Official Round 8 Changes

• Thread starter Thread starter Gets!

Is Craig unofficially conducting a mini rotation policy, especially with the younger and marginal players?

We often have a player unavailable for a game and then you see them train strongly a couple of days later. Perhaps Craigy is using the fact that we're going well to give the lesser players some game time to make sure it's less daunting for them if and when they have to fill in through genuine necessity.

Other than through sheer desperation and necessity, Stevens won't be there when the whips are really cracking.

Stiffy_18 said:
Everyone who doesn't understand Craig's thinking and structure.

People forget that Stevens was IN the side last week before Bassett withdrew. He was picked in the 18. Knight and Porplyzia were players that came in for Bassett and Bode respectively and its was only indicative that those 2 would come out this week in Bode and Bassett were ready to resume.

This was definetly not a surprise to me. Bassett is at his best as a 3rd tall and why would we "cripple" him. He provides a lot of run from the backline and he is invaluable as a 3rd man up in contests. Stevens is in there for the structure and what it allos us to do with Bassett and quite honestly, I think people just love to bag his game last week for the sake of bagging someone. I thought he was pretty reasonable last week.
No Stiffy he really struggled with the pace ... was caught in between contests all night and frankly jogged around too much for my liking.

I'd like to see a higher % of sprinting than jogging during a game from Stevens....he just doesn't appear to be busting his gut out there.

No problems with his footy brain though

macca23 said:
Is Craig unofficially conducting a mini rotation policy, especially with the younger and marginal players?

We often have a player unavailable for a game and then you see them train strongly a couple of days later. Perhaps Craigy is using the fact that we're going well to give the lesser players some game time to make sure it's less daunting for them if and when they have to fill in through genuine necessity.

Other than through sheer desperation and necessity, Stevens won't be there when the whips are really cracking.
Could be right....don't see Craig giving freebie games away....It must be for height and team balance (he he thought I was going to say structure didn't you :p )

Wayne's-World said:
No Stiffy he really struggled with the pace ... was caught in between contests all night and frankly jogged around too much for my liking.

I'd like to see a higher % of sprinting than jogging during a game from Stevens....he just doesn't appear to be busting his gut out there.

This is a bad week for me WW.

I have to agree with you again!! :eek: ;)

Stevens was reasonable - just. But he didn't look like he was really busting a gut and did struggle a little with the pace of the game. He might pick up the pace a bit this week, with that game under his belt.

He still has TEMPORARY stamped all over his forehead though IMO.

macca23 said:
This is a bad week for me WW.

I have to agree with you again!! :eek: ;)
So your agreeing with me on Kenny and Shirley? ;)

macca23 said:
You had to push the boundaries didn't you!! :D

You're on your own with your strange opininions on those two WW!! :p
:thumbsu: :D

Wayne's-World said:

sorry mate. no offense met but relative to craigys inner workings we dont really have much idea

relative to most supporters we are all (well some of us) einsteins :thumbsu:

My gut feeling Stevens is picked as Bassett won't play again. I reckon it is the same story as last week. Craig is foxing & a small will come in for the Hound. The selection committee have always been cautious not to pick players less than 100%. Considering our depth, this is the way to go.

Gets! said:
Who would come in for Bass Kane?

Knights was the one who came in for him last week.
Porplyzia if he pulled up OK from last week, otherwise Knights IMO.

meh

I can't see what stevens isn't staying in - helps the structure gives the guy a chance to prove that he isn't a complete dud - maybe he will have a chat to Doughty, Shirley, Rutten, Bock, Perrie, Reilly,Kenny etc etc to get some idea how to turn things about after being labelled a dud :thumbsu:

DaveW said:
Perhaps with Perrie and Bock out of the side, Craig is using our soft draw to try and mold Stevens into the KPP our structure presently lacks.

Still a dangerous move though - carrying a passenger with competition for spots so hot.

Why try and mould Stevens into a KPP, been there done that. Wouldn't he be better off playing Biglands as a key forward and bringing Maric in to share the ruck duties. Biggles is now capable of kicking a coupleevery game and also hurts the oppositions backman, literally.

SpringChoke said:
Why try and mould Stevens into a KPP, been there done that. Wouldn't he be better off playing Biglands as a key forward and bringing Maric in to share the ruck duties. Biggles is now capable of kicking a coupleevery game and also hurts the oppositions backman, literally.
Agreed

That is the better future option...unless Scotty pulls something out his a hole and makes us look like gooses. I would like that to happen, I just cant see it

Not too happy with Stevens playing, regardless of what Stiffy says I think it was a suprise he was retained.

I will reserve my complete judgement until the final 22 is named on game day.

Wayne's-World said:

Could not agree more WW.

I too was frustrated with his ability to give his opponent many metres when initially his player was right next to him.

Those photos must have been bad!!!!!!

Craigy boy said last week he wanted to know more about Stevens, well he found out a bit against the Kangaroos, and I expect he'll find out a bit more of the same against Richmond.

Stevens isn't the worst player in the world when he's in AFL form/match condition, I remember some of his games, but he's nothing worth getting our hopes up over!

Not trying to bag Stevens, and Craigy seems to have an amazing talent for getting the best out of every player on the list but I don't think Craig will find what he's after in Stevens.

I guess time will tell, another ordinary game and he'll be dropped, not to return, I'd imagine.

Stephen2 said:
Craigy boy said last week he wanted to know more about Stevens, well he found out a bit against the Kangaroos, and I expect he'll find out a bit more of the same against Richmond.

I guess time will tell, another ordinary game and he'll be dropped, not to return, I'd imagine.
Is that Craigs way of saying ''look these teams players you stand on should be a doddle for an AFL player with x amount of years experience'' ie screw it up your gone

Hopefully Stevens can demonstrate why we should want him in the side this week.

Last week 5 touches in 100% game time, and from what I saw playing behind his player who appeared to be one of the Roos best in the first half, certainly hasn't got me thinking he has any talent.