Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion - Part 2

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

I think young Robert has Bailey covered in most areas... intelligence, personability, relatable setting! šŸ˜€
(Plus I'm a huge fan of snakes. Have handled poisonous ones under supervision, but have had more than a dozen of the non-poisonous varieties wrapped around my neck/shoulders/arms at once. Any chance I get to handle a snake - of the reptile variety! - is a fun experience. šŸ™‚)
The only snakes I like are those made by the Natural Confectionery Company. Huge fan of those no doubt, much less so the other kind.

Too many close calls with King Browns to want to handle them with anything other than a 12 gauge.

BaileySmith. A son of a mate of mine was a classmate, claimed humility. Another mate met the lad, when drafted, impressed by expessed adherence to values. What went wrong ?

While I don’t want to waste much time and energy on old Bailey Sniff, the reaction he gave the crows last night with the double bird says plenty.
LOL Just found what I wrote in a thread 23 years ago on this board when Nathan Brown gave the crowd the finger.

"Nathan Brown does, however, deserve a kick up the old wahzoo for that act of arrogance. Maybe we should get him to write out, "Humility is an admirable quality." about 500 times so he doesn't forget it next time ! :rolleyes:

He's got a great role model in Chris Grant at the club. Hope Nathan begins to emulate him in the near future (like maybe next week!)."

The only snakes I like are those made by the Natural Confectionery Company. Huge fan of those no doubt, much less so the other kind.

Too many close calls with King Browns to want to handle them with anything other than a 12 gauge.

We've got copperheads in our (rural) area, have at least one or two (that we can see) in close proximity to the house or sheds each summer. I just shoo them away, live and let live is my motto with inhabitants who belong here. Rabbits, foxes, feral cats on the other hand... šŸ’€

BaileySmith. A son of a mate of mine was a classmate, claimed humility. Another mate met the lad, when drafted, impressed by expessed adherence to values. What went wrong ?
Interesting. I also know someone who went to school with him. Told me all sorts of stories about him. None of them good.

We've got copperheads in our (rural) area, have at least one or two (that we can see) in close proximity to the house or sheds each summer. I just shoo them away, live and let live is my motto with inhabitants who belong here. Rabbits, foxes, feral cats on the other hand... šŸ’€
They like to be where the mice are which makes going into the grain and hay sheds perilous at times. Haul a bale off the stack and there's a farging 6 foot brown there. That shed took years off my life🤣

One of them killed my cat. I've found that hard to forgive.

From his perspective right now, absolutely nothing has gone wrong.

Indeed things are going swimmingly. He's in career best form and his team is comfortably in the eight

However. Humility has no place in the influencer world.

It's all about the dollars and attaching your brand to any product or football club that will aid in the accumulation of more dollars. Guys like Smith and Petracca who consider themselves to be as much a brand as they do footballers are under the deluded belief that their current cachet is bigger than their football careers and will carry beyond the relatively short period of their football careers.

When in reality unless they have a long term goal and begin slavishly working towards being a broadcaster (hello Patrick Dangerfield) then their star will diminish almost as soon as their football career is over. Sure, the may end up with all the gold of Smaug, but the end result is the same. The next bright thing will come along and surpass them and they will fade from collective memory.

Regardless. When Smith looks back on his career. The one abiding thing that he will ask himself is why was he so wedded to such a god awful haircut and a moustache that would make a 15 year old Eshay loitering at a train station harassing civilians blush with embarrassment.

They like to be where the mice are which makes going into the grain and hay sheds perilous at times. Haul a bale off the stack and there's a farging 6 foot brown there. That shed took years off my life🤣

One of them killed my cat. I've found that hard to forgive.
We have had browns in our backyard often over the years. I saw a huge one 6ft had had a crap in the garage, black crap with the tell tale white blob, snake S#$t. I enter it very carefully.
One my staffy had a go at and I lunged at his back legs hitting the ground flat and grabbed them just as he got the tip of its tail. Grabbing him made him let go. The brownie looked back at us both but kept going thankfully. Not quick enough another time and he grabbed one mid length. Its turned and struck his face several times before he let go. He was convulsing and frothing at the mouth within a minute. Luckily the vet at that place was just 1km away and they were open. Just saved him, $800 in antivenom shots.
Have a healthy respect for them. Remember they guy in Yeppoon about 12 or so yrs ago killed by a Taipan. He was a mate of mine Andrew Vaughn. Nicest person you could meet. It hit his leg whilst he was in the scrub checking and clearing stuff on his job as a power line worker. Dead within a minute they reckon.

