Official List Changes

stkildathunda

DEMPSTERED
10k Posts St Kilda Saints - Tom Ledger 2012 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2011 Player Sponsor St Kilda Saints - Nicholas Heyne 2010 Player Sponsor
Man Utd
Here is an update on all official changes at club so far this off season.

List Changes:

OUT:
Brendon Goddard (Essendon via Free Agency)
Sam Crocker (delisted)
Brett Peake (delisted)
Dean Polo (delisted)
Daniel Archer (delisted - rookie)

IN:
Tom Lee
Tom Hickey

OUTGOING (Staff)
Peter Burge (High Performance Manager)

INCOMING (Staff)
Bill Davoren (High Performance Manager)
Simon Kearney (Sports Science Manager)
Luke Vella (Exercise Physiologist)
Tony Micale (Player Academy Manager)

**Mods do you want to pin this to top so we can have this updated each time new ones come in?

Good to see Peake and Polo gone, they were just Ross Lyon garbage that we need to sweep up. Archer is a shame and Crocker never seemed to be pushing for selection so that's a shame.

I wonder if Raph will survive.

Thoroughly unsurprising. These are pretty much the "givens" we've been talking about for months.

It's gonna get more interesting than this... even if there are no more delistings, THAT would be more amazing than these four getting delisted.

All the best to them.

That's a start. Shame Crocker didn't make more of a fist of it. That left foot is lethal and he looked so good in that NAB Cup match he played early last year.
It is a shame. I was hoping he'd find some form but all hope was lost when he was a gifted a game in the seniors and only got something like 6 possessions.

Winmar needs to take note.

I reckon that we will try and trade Raph, as he does have market value. (would have been in our bests, once this year.)

I recken so as well.Maybe GWS or gold coast? I would even be happy for a 3rd or 4th rounder for him

Good to see Peake and Polo gone, they were just Ross Lyon garbage that we need to sweep up.

My goodness, I hate statements like this.

Peake has played 43 games for St Kilda, averaged 17.2 disposals per game and kicked 20 goals.

Polo has played 21 games for St Kilda, averaged 16.4 disposals per game and kicked 7 goals.

Neither is a superstar, but they played their role and were an integral part of and reason for St Kilda's success over the last years (whether one liked them, Ross Lyon, our game plan or anything). Both never pulled back and put their body on the line for St Kilda.

Surely (in particular if we expect them and their teammates to be open and friendly to our representatives at the various functions as sponsor for Tom Ledger) they deserve better than the above from some little internet hero. Mods ?

My goodness, I hate statements like this.

Peake has played 43 games for St Kilda, averaged 17.2 disposals per game and kicked 20 goals.

Polo has played 21 games for St Kilda, averaged 16.4 disposals per game and kicked 7 goals.

Neither is a superstar, but they played their role and were an integral part of and reason for St Kilda's success over the last years (whether one liked them, Ross Lyon, our game plan or anything). Both never pulled back and put their body on the line for St Kilda.

Surely (in particular if we expect them and their teammates to be open and friendly to our representatives at the various functions as sponsor for Tom Ledger) they deserve better than the above from some little internet hero. Mods ?
Well said Holden, well said

Thanks to Peake, Polo, Crocker and Archer for striving for the ultimate AFL glory. Best of luck

Well said Holden, well said

Thanks to Peake, Polo, Crocker and Archer for striving for the ultimate AFL glory. Best of luck

My sentiments as well. Peake and Polo were never meant to be superstars for us. They did what they were meant to do, and I'd suggest they played better for the Saints than they did for their previous clubs.
I still view Polo as a step above player's we've had in the midfield in some of th years prior to him arriving. A GOP if you like.
Archer may have been very unlucky, reported to have been training himself to improve his fitness BEFORE the pre-season, before getting an unfortunately timed injury.

I wish them all the best.

2010 AFL DRAFT

Pick 43 - Sam Crocker
Pick 103 - Dean Polo

Reckon for what we picked Polo at he was extremely valuable and considering every player around him was promoted rookies you cant really complain. Maybe we should have swapped those picks around? :eek:

I was never a massive fan of Polo and I made that fairly obvious. Peake did a decent job of giving us what Lovett was supposed to but at 29 it just wasn't worth trying to work through his deficiencies.

Would be interesting to know what Peake's training was like. Most players that would go for 100m+ runs would go straight to the bench but he barely broke a sweat. Too bad he couldn't kick.

Wish them all the best, particularly Peake and Polo in their post footy lives.

2010 AFL DRAFT

Pick 43 - Sam Crocker
Pick 103 - Dean Polo

Reckon for what we picked Polo at he was extremely valuable and considering every player around him was promoted rookies you cant really complain. Maybe we should have swapped those picks around? :eek:

why did we take Crocker at pick 43 and was there anyone else at around that mark that missed out on?

