Off-Field problems?

Let me just play devil's advocate for a moment.

Apart from JB, who is putting a positive spin on North and its people in the media? Other clubs have any number of former coaches, captains, champion players etc etc continually pumping up their clubs' tyres, but we seem to have few if any doing the same.

Who are these people who pump up their old teams and achieve positive media when said teams lose badly? You have lost me.

And would it really make a difference to how our team is able to play against, say, Collingwood, if there's a couple more good mentions in the media? We had plenty of positive press in the preseason but it doesn't seem to have helped onfield much.

Seriously. Harvey having a good game after a poor game was news last season, R2 to R3. It shouldn't be news that a 300 games player backs up well and we are in trouble if that's the best angle we think we can get.

We got the press we deserved for week 2 and better than we deserved for week 1. I'd have thought less spin rather than more might have been what the doctor ordered - maybe some of our players believed everything that was written about their potential and a final being there for the taking this year. If they actually need to be pumped up externally they can put in a game that earns it and, like Pederson, they will get it.

Really, I would be amazed and disappointed if they noticed or cared.

Who are these people who pump up their old teams and achieve positive media when said teams lose badly? You have lost me.

Dunstall for Hawthorn? Lyon for Melbourne? Darcy for Bulldogs? Harley for Geelong? All with various degrees of success, but they do show their club colours quite obviously, I'd say. Even Caro does her bit for Richmond IMO, although she wouldn't officially admit it. Hird certainly did for Essendon as well, for the most part.

And would it really make a difference to how our team is able to play against, say, Collingwood, if there's a couple more good mentions in the media? We had plenty of positive press in the preseason but it doesn't seem to have helped onfield much.

This has nothing to do with helping onfield performances - it can however, take the pressure off and improve the club image, both, in the eye of North people and wide football community.

Seriously. Harvey having a good game after a poor game was news last season, R2 to R3. It shouldn't be news that a 300 games player backs up well and we are in trouble if that's the best angle we think we can get.

We got the press we deserved for week 2 and better than we deserved for week 1. I'd have thought less spin rather than more might have been what the doctor ordered

That I agree with, in terms of less spin might be better at the minute.

Although he stuck up for us last week, saying "North have had an injury affected preparation and a tough start to the year but they're on the right track I reckon, having recruited well over the past few years. I like where they're heading."

Indeed he did 'toes. He also said to Robbo "you blokes wil be smacking them around the ears all year, but they will be closer to a premiership at the end of this season than they are now"

Dunstall for Hawthorn? Lyon for Melbourne? Darcy for Bulldogs? Harley for Geelong? All with various degrees of success, but they do show their club colours quite obviously, I'd say. Even Caro does her bit for Richmond IMO, although she wouldn't officially admit it. Hird certainly did for Essendon as well, for the most part.

That was my point - the ones that do it with any success are talking about teams that are playing well and winning. They don't make teams look better when things aren't going well, they just add to the lustre the team has created.

Indeed he did 'toes. He also said to Robbo "you blokes wil be smacking them around the ears all year, but they will be closer to a premiership at the end of this season than they are now"

wonders never cease to amaze. that the first I heard of David King saying anything half decent about our club ( which of course is a good thing ). I keep going back to last summer when he said the board had done nuffin, and it was disastorous that we would share our facilities with the state fencing team ( or whoever it is we are sharing them with ). The cow was egging him the whole way. I refuse to listen to AW simply because of him, the cow, and barge arse.

I'm confused.

As I read this thread, ignoring the little Julian sub plots, and side stepping the PDR landmines, i think I am clear on the following:

- someone is, or might be, or will be upset / hurt / miffed
- this might be due to being ignored, or not being paid enough attention, or not being treated as special
- this may or may not matter
- this may or may not be resolved in a fortnight
- it may be terribly important for those within the club to drop everything and attend to this, assuming of course that they are not part of the group about to be cleaned out by another unhappy group who may or may not be related to the someone (see above).

Has Grundy productions taken over our club while I wasn't looking? Cause honestly, this sounds very much like the last episode of Neighbours I watched, without the stripper or the bank manager.

Cause honestly, this sounds very much like the last episode of Neighbours I watched, without the stripper or the bank manager.

You assume no stripper or bank manager. Wait a fortnight.

Don't worry, you can make yourself one of these so you and your cat can be protected from the club officials attempts to read your thoughts and control your mind.

tin-foil-hat.jpg

I'm confused.