We have had browns in our backyard often over the years. I saw a huge one 6ft had had a crap in the garage, black crap with the tell tale white blob, snake S#$t. I enter it very carefully.
One my staffy had a go at and I lunged at his back legs hitting the ground flat and grabbed them just as he got the tip of its tail. Grabbing him made him let go. The brownie looked back at us both but kept going thankfully. Not quick enough another time and he grabbed one mid length. Its turned and struck his face several times before he let go. He was convulsing and frothing at the mouth within a minute. Luckily the vet at that place was just 1km away and they were open. Just saved him, $800 in antivenom shots.
Have a healthy respect for them. Remember they guy in Yeppoon about 12 or so yrs ago killed by a Taipan. He was a mate of mine Andrew Vaughn. Nicest person you could meet. It hit his leg whilst he was in the scrub checking and clearing stuff on his job as a power line worker. Dead within a minute they reckon.
You have to be careful around fence lines and I presume power lines. They love curling up under fence lines on a warm sunny day. Some of my closest calls were fencing. Gives me the sh1ts just recalling/thinking about it.

I reckon the cat lasted all of 15 seconds after being bitten.

They are very dangerous bastrds but nonetheless form part of life experiences that shape my view of the world.

We had a pair of nesting wedgies on the property too. The snakes I wouldn't hesitate to blow away (although there were no guns on the property bar one 22 rifle ... horses and shotgun blasts do not go well together ... my girlfriend's father didn't have horses at his place so it was fire away if you see one ... foxes too ... I never had to use the 22 with one exception. Someone had collected a roo on their way to the property and left it to die on the side of the road. I didn't leave it to die ...)

The wedgies though .... what magnificent creatures. Fencing must have been the lightning rod for these wildlife interactions but I was doing so one day ... me the tractor and the gene running off the PTO...anyways, preoccupied with what what I was working on, lifted my head and this huge wedgie had glided down and was perched on a strainer post maybe 20ft from where I was ... just staring at me ...like pigeons do with that whole one eye thing....but with menace. Scared the bejeesus out of me. Once I'd recovered from my initial wtf moment, you could only appreciate how magnificent they are ... and huge ... its tallons dwarfed the post ... very big majestic birds. Utterly scary but majestic.

You have to be careful around fence lines and I presume power lines. They love curling up under fence lines on a warm sunny day. Some of my closest calls were fencing. Gives me sh1ts just recalling/thinking about it.

They are very dangerous bastrds but nonetheless form part of life experiences that shape my view of the world.
Lost two dogs to Brown’s, our jack russell caught a rabbit with Mitzo, and thought she was the great white hunter after that. Unfortunately, where the rabbits are, so are the snakes, we found her convulsing the first time and rushed her to the vet and saved her $1000 later. The vet told us she had that much anti-venom in her that if she got bitten again over the next two weeks she would be a bit crook, but she would be ok. Three weeks later we came out and found her in her favourite pot plant dead. 😢😭

I hate them DRB. Would not hesitate to kill any I saw ... from a distance ... with a gun.

Have only ever seen Tigers and Browns in my area, despite the wider range of species, from Copperheads, to Red Bellies etc. I hate Browns by far, given their aggressive nature and willingness to advance on you. Have heard of people being chased by them, even when trying to remove themselves from the zone in hope the snake would be less fearful and move on.

They all LOVE hiding under sheets of tin. Lifting one up last Summer and finding a bunch of empty snake eggs, made trekking around the property at any hour uneasy. As you had to be extra alert knowing there is a whole family somewhere. And one time I stepped outside the front door with the light off, on a cool summers night, just to suck in a deep breath of the nice country air. Only for the light to be turned on by someone from inside after 5 mins, and looking down to see a medium sized Brown snake curled up and sleeping a couple of inches away from my foot. Never felt fear hit me as fast as it did then. And also knowing how fortunate I was that it was so deep asleep, and that I did not step on it. These days I always carry the brightest torch on me, enough to put WW2 spotlights to shame, and sweep the ground ahead of me.

I hate them DRB. Would not hesitate to kill any I saw ... from a distance ... with a gun.
I don’t hate them, I respect them. Our dog was going where they were. 20 years living in the bush and we were never threatened.

A friend of mine had a brown living in her hay barn, being a real greeny she came to a bit of an agreement with it. If she came in to get the saddle and saw it she would leave for five minutes then go back in, it would be gone and she could collect the saddle. She never had any problems and they managed to both work it out.

They are a magnificent animal really and I think badly maligned. I hate hearing people have killed red belly blacks, the most passive snake, and known to eat tiger snakes young.

Mind you, if you are talking tiger snakes that’s a bit different, one attacked the tyre of my car once.

I don’t hate them, I respect them. Our dog was going where they were. 20 years living in the bush and we were never threatened.

A friend of mine had a brown living in her hay barn, being a real greeny she came to a bit of an agreement with it. If she came in to get the saddle and saw it she would leave for five minutes then go back in, it would be gone and she could collect the saddle. She never had any problems and they managed to both work it out.

