at times, but turnover the ball with regularity..

A team can maybe carry 1 of those players.. maybe.. but not 5-6 of them.

They paid way over for Crameri.. I still think Stew is a good enough player at his position.. but was never worth a) that money and b) that length of contract.

When was the last time they actually drafted and developed a KPF?

Liam Jones is not the answer. A goal a game forward who has half the football brain of Lance Whitnall.

When does the heat come on Tom Scully?

Bloke has hardly been sighted in his 3 years at the Giants now.

Buddy, worth every cent. Ablett ditto. Scully. Laughable

The heat is on GWS, you could tell from early on Scully wasn't going to be a world beater. He's not going to get the same money again. I don't see any reason for heat to be on him.

The situation is not even comparable to buddy and Ablett. They were ready made players..

When does the heat come on Tom Scully?

Bloke has hardly been sighted in his 3 years at the Giants now.

Buddy, worth every cent. Ablett ditto. Scully. Laughable

Didn't even know he played last night and I watched the game. Did he really have 23 disposals?