Oppo Camp Non-Essendon Thread XI

Buckley moved from Darwin to Adelaide where he played SANFL and was drafted by Brisbane from the Port Adelaide Magpies.
team photo on the wall of the Ainslie club rooms with both Hird and Buckley in the photo.
make of that what you will

Isn't it widely known that Buddy was on a forced vacation for drug use, though?

The AFL don't say drug use, they say "mental health" but yes it's the same thing most of the time..

Been some good footballers from this area of course.

None much better than Michael Werner :)
I played against him up to U17. He was a very talented played but a show pony who was all about him and not the team. Wouold not of wanted him in our team at all. Sean Smith also came from Canberra. Played against him up to U15 and he was a ripper of a dude. Very very talented player and super nice guy - maybe too nice

You must be a few years older than me. I came through with Rob Neil and a few others - a year or two older than Blumfield. Anyways - ancient history now !

team photo on the wall of the Ainslie club rooms with both Hird and Buckley in the photo.
make of that what you will

Well, he did move around quite a bit when young, but basically spent most of his teenage years in NT (born in Adelaide) before heading to the SANFL.

Gotta wonder about what's going to happen the next time something like this happens in the AFL and goes viral now that Cometti hanging up the boots, for all his senility there was still an eloquence there.

He hasn't exactly left the game in safe hands in terms of 'the voice of football', particularly if the AFL want to push hard into foreign markets.

Instead of Kevin Harlan going full broadcast god mode we'd get 'RICHO!, HE'S BEEN TACKLED WITH HIS TACKLE OUT, BOY OH BOY WOWEEE' and the entire world thinks we're a nation of idiots.

have you seen what they did with Fitzpatrick...im frightened Vickery becomes the next Jenkins
You're putting way too much confidence in Hawthorns magical elven healers and their wands of 10plus unyielding stamina.

have you seen what they did with Fitzpatrick...im frightened Vickery becomes the next Jenkins
Fitzpatrick has played, what, two games? Let's not be declaring him an unequivocal success just yet.

I've had many a good Richmond schadenfreude and I've yet to see anything from Vickery to suggest he's going to find something special at Hawthorn.

Has some history for trying to cork opposition players, Walker and Fyfe the more high profile ones.
Lined up Ablett off the square in one of the big finals (may have been GF cant recall)

Generally the way he carries himself rubs people the wrong way. The injection incident is the major one for Dons fans however.

That incident when he lined up a player was the 2008 Preliminary - Jumped at the player from 5+ metres away, but luckily missed the target - Hit the target and no grand final.

he went through a phrase of accidentally on purpose kneeing people in awkward spots, but not necessarily to dangerous spots (ie a knee to the face or something)

see: http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-07-12/mitchells-controversial-knee-returns

which is pretty damn rank. but I've been surprised at what the dislike has turned into, but I figure that's directly related to just the general hatred of Hawthorn, and obviously Mitchell and Hodge have been the leaders of the Hawks since 2007

nah it's more that Buddy did what everyone should be encouraged to do - be open about mental health issues instead of hiding it - and Mumford decided to be a dick about it, and so he should be called out for it. And as far as I can tell, most everyone is fine with what has happened, he's been called out, he's said sorry, and it's done. it'll only still be a thing because some people are so desperate to get onto the "It's political correctness gone mad" train over things

My take is that this has been made public because of the enmity between the Swans and GWS - There is serious hate and competiveness between the two organisation - Reckon if a player from another club made the same comment it wouldn't be made public.

That incident when he lined up a player was the 2008 Preliminary - Jumped at the player from 5+ metres away, but luckily missed the target - Hit the target and no grand final.

This is the one I was talking about

Ablett was still probably equal best on ground that day in spite of that.

Played some incredible footy in his final years at Geelong. Some of his finals performances were enormous

You're putting way too much confidence in Hawthorns magical elven healers and their wands of 10plus unyielding stamina.

Vickery will be a good player at Hawthorn in the same way Ceglar turned out to be. The bloke has ability.