NRL Streets Ahead Of The AFL - Rebecca Wilson

I'm not one for wishing death upon another code, because I know how passionate people can be about sport and I don't want to disrespect that.

But utter rubbish written like this just makes me want the AFL to crush and obliterate the NRL in every single facet possible

Theres also this that goes unreported:

2011 NRL Crowds: 3123253 (ave 16267) - thats less than half the AFL total and average.
2010 NRL Crowds: 3149927 (ave 16406) - hmm so that would mean NRL crowds dropped on total and on average, as opposed to the AFL increasing in total but decreasing on average.

So am I getting this right?

NRL average crowd 2011: 16267
North Melbourne average crowd 2011: 26474

I guess with such low figures its easier to avoid recession. Thats a win for the NRL, right? :rolleyes::D

I love how the AFL has been 'paid too much' for the past four TV deals. Those silly TV execs.

Also, every fool know that the reason why Foxtel wants more AFL is to increase market penetration in the AFL states, where it currently lags behind Qld and NSW. Funnily, this is reflected in the respective ratings for both codes. Whoda thunkit.

I'm not one for wishing death upon another code, because I know how passionate people can be about sport and I don't want to disrespect that.

But utter rubbish written like this just makes me want the AFL to crush and obliterate the NRL in every single facet possible

But that's thing. Rebels, Storm, Heart, a new league team in Geelong...we say bring it on. The more sport, the better, right? Expansion teams in different codes go up to Sydney and League goes into self-preservation mode, worried about how they will survive in the face of this threat.

Her boyfriend and employer runs News Limited in Australia and they own a huge chunk of rugby league, what did you expect?

Yep shes talking out of her boy friends foxtel arse!

When will the thugby idiots realise that Pay TV is only a small amount of the overall TV viewering public and with every AFL game from next year on foxtel the AFL will soon start to catch up.

So RL lost less live crowds than the AFL but she fails to note that the AFL crowds are still more than DOUBLE the thugby and all around the nation.

Take away the pokies income from most of the NSW teams and they would be bankrupt!

How about the massive failure of the Storm to capture the Melbourne sports market and the struggling GC Titans (lol) in a supposed "RL" area?

The RL have about 120,000 members in total compared to the AFL 700,000

Rebecca Wilson gives hope to some though.

When your journalistic skills are well below par, you can always just shag the boss. She is an embarrassment.

Isn't it great, that we're normally at each others throats on 99% of threads, but on this one all supporters from every club band together to gang up on this trollop.

A lot of people think Im an Australian Football fanatic well when I read such utter crap about our great game I make no apoligies for my support and dislike of the mainly Sydney based hatred of the AFL by the promoters of RL.

The AFL is in NO danger of going under yes it will take time to bed down the two new teams but lets see the if the not National RL have the guts to put clubs in SA and WA and play games in Tassie and Darwin !

Rebecca Wilson would have been at home in a Socialist society. She writes utter propagandist crap for her employer who, surprise, surprise, happens to control the NRL. This piece of puff is part of a campaign by Daily Telegraph to prop up the NRL.

Rebecca Wilson gives hope to some though.

When your journalistic skills are well below par, you can always just shag the boss. She is an embarrassment.

Too true. Wonder what the sisterhood (Caroline W, Sam Lane et al) think of her and the quality and integrity of her output?

I feel for her poor brother. A genuine AFL man who's worked his arse off for decades writing about the sport he loves, only to see his talentless sister given way more oxygen and 'credibility' purely by ****ing the boss.

2 Seven’s : Qualifying Final 2: Geelong Vs Hawthorn Seven 1,094,000 18,000 689,000 13,000 178,000 197,000
3 Rugby League Final Series QF1 Nine 977,000 643,000 29,000 289,000 13,000 4,000

Undoubtedly do us over in the regionals.

If you replace the Sydney/Brisbane numbers with the 7mate numbers (i.e. when it was on live instead of delay on the main channel) you get:

Seven’s : Qualifying Final 2: Geelong Vs Hawthorn Seven 1,133,000 27,000 689,000 43,000 178,000 197,000

Should i start a Poll?
Which Female Wilson is better?
Caroline or Rebecca? :D

cage fight!

Young Carrow wins every time. Not even a contest

Rebecca mauls Caroline:

http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=Rebecca+Wilson&word2=Caroline+Wilson

But she's only just a little better than a piece of s**t:

http://www.googlefight.com/index.php?lang=en_GB&word1=Rebecca+Wilson&word2=piece+of+s**t

hilarious stuff

oh how I wish my code screwed it's viewers by sending most of their games, including all saturday games and some of the best, to pay

unfortunately I get all my footy for free

You may think that i am taking this a little to close to my heart but that ****ing article makes my blood boil. This talentless tool trolling the code that is so clearly smashing the NRL in almost every facuet. She will then appear on Sunrise and pretend to be really into the AFL, smiling and talking up the finals.

Stupid bitch:thumbsdown::thumbsdown:

"AFL's coverage of free to air outside Melbourne is woeful", lol wonder what the free to air coverage of league outside Sydney and Brisbane is probably zero doesn't mention that does she.

according to Wilson looks like nobody in Geelong is watching footy either and all the other Victorian country towns, what absolute whole of a women, can't believe she gets paid to write such s**t!

Not sure if this has been mentioned yet, but didn't the GC v Brisbane game earlier this year break the record for the most watched program on Pay TV ever? Or did I misunderstand that.

If I am correct, her argument that not having games people want to watch is not a factor is ludicrous. Give the AFL public an interesting game and we will watch it.

I think she truly believes that to make League seem better she has to belittle every other competition in the land, be it the AFL, A-League or whatever. How about just write one column where you talk up the best of your game without taking a pot shot at someone else.

Go ahead, I bet you can't do it.

"AFL's coverage of free to air outside Melbourne is woeful", lol wonder what the free to air coverage of league outside Sydney and Brisbane is probably zero doesn't mention that does she.
Try watching the State of Origin games, their showpiece aside from the GF, live in Adelaide. Unless you stream it on the interwebs, you get to watch it on 2 hour delay.

It's such an awesome delayed spectacle.:rolleyes: