O/T: Fevola -Do Adelaide Chase Him?

• Thread starter Thread starter - PC -

Crowked said:
I think you would find both would want 2 first round draft picks, not a first and second round.

Neither Fevola or Pavlich are worth 2 frst round picks IMO. As you say Springy, no more short term easy fixes, they dont work.

p.s. welcome back Springy, hope you had a good holiday mate.

Yeah brilliant mate - cheers.

I would hope we would follow the PAFC lead. Try and develop our own 1st tier players and then trade for quality 2nd tier players, hardwick, bishop, pickett etc etc. We have already been burnt badly for trading away high draft picks for supposed stars.

outback jack said:
the reality is that an 18yr old your taking a chance, and a star key forward your taking a big chance. We arent going to be getting top 1-4 picks anytime soon, and these days this is where the top talent goes. We should have enough room in the cap to offer both fev and pav 700,000-800,000 each, if we dont our midfielders are being over paid. With key forwards in their prime you have to pay high picks and money for them.

Put fev and pav in our side and with a reasonable game plan we're a top4 side, put one in and we are a decent chance at the 8. Atm, were not even close.

Surely you are joking Outback??? Paying 700-800 for 2 players, one with attitude problems and the other with dodgey shoulders. Let's hope they are both consistent match winners because with the minimum remaining cap money left, we would could only afford 38 Matt Smiths.

Adelaide should make a club rule - No chasing players over 25 years old except for players who we can get easily who want to come home eg Torney and Darren Jarman.

Adelaide should not put 500k into getting Fevola but spend the money on the development of players like Watts, Gibson and Kruger.

Lets get some facts straight here.

N Thompson and Stenglein demanded 1st and 2nd round draft picks for their services last year.

Carr demanded a 1st, 2nd and 3rd round pick to go to Freo.

Ottens demanded 2 first round picks to be traded to Geelong.

It would seem that the precedent has now been set, so Fev and Pav would both cost at least 2 first rounders and a sh|t load of cap space.

Ironically, looking back, Fev was a late 2nd round pick when he was drafted (if I recall correctly) and Pav was completely overlooked in the first draft he was eligible. This would indicate that they weren't obvious superstars at a young age (just like Watts, Hentschell etc) but with a truck load of hard work and development, they turned out to be gun players.

Seems like the choice is obvious, keep the early draft picks, develop the players on our list and hopefully some of them will turn out to be gun players in much the same way as Fev and Pav.

As for the original question - Fevola - Do Adelaide chase him?

The answer is - No f&*ken way.

just maybe said:
1. Yes

2. Possibly

3. Yes

4. $300,000-$400,000 a season. He is good, but not worth $500,000 a season as your bonus scheme would offer...that's Ricciuto territory

However I think that rumour is probably crap, Pagan has turned him into a good thing, he's going nowhere.
What he said :)

I also think Fevola would fit into our structure a lot better than fair few other KF in the league.

SpringChoke said:
If we are paying between 500-550 for an average midfielder in A McLeod what would we pay for Fevola, between 700-800.

I would hope we wouldn't go for him because the price would be too high. You could kiss goodbye to our first 2 draft picks. No more easy fixes.
The beauty of AFC is that we don't throw huge money of players.

The absolute most we would offer Fevola would be $450K. The reason Adelaide are financially well run club its because we aren't throwing ridicilour money on players. AFC has a belief that with salary cap in place, no player is worth more than $500K a year and I support them 110% on this.

SpringChoke said:
Surely you are joking Outback??? Paying 700-800 for 2 players, one with attitude problems and the other with dodgey shoulders. Let's hope they are both consistent match winners because with the minimum remaining cap money left, we would could only afford 38 Matt Smiths.

how am i joking, most of what i said was logical. We need and have always needed key forwards, and you have to pay for them. i'm not sure who we have taking up salary cap space, but we should have a bucket load free, obviously our overrated midfielders are over paid, cause there aint any key forwards taking the dosh. I think gun forwards are worth this much, it just means though that you need to draft kids around them. Cant have the begley types taking more than the minimum payment. Also, means that you cant be targeting midfield players too, but i really believe we should be drafting these with a good recruiter and smart picks.

pav's shoulders are interesting, i suppose he hasnt really had them tested yet. i think though they do the reco's alot better than the carey days. Pav has no prob getting them up over his head.

Obviously fev has attitude problems and needs a good coach. Is high maintenance, but is worth it.

none will happen though, fevs going no where, am i have the feeling that pav wont either, not for awhile anyway. Draft picks and youth are our future. Need to snag a couple of quality guys with third rounders to get the team back up there.

Stiffy_18 said:
The beauty of AFC is that we don't throw huge money of players.

The absolute most we would offer Fevola would be $450K. The reason Adelaide are financially well run club its because we aren't throwing ridicilour money on players. AFC has a belief that with salary cap in place, no player is worth more than $500K a year and I support them 110% on this.

you have no idea how much they would be willing to throw at him. NC might say i want a gun KF so get me one. And its pretty simple really if we offer him $450,000 he wont be coming, so you have to take a chance. We may well run but have no quality key forwards, and obviously an over paid midfield cause someone is getting more than they deserve.

I have to agree with OJ..If you have the forwards you will prosper. Its why Adelaide spent so much energy on chasing Kernahan all those years, and why ultimately we gave up 2 good draft picks for Carey. As good as Wells is he would not be Adelaides answer in the forward line.He is the ultimate crumber/midfielder, but not the Carey repalcement everyone seems to think.