They are a magnificent animal really and I think badly maligned. I hate hearing people have killed red belly blacks, the most passive snake, and known to eat tiger snakes young.
Agree about red bellied blacks. Beautiful snakes and quite docile ... unless you try to kill them or accidentally stand on one (which I nearly have!)

Have only ever seen Tigers and Browns in my area, despite the wider range of species, from Copperheads, to Red Bellies etc. I hate Browns by far, given their aggressive nature and willingness to advance on you. Have heard of people being chased by them, even when trying to remove themselves from the zone in hope the snake would be less fearful and move on.

They all LOVE hiding under sheets of tin. Lifting one up last Summer and finding a bunch of empty snake eggs, made trekking around the property at any hour uneasy. As you had to be extra alert knowing there is a whole family somewhere. And one time I stepped outside the front door with the light off, on a cool summers night, just to suck in a deep breath of the nice country air. Only for the light to be turned on by someone from inside after 5 mins, and looking down to see a medium sized Brown snake curled up and sleeping a couple of inches away from my foot. Never felt fear hit me as fast as it did then. And also knowing how fortunate I was that it was so deep asleep, and that I did not step on it. These days I always carry the brightest torch on me, enough to put WW2 spotlights to shame, and sweep the ground ahead of me.
I'm with you in the detest Brown snakes club. Haven't had the same exposure to the others although a guy fencing up the road from me got bitten by a Tiger ... survived.

But Browns... I shudder thinking about them.

You have to be careful around fence lines and I presume power lines. They love curling up under fence lines on a warm sunny day. Some of my closest calls were fencing. Gives me the sh1ts just recalling/thinking about it.

We had a pair of nesting wedgies on the property too. The snakes I wouldn't hesitate to blow away (although there were no guns on the property bar one 22 rifle ... horses and shotgun blasts do not go well together ... my girlfriend's father didn't have horses at his place so it was fire away if you see one ... foxes too ... I never had to use the 22 with one exception. Someone had collected a roo on their way to the property and left it to die on the side of the road. I didn't leave it to die ...)

The wedgies though .... what magnificent creatures. Fencing must have been the lightning rod for these wildlife interactions but I was doing so one day ... me the tractor and the gene running off the PTO...anyways, preoccupied with what what I was working on, lifted my head and this huge wedgie had glided down and was perched on a strainer post maybe 20ft from where I was ... just staring at me ...like pigeons do with that whole one eye thing....but with menace. Scared the bejeesus out of me. Once I'd recovered from my initial wtf moment, you could only appreciate how magnificent they are ... and huge ... its tallons dwarfed the post ... very big majestic birds. Utterly scary but majestic.

Have handled wedgies too, another favourite fauna of mine. Got up close to them several times with the kids at the end of Healesville Sanctuary "birds of prey" shows. After everyone leaves, the keepers are happy to chat with a wedgie sitting docile on their arm. Then a few years later on a trip around the top end, at a wildlife park, got to put on a glove and have a wedgie sit on my arm, while I chatted away to it and its keeper. Magnificent creatures, but this was a relatively young one. Mrs gj is an avid photographer, and has some great shots of them in the wild - we've pulled over on highways within 15-20 metres of them while they feast on road kill. Their wing span is Bont-like!

Don't hate them. Just respect. You have to be unlucky. Or stupid.
I was unlucky and ultimately lucky many times. They have scarred me DW .... it's unlikely I'll ever be a member of the look at the magnificent Brown snake club.

My favourite Harry Potter movies by far are the ones where the snake gets killed.

Have handled wedgies too, another favourite fauna of mine. Got up close to them several times with the kids at the end of Healesville Sanctuary "birds of prey" shows. After everyone leaves, the keepers are happy to chat with a wedgie sitting docile on their arm. Then a few years later on a trip around the top end, at a wildlife park, got to put on a glove and have a wedgie sit on my arm, while I chatted away to it and its keeper. Magnificent creatures, but this was a relatively young one. Mrs gj is an avid photographer, and has some great shots of them in the wild - we've pulled over on highways within 15-20 metres of them while they feast on road kill. Their wing span is Bont-like!
Yes it's hard to appreciate just how big that span is.

There was one occasion where I was hurtling down a country road en route to Sydney. Wedgie several hundred metres ahead feasting on road kill. He'll move I thought ... which he ultimately did but not in the fashion I expected. Stinking hot day. 35 plus probably.

Being young(er) I wasn't slowing down. Wedgie duly made his move but his move was to fly straight towards me using the thermals off the road to gain elevation ... very slowly.

He literally swept over the bonnet and windscreen of the (oncoming) car. Fully extended wings the tips of which were well beyond the parameters of the sizeable car.

There are some images that are forever imprinted on your mind. My totally obscured windscreen but for the inches away underbelly of a wedge tailed eagle and its enormous wings whilst doing 100kmh numbers amongst them.

Not Worth A Thread - Random Bulldog Discussion - Part 2