Observations on internal issues?

Because people on here like to appear like they know a secret...it's schoolyard stuff really

It's the height of ignorance to assume that out of the hundreds of posters on this forum, not one of them has connections to the club that we all support.

The schoolyard petulance comes from the ones that don't want to believe others know more than them.

I'm curious. Many many non-coterie members have mentioned how over the years they have been made to feel less and less valued, that the quality of social club functions, victory room events etc etc have declined dramatically.

Do you know if it's a similar thing for the coteries? It would be one thing for *influence* to disappear (and in certain situations that could be a good thing), but another entirely if these high dollar contributors were finding their ties with, access to, and respect from the club had declined.

Unlike the Vice Presidents group ( which preceded and morphed into the match committee ) which was setup to give access to encourage members to get in the board and advise the club ( Fulvio Inserra being the most obvious one ) the current coterie groups ( the northerners, shinboner club and match committee) provide varying levels of access to the club but are not necessarily there to provide direction. There is certainly a high level of access in the match committee but that is it. As I said earlier they have lost members because of this. My circumstances make it impractical for me to get involved at a board level but I would certainly support for change if a good viable alternative was provided. If the club relocates my 20 years of high level support will cease.

What's the real agenda here? Plenty of teams have been shit for a long time. Worse than North. The dissatisfaction of North supporters is fair enough, especially because the vast majority can now see that the coaching staff, selectors and the recruiters are not as good as we'd all expected them to be.

But the media seems to have hit North much harder than Melbourne, Carlton, St Kilda etc. I'm guessing it's with the AFLs blessings that they are hammering on North, and I suspect that it's going to get worse.

Is this the start of the campaign by the AFL to reopen the case for a move?

If the club relocates my 20 years of high level support will cease.

Absolutely fair.

Lol just to debunk some idiotic myths in here

I’m probably what you’d call an inner-city hipster, I live close to the city, am vegan, vote for the greens, have very left-wing views etc.

- I have been a paid up member since I could afford it (my early 20s, now I’m early 30s).

- I love football and go to about 20 games a year and watch as many as I can a week. I go interstate for North games once or twice a year. It’s a huge part of my identity and a massive part of my life. NMFC probably saved my life and I owe them forever.

- I and others I know have convinced people to convert from other clubs and join up as members on the basis of the work of organisations like The Huddle.

- I remember going to Arden St as a kid and being struck by how shoddy the facilities looked. They are now amazing and only going to get better.

- I support a massive internal review (no not a forensic review) into the board and coaching staff - because at the end of the day what I care most about is this club winning a premiership but to be honest I’m pretty happy with how we are going off field. If we stink on the field I’m sorry but that’s down to the COACHING STAFF AND PLAYING STAFF.

- Would players be able to trot out 100 consecutive 6/10 games at Hawthorn and keep their spot? Nah. How does that lay at the feet of The Huddle? Give me a ****EN BREAK.

What's the real agenda here? Plenty of teams have been shit for a long time. Worse than North. The dissatisfaction of North supporters is fair enough, especially because the vast majority can now see that the coaching staff, selectors and the recruiters are not as good as we'd all expected them to be.

But the media seems to have hit North much harder than Melbourne, Carlton, St Kilda etc. I'm guessing it's with the AFLs blessings that they are hammering on North, and I suspect that it's going to get worse.

Is this the start of the campaign by the AFL to reopen the case for a move?

Absolutely fair.
You’re kidding. It’s taken them longer and they are softer on North’s underperformance.

Unlike the Vice Presidents group ( which preceded and morphed into the match committee ) which was setup to give access to encourage members to get in the board and advise the club ( Fulvio Inserra being the most obvious one ) the current coterie groups ( the northerners, shinboner club and match committee) provide varying levels of access to the club but are not necessarily there to provide direction. There is certainly a high level of access in the match committee but that is it. As I said earlier they have lost members because of this. My circumstances make it impractical for me to get involved at a board level but I would certainly support for change if a good viable alternative was provided. If the club relocates my 20 years of high level support will cease.
I’m not and never will be a big money donor. But I find the idea that a range of supporter groups who provide financial support would expect that to buy them the right to “direct” how the club is run on or off field quite extraordinary. How could that possibly work in practice?

I’m not and never will be a big money donor. But I find the idea that a range of supporter groups who provide financial support would expect that to buy them the right to “direct” how the club is run on or off field. How could that possibly work in practice?

1555973535477.png

So because of the Majak incident, our playing list is ordinary and our game plan is EDFL under 14's standard?

You're CRAZY.

How did our list go from reasonable with no outside speed or skill to shit ordinary with the addition of players who do what we need?

I mentioned the same thing on another thread? How many times have you heard players talk about there being more to life than footy this year? Ever heard that before? Nah its just a coincidence that its happened after one of our biggest names "fell" off something.

