Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Usually directed at non Victorian players / coaches.

In all cases with them, but it seems to have been asked of most of his guests this year.

Mike is hiding a big regret and is waiting for someone to openly say one worse so he doesn't look as bad.

Well I enjoyed Kozi's. Interesting hearing him say he didn't do much media because he didn't think he was a good enough footballer to be entitled to an opinion. Seems quite harsh on himself.

I was watching it with a mate and he nearly word for word echoed your thoughts.

Yeah that was pretty good. Honesty round lol. Also Blight never being there half the time and that Lyon would be the sort of person to try and get into his office at 4AM.
Him saying he'd see Blight 3 days a week was staggering.

Also liked Kozi saying he was being paid for the interview. Didn't seem like Mike wanted that cat out of the bag.
Thought that was hilarious. There was just a little awkward pause at the end of it which made it even better.

Didn't actually mind it, he was very honest and accurate in his view of himself. Can't ask for more than that.

Haven't seen it yet, but I always thought Koschitzke was a good one for a pretty blunt self-assessment. I remember he was coming up for some milestone (probably 150 games or 10 years at the club) and he did a newspaper interview where he basically labelled himself as a disappointment. It went a fair way beyond false modesty, especially when you consider that around the time (2009ish), he was probably playing some of the best footy of his career.

I guess coming from the same draft as Riewoldt (and going as back-to-back picks) wouldn't have helped, despite them being pretty much best friends, as I recall. A bit of a Pavlich/Hasleby thing, where the guy who really had a very good career (200 games is nothing to sneeze at, whether you look at it from a St Kilda perspective - 28th most of all time, or from a 2000 draft perspective - the first round was a shambles, Riewoldt, Koschitzke, Didak, S.Burgoyne and S.Thompson aside) is unfairly measured against one of the best players of his generation, simply because they were drafted in the same year.

I thought it was poor, he wasn't very articulate and didn't offer much. For a bloke who calls himself an ordinary player and is reluctant to criticise, I would therefore expect his work on radio is nothing special.

Seems like a decent guy though, just not great interview material.

I thought it was poor, he wasn't very articulate and didn't offer much. For a bloke who calls himself an ordinary player and is reluctant to criticise, I would therefore expect his work on radio is nothing special.

Seems like a decent guy though, just not great interview material.
Thank you, you said what I was about too.

His commentary would be pretty bland the way he speaks.

In terms of future guests, it was mentioned a few weeks ago on AFL360 that John Worsfold was at the Foxfooty studios. Hopefully he sat down with Mike
If he has done an interview on Open Mike I'm sure that will be a fantastic watch and would surely deserve an hour to get through all the issues he's had to deal with both in and out of the club. When he's able to open up and relax he's generally very witty and a great person as well.

Enjoyed that, comes across as a good honest guy. No earth shattering revelations or anything like that though.

I never knew he wore 24 in his debut year!

Voss interview was close to the worst Open Mike..... No real answers and not much on his playing career

Geez...just watched it and couldn't disagree more. Thought he was fantastic.

Some of his answers to Mike's questions about his coaching seemed like corprobabble.

Also had to laugh when he said something like "One of the things people don't mention when they're talking about how good I was is.."

That's not really what he said. I don't have the exact quote, but it was along the lines of one of his achievements that is often overlooked, that he was actually most proud of, was making AA in 1999, while still recovering from his broken leg. Seems fair enough in the context of, to outsiders, they'd probably just look at it as yet another Voss AA, but from his own perspective, it's the one that he worked the hardest to get.

Loved the Kozi interview. Sold himself way too short. Was a very good player for a while there.
I watched the Tuddenham one again the other day and I reckon he came across worse than I first thought, it that was at all possible. absolute arseh*le.