Official Delisting Thread

Is there one? I haven't seen it. Fill in the blanks and I'll add them in, club by club.

Adelaide: Ben Hart, Hayden Skipworth, Chad Gibson, Alan Obst, Tom Redden

Brisbane: Clark Keating, Jayden Attard, Marty Pask, Luke Forsyth

Carlton: Trent Sporn, Ian Prendergast, Troy Longmuir, Cory McGrath, Luke Livingston, Jesse Smith, Daniel Batson

Collingwood:

Essendon: Joel Reynolds, Aaron Henneman, Tristan Carteldge, Ben Jolley (rookie), Tim O'Keefe (rookie)

Fremantle: Daniel Haines, Jack Juniper, Joe Krieger, Toby Stribling

Geelong:

Hawthorn: Matthew Ball, Luke Brennan, Ben Kane, Harry Miller,
Nick Ries, Josh Thurgood

Kangaroos: Troy Makepeace, Chad Jones, Cameron Thurley, Justin Perkins (rookie), Mark Powell

Melbourne: Shannon Motlop, Phillip Read, Nick Smith

Port Adelaide: Ben Eckerman, Peter Walsh, Aaron Shattock, Tom Looby (rookie), Tom Rischbieth (rookie), Matthew Bishop, James Ezard, Elijah Ware

Richmond: Andrew Kellaway, David Rodan, T Roach, Jeremy Humm (rookie)

St Kilda: Mark McGough, Allan Murray

Sydney:

Western Bulldogs: Kieran McGuinness, Brad Murphy, Tom Davidson (rookie), Jesse Wells

West Coast: Travis Gaspar

* Edit: Added the two (former) Roos players.
* Edit: Added Crows and Bombers.
* Edit: Thanks, Grimreepah, added those from that thread.
* Edit: More names added.
* Edit: Added Carlton's delistees.
* Edit: Lions' Brendan Quigley removed (homesick for Ireland).
* Edit: Added four more delistees from Carlton.

Add how the number of players on the list as well.

Maybe add the rookie situation for each club too.

Chad Jones and Cameron Thurley are another two from the Roos.

Perhaps we could sticky this and be done with it.

West Coast - Matera (retired), Banfield (retired), McDougal (traded), Gardiner (traded), Gaspar (not confirmed).

Rookies - Michael Embley definite - several others still the subject of fierce debate!

The 'Confirmed delisting' thread is very scattered. It'd be good if the thread starter on this one could just keep updating the first post so it's in once nice and neat package.
Do you want retirements too? Because I reckon they're just as relevant. I suppose trades could be there too.

Anyway, Matthew Clarke retired from the Crows.

Vic Crow said:
The 'Confirmed delisting' thread is very scattered. It'd be good if the thread starter on this one could just keep updating the first post so it's in once nice and neat package.
Do you want retirements too? Because I reckon they're just as relevant. I suppose trades could be there too.

Anyway, Matthew Clarke retired from the Crows.

Not sure about retirees, trades, etc. Just want to keep a neat Delisted thread.

quigley and forsyth are not delisted from the lions i think you will find

correction you are right about quigley ! got my irish boys mixed up oops

I think it might be a good idea to separate the senior list delistees and rookie list delistees. For example, you've got Marty Pask listed under the Lions. He was a rookie in 2006, and got promoted.

Delisted/Traded - Brisbane Senior List
Jason Akermanis
Jayden Attard
Clark Keating
Justin Leppitsch
Mal Michael
Brad Scott
*Michael Voss is not delisted - he is on the senior list for 2007

Delisted - Brisbane Rookie List
Luke Forsyth
Marty Pask
Brendan Quigley

BigCat2 said:
I think it might be a good idea to separate the senior list delistees and rookie list delistees. For example, you've got Marty Pask listed under the Lions. He was a rookie in 2006, and got promoted.

Delisted/Traded - Brisbane Senior List
Jason Akermanis
Jayden Attard
Clark Keating
Justin Leppitsch
Mal Michael
Brad Scott
*Michael Voss is not delisted - he is on the senior list for 2007

Delisted - Brisbane Rookie List
Luke Forsyth
Marty Pask
Brendan Quigley

Mate, just want to make this a DELISTED thread only.

irish said:
correction you are right about quigley ! got my irish boys mixed up oops

I think you were right the first time. Quigley was home sick and departed on his own volition, so I don't think that counts as a delisting.

In an earlier article at afl.com.au, in the list of unavailable players for Brisbane it listed Brendan Quigley as "quit the club".

If delisting simply means "not offered a new contract", then, yeah he was delisted.

Grimreepah said:
I think you were right the first time. Quigley was home sick and departed on his own volition, so I don't think that counts as a delisting.
Done. But his departure from the club looks like a grey area.

BigCat2 said:
That's ok, just take out Akermanis and you're done
Err, he wasn't in my list, re post #1.

BigCat2 said:
In an earlier article at afl.com.au, in the list of unavailable players for Brisbane it listed Brendan Quigley as "quit the club".

If delisting simply means "not offered a new contract", then, yeah he was delisted.

Retirees weren't offered a new contract either. Or are you grouping retirees and delistings together?

Well just by pure definition yeah retiring and delisted mean the same thing. For Clark Keating, which would it be?

And Sebastian Balboa, I meant take Akermanis out of my list.

And if when you say delisted you're not interested in those who are retired, then discount others too.

Ben Hart is delisted by Adelaide but could get picked up in PSD. So is he retired or delisted?

Delisted is when a player is not offered a new contract by the club. Whether they retire, get picked up by another club or fade into obscurity - they're still delisted, at this point in time.

BigCat2 said:
Well just by pure definition yeah retiring and delisted mean the same thing.

I had presumed Sebastian was getting a list of delistees so people could see who is available in the PSD.

Grimreepah said:
I had presumed Sebastian was getting a list of delistees so people could see who is available in the PSD.

Yeah, more like a "Who's been cut from their AFL club" list than anything.

BigCat2 said:
And Sebastian Balboa, I meant take Akermanis out of my list.

But that's not my list, it's yours. Mine's the #1 OP.

Regardless of a player's present status, ie: if he's been delisted but still wants to play at AFL level, is available for the PSD, or will play country footy, whatever, is beside the point of the DELISTED list.