I've been saying for years this club good a good sports psychologist - we can't kick goals from directly in front or hit targets from 25m under no pressure. That isn't because of the game plan or the players lack of skill, its because they've got issues above the neck. Now with what happened over summer its even more important.

I think Rick18 did an article about that side of things a few years ago but its obviously not working to the standard it should be (or we'd be kicking straighter if nothing else.)

I've been saying for years this club good a good sports psychologist

Which General Manager do you want to sack to pay for this? Pick one? Any one?

So I had the idea that we could set up a GoFundMe to collect for Brad's payout - someone mentioned something similar earlier.

Pitched as: "We're the members and supporters and we donate money to the club all the time for stuff we know will make us stronger. Same with this."

Obviously we're not going to collect enough to fund Brad's payout - if we meet the target (I'm thinking $50k is a nice round figure) we'd donate it to the Royal Children's Hospital Appeal. Unless of course the club do ditch him and want it!

But it would be a good media hook beyond "aggrieved fans want Scott gone", it taps into pre-existing conceptions about North but turns them around, it shares well on social.

But when I went to set it up I could only nominate the kids hospital appeal direct, or put myself, I'm a bit wary of asking people to send money to a random GoFundMe (would I hand over cash like that?).

Thoughts?

You need to be well organised before you tell us too much more about it I reckon. I think its a good idea tho. And I'd guess what you are aiming at is something that will be visible and in play by the end of the season?

RCH makes sense.

You could always donate it to the huddle.....

They are both good ideas. I like the idea of donating to the Huddle. I know some people might not (Tef looking at you) but its a good tactic. You could split the donation. That shows support for the club and its aims. The Huddle and the Good Friday appeal both make the club look good to the wider community.

I know some people might not (Tef looking at you) but its a good tactic.

I have chopped out plenty of people and interests over the years, I just didn't do it so I could make a salaried career out of it by utilising OTHER peoples money, and/or in order to collect trophies for doing it.

I have chopped out plenty of people and interests over the years, I just didn't do it so I could make a salaried career out of it by utilising OTHER peoples money, and in order to collect trophies for doing it.

I'm just shit stirring you mate. Don't stress about it.

How do we know that these type of issues internally were the reasons why we didnt get the dusty, gaff, Kelly over to us?

Interesting
Maybe they did't need to look that far - everyone North has targeted has been a very good player in a very good and/or rising team, and all of them have been proven good decisions in hindsight for onfield success.

Lol just to debunk some idiotic myths in here

I’m probably what you’d call an inner-city hipster, I live close to the city, am vegan, vote for the greens, have very left-wing views etc.

- I have been a paid up member since I could afford it (my early 20s, now I’m early 30s).

- I love football and go to about 20 games a year and watch as many as I can a week. I go interstate for North games once or twice a year. It’s a huge part of my identity and a massive part of my life. NMFC probably saved my life and I owe them forever.

- I and others I know have convinced people to convert from other clubs and join up as members on the basis of the work of organisations like The Huddle.

- I remember going to Arden St as a kid and being struck by how shoddy the facilities looked. They are now amazing and only going to get better.

- I support a massive internal review (no not a forensic review) into the board and coaching staff - because at the end of the day what I care most about is this club winning a premiership but to be honest I’m pretty happy with how we are going off field. If we stink on the field I’m sorry but that’s down to the COACHING STAFF AND PLAYING STAFF.

- Would players be able to trot out 100 consecutive 6/10 games at Hawthorn and keep their spot? Nah. How does that lay at the feet of The Huddle? Give me a ****EN BREAK.
In simple terms, of course the Huddle has no direct impact on the on-field mess we're now in. But the fact the club has been so focused on things like the Huddle and NOT on winning the premiership, has got us to where we are.

If we can get our culture back (the Shinboner culture) and still have the Huddle in the background, everyone will be happy.

In simple terms, of course the Huddle has no direct impact on the on-field mess we're now in. But the fact the club has been so focused on things like the Huddle and NOT on winning the premiership, has got us to where we are.

If we can get our culture back (the Shinboner culture) and still have the Huddle in the background, everyone will be happy.

Jesus wept, the players aren't working there full time (except for Emma Kearney who would do well to instruct the men what a second effort and four quarters of FOOTBALL looks like, just quietly)

How do we know that these type of issues internally were the reasons why we didnt get the dusty, gaff, Kelly over to us?

Interesting

Gaff recently said he came within a bee’s dick of leaving but he couldn’t leave WC with the way things had ended at the time, instead feeling he owed them. The lure to North for him was Joyce, who he’d known for years.

Dusty may have ummed and ahhhed about leaving but he always found the thought of leaving his Richmond mates too difficult a bridge to cross, then they bumped up his offer thanks to Puma and it was an easy decision. One of my mates sons plays at Richmond and is close mates with him and he told me ages ago that the moula has him tempted but he doesn’t want to leave.

Neither player turning us down had anything to do with perceived internal issues at North.

Observations on internal issues?