The only downside to getting Carey ( who I thought we needed at the time) was that the pain was hidden for 2 years and we are realising that now.But you take what you can at the time.

PerthCrow said:
I have to agree with OJ..If you have the forwards you will prosper. Its why Adelaide spent so much energy on chasing Kernahan all those years, and why ultimately we gave up 2 good draft picks for Carey. As good as Wells is he would not be Adelaides answer in the forward line.He is the ultimate crumber/midfielder, but not the Carey repalcement everyone seems to think.

The only downside to getting Carey ( who I thought we needed at the time) was that the pain was hidden for 2 years and we are realising that now.But you take what you can at the time.

true that missing wells is no great loss, his type is easily replaced. Key forwards are gold, i'm sure this was the AFC's thinking at the time, they just forgot his age.

The main mistake was i think, first we swapped pick 12 with richmond to get 4, we should have said 4 or no deal, and we didnt use 4 to get pavlich. If carey was 27 instead of 31 it would have been so different.

Just have to make sure next time we have a go at a gun forward and pay a high price that hes young and in his prime. Easier said than done of course.

outback jack said:
how am i joking, most of what i said was logical. We need and have always needed key forwards, and you have to pay for them. i'm not sure who we have taking up salary cap space, but we should have a bucket load free, obviously our overrated midfielders are over paid, cause there aint any key forwards taking the dosh. I think gun forwards are worth this much, it just means though that you need to draft kids around them. Cant have the begley types taking more than the minimum payment. Also, means that you cant be targeting midfield players too, but i really believe we should be drafting these with a good recruiter and smart picks.

pav's shoulders are interesting, i suppose he hasnt really had them tested yet. i think though they do the reco's alot better than the carey days. Pav has no prob getting them up over his head.

Obviously fev has attitude problems and needs a good coach. Is high maintenance, but is worth it.

none will happen though, fevs going no where, am i have the feeling that pav wont either, not for awhile anyway. Draft picks and youth are our future. Need to snag a couple of quality guys with third rounders to get the team back up there.

There is only one player in the AFL I would pay $700 a year for and that would be for a disciplined Jonathon Brown.

SpringChoke said:
There is only one player in the AFL I would pay $700 a year for and that would be for a disciplined Jonathon Brown.

Jesus, you're tight. For $700 a year you won't even get Matt Smith.

mymansyd said:
Roo, at the moment, would be the only player at the Crows deserving of $500,000+.
How the hell is Camporale getting $600K a year - I must be a bad judge of footy talent because I wouldn't have picked him in my top 25 AFL players???

Wayne's-World said:
How the hell is Camporale getting $600K a year - I must be a bad judge of footy talent because I wouldn't have picked him in my top 25 AFL players???

He's not. True value around $250, 000 to $300,000 tops.

Koudafides isn't worth $1,000,000 per year either.

Neither is Gasper worth $600,000 per year.

At least the AFC seem to have a far more sensible approach to its payments to its top players.

macca23 said:

At least the AFC seem to have a far more sensible approach to its payments to its top players.
Figures reported indicated $600K and Whitnall on $440K?

gaspar on half that amount would be more realistic - you have to wonder about the judgements of some of these clubs spending someone elses money and treating it like monopoly :mad:

macca23 said:

Will be interesting to see whether Kouta will take a pay cut to keep Fevola. IMO the Blues will find a way to hang on to Fevola. I reckon if he did leave, he would stay in Melbourne.

It will muck up our salary structure if we paid someone like Fevola buckets more $'s than Roo who is one of the best players in the league. It is not the sort of thing we should be doing whilst we are rebuilding & not a premiership threat.

mymansyd said:
Roo, at the moment, would be the only player at the Crows deserving of $500,000+.
And the thing is that he is not getting it.

I do know that AFC are a very well run club and one of the reasons is that we don't pay over for players. If NC said go get me Fevola, club will try its best to get him but they won't offer him anywhere near the money outback jack is rolling out. AFC don't pay more than $500K for a player no matter how good they are. Fevola would be a good fit for Adelaide but I am not sure how he would combine with Scott Welsh as they are similar types.

I am almost certain that Fev will stay with Carlton but even if he is going to leave them AFC will not throw the amount of money at him that OJ is suggesting.

Stiffy, get into some training now, work off that beer gut by the draft and we'll pick you up with a low draft pick and play you instead of Fevola!

dyertribe said:
All this talk of snagging a gun forward poses a big question for me.

Where were we Barry Hall was due to leave the Saints?

We made a play for him but he said he had no interest in coming to Adelaide.

Stiffy_18 said:
And the thing is that he is not getting it.

I do know that AFC are a very well run club and one of the reasons is that we don't pay over for players. If NC said go get me Fevola, club will try its best to get him but they won't offer him anywhere near the money outback jack is rolling out. AFC don't pay more than $500K for a player no matter how good they are. Fevola would be a good fit for Adelaide but I am not sure how he would combine with Scott Welsh as they are similar types.

I am almost certain that Fev will stay with Carlton but even if he is going to leave them AFC will not throw the amount of money at him that OJ is suggesting.

I'm happy with that policy (of not paying any one more than $500K). Makes good management sense. If the average wage for a player is $157,500 ($6.3M divided by our squad of 40), then it's hard to lodge a case for anyone to be paid over 3-4 times the average. Or is it? Dunno? Just thinking out loud, I guess. :eek: