NRL Finals Farce

• Thread starter Thread starter Argent

cos789 said:
Are you talking about RL because THAT is the foreign code .
The indigenous code is going great guns .

Well if thats the way you want to play the game, it's game on.

AR was invented to keep cricketers fit during the off season, so in reality, AR is just as pommy as RL, because without that grubby English game, AR would never have been played. ;)

Make sense?

ParraEelsNRL said:
AR was invented to keep cricketers fit during the off season, so in reality, AR is just as pommy as RL, because without that grubby English game, AR would never have been played. ;)

Make sense?

how do you fathom that? how is it english when it wasn't even invented in england by a englishman? wat ur saying is the same as believing, all australians are trully english, because had england not wanted to throw there outcasts away and expand their empire, australia would never have existed.

ParraEelsNRL said:

Make sense?

"from a QLD perspective it makes sense " quote LD :p

WE, the people of Sydney, apologise for the game of Rugby League.

It is embarresing that we, the people of Sydney, especially, the fans and followers of the Sydney Swans Football Club, have to be the butt of other states jokes because of a small minority of people in this city (forum users on this board) and arrogant personalities (Mark Geyer and Fatty Vautin) and idiot jounalists (Paul Kent, James Hooper and Dean Ritchie) that cannot accept the fact that Rugby League died in 1995.

Once again we apologise for this god forbidden sport. This was just to clarify to the other states, that we are just as embarresed about Sydney being the "headquarters" of Rugby League, as all the other states looking in :thumbsu:

Just on a side note, wasnt the International Cup Grand Final played recently as a curtain raiser to Collingwood Vs. Carlton?

The International Cup competion feature a 16 country round robin tournament, playing Australian Football rules. :thumbsu:

ben9909 said:
Just on a side note, wasnt the International Cup Grand Final played recently as a curtain raiser to Collingwood Vs. Carlton?

The International Cup competion feature a 16 country round robin tournament, playing Australian Football rules. :thumbsu:

From memory it's 10 nations: New Zealand, USA, Great Britain, PNG, Japan, Spain, South Africa, Samoa, Canada, Ireland.

New Zealand came out champs...i was watching it on Fox Footy, it was actually pretty ggod standard.

It's good to see Aussie Rules getting started Over seas. :thumbsu:

ben9909 said:

Well they never got excited enough to give it a proper name .
It's rugby played in a league instead of a union .
So really the national league of RL should be the NRLL .
The National Rugby league League .

ben9909 said:

It is embarresing that we, the people of Sydney, especially, the fans and followers of the Sydney Swans Football Club, have to be the butt of other states jokes because of a small minority of people in this city (forum users on this board) and arrogant personalities (Mark Geyer and Fatty Vautin) and idiot jounalists (Paul Kent, James Hooper and Dean Ritchie) that cannot accept the fact that Rugby League died in 1995.

Yeah, sure, you make up a significant proportion of the population in Sydney to make a statement on behalf of four million people.

Rugby League died in 2005, thats why its at record crowds, record ratings, record sponsorship, record participation.

Congratulations for underlining football. Why are the Sydney Swans called the Sydney Swans Football Club? Are they somehow inferior to the Sydney Football Club (Sydney FC)?

pcpp said:
Yeah, sure, you make up a significant proportion of the population in Sydney to make a statement on behalf of four million people.

Rugby League died in 2005, thats why its at record crowds, record ratings, record sponsorship, record participation.

Congratulations for underlining football. Why are the Sydney Swans called the Sydney Swans Football Club? Are they somehow inferior to the Sydney Football Club (Sydney FC)?

Sorry, I forgot to add <sarcasm> tags to that.

sainters said:
From memory it's 10 nations: New Zealand, USA, Great Britain, PNG, Japan, Spain, South Africa, Samoa, Canada, Ireland.

New Zealand came out champs...i was watching it on Fox Footy, it was actually pretty ggod standard.

It's good to see Aussie Rules getting started Over seas. :thumbsu:

aussie rules would be played to a higher standard o/s than rugby league outside the three main countries.

even though the league fan boys keep claiming their sport is doing so well internationally.

the red baron said:
aussie rules would be played to a higher standard o/s than rugby league outside the three main countries.

even though the league fan boys keep claiming their sport is doing so well internationally.
WTF?? Aussie Rules is not bigger than RL in France, PNG, Russia, NZ, UK, Lebanon, sprinkling of pacific island nations, etc etc...

keep dreaming buddy.

RL is pro or semi/pro in 5 nations.

ben9909 said:
Sorry, I forgot to add <sarcasm> tags to that.

It sounds exactly the stuff that is sometimes spewed out here so its hard to realise what is and isn't sarcasm.

littleduck said:
I live in Brisbane and travel all over the city on weekends (to play golf mostly) and you wouldn find any evidence of Aussie Rules clubs anywhere... all you see is rectangular football grounds with crossbars.

The only in your face AFL in Brisbane to be honest is media hype around the Lions.. and we all know media hype doesnt necessarily reflect reality on the ground.. it reflects the deep desire of effectively a foreign code to grow and become relevant.

Never been to Aspley, Zillmere, Redcliffe, Toowong, Grange .... ????

the red baron said:

Must be good to be in your own little world.

I think someones been listening too the news and reading to many news papers lately.

Stupidest post ever in the history of web sites.

Pity i can't keep this 1 in a quote ;)

copa said:
WTF?? Aussie Rules is not bigger than RL in France, PNG, Russia, NZ, UK, Lebanon, sprinkling of pacific island nations, etc etc...

keep dreaming buddy.

RL is pro or semi/pro in 5 nations.

i'm not saying that.

in the minor aussie rules countries it's played to a higher standard than league in those festering league hotspots of lebanon, georgia, russia, outer mongolia, serbia, italy, morocco, usa,.

in other words any semblance of a genuine league presence in these developing nations is a mirage dreamt up by league fan boys desperate to engineer a feel good factor for the struggling game, and to give those hordes of league desperados hope for the future.

the red baron said:
i'm not saying that.

in the minor aussie rules countries it's played to a higher standard than league in those festering league hotspots of lebanon, georgia, russia, outer mongolia, serbia, italy, morocco, usa,.

in other words any semblance of a genuine league presence in these developing nations is a mirage dreamt up by league fan boys desperate to engineer a feel good factor for the struggling game, and to give those hordes of league desperados hope for the future.

HAHA but we got these new webs sites up n running, so :p thats what matters, i'll tell you now, it takes alot of work to get these web sites up n running, ask copa, he's always being cr@pped on for making them up, gee you'd think people would give the poor feela a break considering how much work he puts in. ;)

But on a serious note, if RL was nothing in Russia, i wonder why Pepsi and Coke were belting each other to get in on it ;)

the red baron said:
i'm not saying that.

I can feel a website coming on.....

Some russian news in English for you..
http://rc-lokomotiv.narod.ru/en/main.html
Some russian news in russian for you...
http://www.rrl.ru/

There is a regular comp in Lebanon ... their Liban Espoirs recently toured the UK also...
http://www.lebrl.com/

Serbia has a small domestic comp.. some great photographs of games in the 1950s on the site also...
http://www.rugbyxiii.co.yu/

There is more.....

copa said:
I can feel a website coming on.....

Some russian news in English for you..
http://rc-lokomotiv.narod.ru/en/main.html
Some russian news in russian for you...
http://www.rrl.ru/

There is a regular comp in Lebanon ... their Liban Espoirs recently toured the UK also...
http://www.lebrl.com/

Serbia has a small domestic comp.. some great photographs of games in the 1950s on the site also...
http://www.rugbyxiii.co.yu/

There is more.....

I see nothizing, how dare you pollute this pure website with uter gabage, i swear, we'll have you tared and feathered before night falls :D

the red baron said:
i'm not saying that.

How many games have you seen in those countries? I'd be interested to hear what the standards actually like.

the red baron said:

There's really only a small band of people who support the growth of the game internationally. Even New Zealand can't get their best team on the paddack due to the greed of club football.

AuckMel said:
How many games have you seen in those countries? I'd be interested to hear what the standards actually like..

None as blind as those who won't see.

AuckMel said:
There's really only a small band of people who support the growth of the game internationally. Even New Zealand can't get their best team on the paddack due to the greed of club football.

Don't get us Aussies going on about how the clubs run everything, if you haven't guessed it yet, i love RL first and Parra second, it p isses me off how clubs ruin our great game, if it was a fair playing feild, NZ would beat us atleast %50 of the time, if you look at all the big names comming through the NRL (besides B Smith and T Smith @ parra) all of them are kiwi's or islander, i can't understand why the ARL allows the clubs to be like this, the international game is the way forward, these c...s only worry about pokies, they need tp wake up.

