NSW Bushfires

• Thread starter Thread starter Mags

Originally posted by Mags

Yeh, I heard...I have alot of friends in the west pymble, tuzza area... Heard Kissing Point Rd has been closed off down to Yanko Rd As well.

Not good :(

Mags
Mags,
There's been worries that both your and mine old stomping ground, Turramurra High might go under! :eek:

A lot of South Turramurra was evacuated yesterday (Monday) I don't know if the situation has been better and that people who left returned, it was the same in the West Pymble streets close to the bush. I don't know if the Comenarra Parkway is still closed but it has been on Monday and Tuesday.

It's weird seeing your suburb mentioned on the CNN website, I read an article where they describe West Pymble as being a 10 minute drive from Sydney's CBD! Be lucky to get to the city in 20 minutes with no traffic at all. They also said that the fires were close to the North Ryde area - "Australia's silicone valley" :p :D

Originally posted by Sydneyfan

Mags,
There's been worries that both your and mine old stomping ground, Turramurra High might go under! :eek:

A lot of South Turramurra was evacuated yesterday (Monday) I don't know if the situation has been better and that people who left returned, it was the same in the West Pymble streets close to the bush. I don't know if the Comenarra Parkway is still closed but it has been on Monday and Tuesday.

It's weird seeing your suburb mentioned on the CNN website, I read an article where they describe West Pymble as being a 10 minute drive from Sydney's CBD! Be lucky to get to the city in 20 minutes with no traffic at all. They also said that the fires were close to the North Ryde area - "Australia's silicone valley" :p :D

Yeh was very worried about the old stomping ground cause that is like right in the middle of bushland where the fires are burning.... Is it heading down Macquire-Nth Ryde way? :confused: :confused:

Where is it burning at the moment?

And last I heard Comenarra Parkway was still closed at 3.45pm yesterday.

Mags

Re: WHat do u feel

Originally posted by dang543
What do you feel because u said u feeled for this... I live in Victoria I also feel ... But it's hard to Discribe (u might feel the same way) Hmmmm Do u think there would be anything to do to help such as take care of people that have lost there homes or anything?

Thanks

I feel sorry for the people who have lost their homes and for people who have had to work hard to save their homes in trying conditions. It's very difficult to understand who you'd feel if your home was under threat and impossible to imagine how you'd feel if your house was fire.

I feel very grateful for all the people (especially the volunteers) helping out, if it wasn't for the tremendous and co-ordinated effort to fight these fires there not only would be huge numbers of houses and preoperties destroyed but there would also be plenty of fatalities too.

There's a few charity organisations such as the Salvation Army and St. Vincent de Paul who have opened bushfire appeals to help victims of the fires, last I heard they were after money, since the public had already been generous supplying food and clothing and had enough food and clothing but could do with money to help the victims.

Originally posted by Mags

Yeh was very worried about the old stomping ground cause that is like right in the middle of bushland where the fires are burning.... Is it heading down Macquire-Nth Ryde way? :confused: :confused:

Where is it burning at the moment?

And last I heard Comenarra Parkway was still closed at 3.45pm yesterday.

Mags

It's hard to tell exactly where the fires are because the conditions with the wind change quickly and the fighters might get on top of one area and then have to move onto another area.

I think the main concern is in the area between West Pymble and Macquarie Park just before DeBurghs Bridge, they're keen to stop the fires crossing Ryde Road into the Lane Cove National Park. From what I know, the areas of Gloucester Ave., and the streets off Wallalong Cresent in West Pymble have been the biggest concern over the last 24 hours since the fires were moving in a southeasterly direction due to the nor-westerly winds.

This afternoon I saw a lot of smoke coming from the Avondale Golf Course area (in between West Pymble and Turramurra). A mate told me today that areas between South Turramurra and Fox Valley were under fire and moving towards Thornleigh.

I reckon the Comenarra would have been in the thick of the fires for a lot of the last 2 days and even if it isn't I think they're keeping closed to allow all the fire engines and tankers to freely move through the area.

My Dad's from a small country town just over the border in South Australia that is completely surrounded by a Pine Forest. They all had to be evacuated into the centre of the town during the Ash Wednesday fires but the town got through almost unscathed. Sadly a few nearly towns weren't so lucky.

I noticed you mentioned "Elvis" earlier. Apparently it has saved many homes that looked certained to be lost. Howard has just announced that the government will purchase a few more of them which you would think is common sense.

Keep us posted Sydneyfan, we'll try and send some Melbourne weather up to Sydney. It's hard to believe that we've just had one of the coldest December's on record and 1000km north it's so different.

Cheers sainter :)

The weather up here has been very unusual for summer, Sydney's renowned for being being pretty humid and our summer's are normally humid with warm to hot days with sea breezes from the NE which keep the air moist with there fairly often being rain or thunder storms at night which keep the place fairly well watered. There's been a few thunder storms but of the bad vareity where there's lightning strikes but little rain which often starts fires in the bush.

Over the last two weeks especially the weather's been hot with dry westerly and NW winds from the interior which has bought down the humidity. It's good weather for a suntan but bad for about everything else, particularly the bush. It's been pretty windy lately and heaps of bark and leaves have been falling so there's heaps of fuel which has helped the fires move so quick. One good downpour across the east coast of NSW would go a long way to stopping the blazes hopefully it's not too long till we get one!