Nostalgia thread

The Swans Blog
What are some of the things from by-gone eras that you miss?

I'm watching the 1980 GF highlights on television and the MCG looks great covered in confetti, streamers and toilet paper. Every time a goal is kicked there's confetti streaming over the fence. Nothing quite like seeing a forward run through a sea of streamers and confetti on his way to punting a goal. The youngest I was when I went to see my first game I was about 7 or 8 and I remember some of these things, but nothing like it was in the 80's. Long hair, killer mullets, pr0n-star mo's, gigantic goal umpire coats and those wide brimmed hats.

For the girls, it's got to be the shorts. They sure are tight!

Decent goal kicking

Positional play especially big forwards bringing up 100s dunstall lockett ablett etc

I prefer being able to like watch my game all the time etc but kind of miss saturday arvo being footy time and its all on

Local footy still mattering

Mud heaps in winter

Some of this i wouldnt bring back some is just nostalgic old days stuff

The shootouts between power forwards.

Watching the reserves before the game.

The suburban ground feeling you'd get at the old princes park or Western Oval.

Seeing more than 5 games a year in Melbourne.

Being able to go into the club rooms and meet the players after the game (although I'm a grown man now so this would be a little weird).

Having my grandpa pat me on the head and say "next year mate, next year"

Ah, I remember going into the change rooms after games as a kid. Some of the players would shower while members of the public wandered around. Wouldn't see that in the age of camera phones!

Bring back the white coats and hats for the goal umpires.

Sitting wherever you want at the SCG, remember those days well. It was a big deal if you beat Carlton.