As I read this thread, ignoring the little Julian sub plots, and side stepping the PDR landmines, i think I am clear on the following:

- this might be due to being ignored, or not being paid enough attention, or not being treated as special
- it may be terribly important for those within the club to drop everything and attend to this, assuming of course that they are not part of the group about to be cleaned out by another unhappy group who may or may not be related to the someone (see above).

Has Grundy productions taken over our club while I wasn't looking? Cause honestly, this sounds very much like the last episode of Neighbours I watched, without the stripper or the bank manager.

It's the stripper and bank manager that have to go! I can't believe that you have sprung the clean-out!!

abbott.jpg

The players couldn't give two hoots about off field inner political shit fighting, if there were any, nor whether or not a "certain high profile supporter" is wooed back to the club.

They're worried about getting a kick, remaining in the 1's, playing good consistent footy as individuals (and hence, as a team) to ensure success and a long and rewarding AFL career.

If off field stuff affects the playing group then we should get ourselves a new playing group.

Yes that's him thanks, I reckon going by the mo he maybe related to our very own L.Hansen which would explain lack luster Lachie efforts last week.We need this resolved now we can't afford a similar result against the Tiges as we got against the Pies.

Cause honestly, this sounds very much like the last episode of Neighbours I watched, without the stripper or the bank manager.

*Reminder to self: Set the iQ for tomorrow night's Neighbours episode.*

I'm confused.

This is just funny, funny shit :thumbsu::thumbsu:

wonders never cease to amaze. that the first I heard of David King saying anything half decent about our club ( which of course is a good thing ). I keep going back to last summer when he said the board had done nuffin, and it was disastorous that we would share our facilities with the state fencing team ( or whoever it is we are sharing them with ). The cow was egging him the whole way. I refuse to listen to AW simply because of him, the cow, and barge arse.

I was very much the same but happened to listen to a bit where Sheahan said that he (King) had been very North negative. King stated explicitly that a number of former players had been invited down to the cub and were given a presentation on what is happening, where it is heading etc. Said that all who attended were impressed and that it had soothed various savage beasts. Would think J Cassin may have also been an attendee given his whack at the club but cannot confirm. As a result King said that he had changed his mind re North and would not continue to belt them. Very nice of him .:rolleyes:

We have always had off field problems, i don't understand y. Why is our finance always this bad. Why cant we have an eddie maguire-esque leader. Why did we get rid of the pokies, we should be exploiting the people for more money. Why didn't we move to gc. We need to be ultra ruthless with the club. We need to maximize profit.

How many times do you need it explained to you. :mad:

It wouldn't be anything the Hun or Age haven't already heard whispers about.

Not sure if it the same thing the OP is talking about, but my mail is that a few of the playing group (as well as maybe one or two, but no more, of the coaching group) aren't happy that there hasn't been more of an effort made by our administration to get a certain high-profile supporter back into the fold at the club.

I can't say too much because it isn't my place but I think it will probably come to a head by the end of next week, just before our home game against Richmond. The story goes that this particular supporter has long said his favourite memories of watching us play usually involved rolling the Tigers on a Friday night at the 'G, before heading out to the city nightclubs afterwards. If he hasn't been brought back into the fold by our clash against the Tigers, he probably won't be at all. If tensions are going to spill over because of this issue, it will be then. If.

So, i'm waiting!!!!!!!!! Tension is killing me!!

Looks like it is all gonna come out. Hope this doesn't destabilise the squad before a match which may make or break our season (both on-field and off).

:mad:

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kangaroos-in-high-profile-spat/story-e6frf9jf-1226043086580

North Melbourne Football Club is in damage control after it emerged that a rift had formed between key powerbrokers at the ailing club over the issue of whether or not a high-profile supporter should be given the green light to return to the club's inner sanctum.

One of footy's worst kept secrets was finally made public late Thursday evening as club Chairman James Brayshaw refused to answer questions about the matter, after wrapping up his calling duties for MMM in Brisbane following the Saints win over the Lions.

'Look, this issue was put to rest some time ago, so I'm not sure why you are bringing it up with me now' Brayshaw said, before quickly leaving the media carpark to catch a plane back to Melbourne. It is beleived he will be flying into a maelstrom after one of his fellow board members broke ranks over the dispute.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kangaroos-in-high-profile-spat/story-e6frf9jf-1226043086580