Pick 45 - Alex Fasolo
Pick 53 - Tom McDonald

and then Tom Ledger at Pick 59. Was very average draft looking back on it.

Just before Crocker was Pick 40 -Luke Parker (spewing he didnt make it to us!)

I was never a massive fan of Polo and I made that fairly obvious. Peake did a decent job of giving us what Lovett was supposed to but at 29 it just wasn't worth trying to work through his deficiencies.

Would be interesting to know what Peake's training was like. Most players that would go for 100m+ runs would go straight to the bench but he barely broke a sweat. Too bad he couldn't kick.

Wish them all the best, particularly Peake and Polo in their post footy lives.

I mentioned once before that I took my son to an Auskick clinic where all the Saints attended. Pretty sure it was the day after a game, and that Brett Peake had played. While all the other Saints were concentrating on "looking cool" he was going crazy, king of the kids, kicking it to space, waiting until all the kids were off after it , then running flat out past them, batting it along. And when he ran, it wasn't just a jog, it was bloody fast. I sort of thought then that , while he might not be a start , he was doing stuff he liked doing. Just a natural athlete I think.

Pick 45 - Alex Fasolo
Pick 53 - Tom McDonald

and then Tom Ledger at Pick 59. Was very average draft looking back on it.

Just before Crocker was Pick 40 -Luke Parker (spewing he didnt make it to us!)

Yet Siposs at 75 (most of the clubs just elevated rookies after that, aside from us - Polo & Gamble)

And there were players in the rookie draft that would have helped with our current issues:
Ruck - Josh Jenkins, Jonathan Giles.
Key Forward - Josh Walker
Tall defender - Cameron Pedersen

Yet Siposs at 75 (most of the clubs just elevated rookies after that, aside from us - Polo & Gamble)

And there were players in the rookie draft that would have helped with our current issues:

Begs the question, are there any like that available this year.
VFL, WAFL, SAFL? Tassie?

I was never a massive fan of Polo and I made that fairly obvious.

For mine, Polo deserved another opportunity as he averaged 17 possessions, 5 marks and 3 tackles a game in 2011.

Many of the younger mids/backs had injuries last year (Ledger, Cripps, Crocker, Winmar, Geary), and we'd completely ballsed up the 2008 and 2009 drafts, so retaining him as backup seemed a reasonable decision. Maybe he was lucky to get one of his 6 games this year (forget which one raised my eyebrow), but otherwise didn't seem to get in the way of an in-form younger player.

Richmond got Tom Derickx for pick 63. They seem to be playing him ahead of Angus Graham now.

For mine, Polo deserved another opportunity as he averaged 17 possessions, 5 marks and 3 tackles a game in 2011.

Many of the younger mids/backs had injuries last year (Ledger, Cripps, Crocker, Winmar, Geary), and we'd completely ballsed up the 2008 and 2009 drafts, so retaining him as backup seemed a reasonable decision. Maybe he was lucky to get one of his 6 games this year (forget which one raised my eyebrow), but otherwise didn't seem to get in the way of an in-form younger player.
The Collingwood game? Most people were surprised to see him come in so late in the season.

He did a good job last year filling in for Lenny, but I would've preferred Armo to play in the middle instead of being a defensive forward. Polo was a typical low risk low reward player that Ross loved. Not his fault he was picked I know, but still frustrating nonetheless.

Begs the question, are there any like that available this year.
VFL, WAFL, SAFL? Tassie?

Has to be numerous options.

The Saints need to stop fiddling with :
- long term development players (Staley/Lever)
- guys who have alot of things to work on (Shenton)
- U/18 guys that you weren't prepared to give a main list spot to (whilst Curren was a good choice, he still isn't a lock to get a main list spot after 2 years).

Need to use our late picks/rookies on guys who have developed considerably since their U/18 days (and look like they are still on an upward curve).

The Collingwood game? Most people were surprised to see him come in so late in the season.

It was probably that one, although in the previous VFL game he had 22 possessions, 9 marks, 4 tackles, and 2 goals.

Has to be numerous options.

The Saints need to stop fiddling with :
- long term development players (Staley/Lever)
- guys who have alot of things to work on (Shenton)
- U/18 guys that you weren't prepared to give a main list spot to (whilst Curren was a good choice, he still isn't a lock to get a main list spot after 2 years).

Need to use our late picks/rookies on guys who have developed considerably since their U/18 days (and look like they are still on an upward curve).

Ben Brown, Kyal Hartigan, Jack Frost, Callum Sinclair all missed the draft for various reasons.