ParraEelsNRL said:
None as blind as those who won't see.

Don't get us Aussies going on about how the clubs run everything, if you haven't guessed it yet, i love RL first and Parra second, it p isses me off how clubs ruin our great game, if it was a fair playing feild, NZ would beat us atleast %50 of the time, if you look at all the big names comming through the NRL (besides B Smith and T Smith @ parra) all of them are kiwi's or islander, i can't understand why the ARL allows the clubs to be like this, the international game is the way forward, these c...s only worry about pokies, they need tp wake up.

The game needs more people like you.

A strong NZ is vital to the growth of the game. At home and away.

Monkster said:
Never been to Aspley, Zillmere, Redcliffe, Toowong, Grange .... ????
I live on the southside... the only Aussie Rules ground anywhere near me is at Mt Gravatt on the corner of Klumpp/Logan Rd and I couldnt tell you of the next nearest Aussie Rules club?... other than that I generally dont go near those other suburbs you listed which are over on the northside, apart from Redcliffe.

AuckMel said:
The game needs more people like you.

A strong NZ is vital to the growth of the game. At home and away.

I grew up following the Eels, but as i got older i realised we need more, that more is the Kangaroo's in OZ, the Kiwi's in NZ and the poms playing as ENGLAND (with GBI every 4 years).

I love SOO, I love my team doing well, but the 1 thing i look forward too every year is the internationals, there is something about them that puts all other games as ordinary, the pommies singings the Kiwi's never give up, the Aussies ability to win against all odds(95 WC, 2003 Ashes), i am 1 of those guys who is really looking forward to France pulling their finger out and joining the bigger nations.

When i see rah rahs going on about how internatuional their game is i laugh, because the top nations in RL are better teams, just that we don't have as many.

With the way RL (believe it or not TROLLS, it is growing very fast) is going, i hope i live to be atleast 50 yrs old, i'm 33 now and i can see teams like Russia, Wales, PNG, France, Lebanon and the West Indies giving us 1 helllava shake within that time.

ParraEelsNRL said:
I grew up following the Eels, but as i got older i realised we need more, that more is the Kangaroo's in OZ, the Kiwi's in NZ and the poms playing as ENGLAND (with GBI every 4 years).

I love SOO, I love my team doing well, but the 1 thing i look forward too every year is the internationals, there is something about them that puts all other games as ordinary, the pommies singings the Kiwi's never give up, the Aussies ability to win against all odds(95 WC, 2003 Ashes), i am 1 of those guys who is really looking forward to France pulling their finger out and joining the bigger nations.

When i see rah rahs going on about how internatuional their game is i laugh, because the top nations in RL are better teams, just that we don't have as many.

With the way RL (believe it or not TROLLS, it is growing very fast) is going, i hope i live to be atleast 50 yrs old, i'm 33 now and i can see teams like Russia, Wales, PNG, France, Lebanon and the West Indies giving us 1 helllava shake within that time.

well i gotta hand it to ya, your a dreamer.

there's nothing wrong with dreams but they need to be rooted in reality.

it's very difficult to introduce a new sport in virgin territory because sport is part of culture and people are reluctant to give up something familiar for a new way of life.

it will take at least 50 years for league to even achieve a small toe hold in places like serbia, italy, georgia, russia, japan, usa.

the enormity of the project escapes you, perhaps your dreaming too much, the best league can aspire to is strenghtening the game in it's traditional homelands of england, australia and new zealand.

league is an established sport in northern england but still finds it impossible to break out of it's stifling and restrictive northern enclave after 100 years......this should be a good gauge for you to see the insurmountable problems facing this sport as it tries to expand globally and pretend it's a major sport.

the world sports market is already saturated with any number of sports to play and follow so why would anyone living in outer mongolia bother with this new entrant in this conjested market place?

hell league cant even expand aroung australia just look at the pitiful performance of the melbourne storm as they struggle to attract 10,000 fans to a match, or the almost complete lack of interest in league in the other afl states even after being promoted and shown on telli for at least 15 years now.......surely if the league bug was going to bite it would have done so by now.

parra dude you can keep dreaming all you want if it helps you get thru the night but just be grateful with what you have and hope league can survive in this country and england as a genuine professional sport and not be overtaken and swamped by union or aussie rules.......as the signs are showing in se queensland and in sydney at the moment with all the swans mania.