Open Mike

• Thread starter Thread starter BigVic

Loved the Kozi interview. Sold himself way too short. Was a very good player for a while there.
I watched the Tuddenham one again the other day and I reckon he came across worse than I first thought, it that was at all possible. absolute arseh*le.
He really should have just answered that question Mike put to him at the end. TBH I would think more of him if he had just owned it. He could still defend his character whilst admitting he stuffed up.

I didn't actually mind the Tuddenham interview, sometimes it's refreshing to hear a guy talk plainly about the way he thinks. I think his answer at the end was fair enough. Again I would have liked a bit more footy focus, what players were paid and offered is of some interest but maybe belongs in an hour show.

Increasingly I'm finding Mike condescending to many of the guests, maybe he is a little confused about who exactly is meant to be the star of these episodes.

Looking forward to Monday's Open Mike with WA football legend Mal Brown. A must watch for all WA footy fans.

I look forward to all the questions about the blokes he hit and about Campbell.

What a disgraceful interview with Mal Brown, he played 210 games of WAFL an it was not even mentioned his career in WA yet Mike could not get enough talking about 14 games in the VFL.
Can't believe these guys sit in front of Mike and put up with this crap. Brown should of king hit Mike!!!
As soon as Brown said todays game is crap Mike changed the subject.
What could of been a great interview was just shit.

What a disgraceful interview with Mal Brown, he played 210 games of WAFL an it was not even mentioned his career in WA yet Mike could not get enough talking about 14 games in the VFL.
Can't believe these guys sit in front of Mike and put up with this crap. Brown should of king hit Mike!!!
I agree with you, over the past few months I've put as much work as possible into learning about the SANFL and the WAFL because really, it's a part of Aussie rules history as much as the VFL is. I think you need to appreciate for Mike that it'd be hard for him to interview Mal about the WAFL because there's probably very little he knows about it. He should put the effort in to learn before he interviews them.

Then stop interviewing WAFL players. Mal Browns VFL career was shorter than Tom Swifts.

Yet somehow we still had an entertaining half hour interview where his WAFL career was barely mentioned. Go figure.

Why are you surprised ? You should know how an interview with an inter-stater plays out

Mike " I hear that before you started your football career with ( insert VFL team here ), You actually were playing football outside of Victoria.

Inter-stater " That's correct Mike "

Mike " How is that even possible ?"

Exploding-head.gif

Journalism fail one.

Mal Brown's time playing and coaching in WA is the heart and soul of his story. There is a very rich history coaching against John Todd and other legends.

If Sheahan can't deal with a national audience and a national story then get off a national channel. Go back to writing articles in a photocopied guide to the Trugo.

There were so many anecdotes from his WAFL coaching period... (like the time he ran off the bench and shoved a St John Ambulance volunteer off his feet because the guy was obscuring his view of the game). And good anecdotes too.

You totally missed the story Mike. Your whole interview was like an homage to that famous Scottish headline after the Titanic sank, "Inverness Man Lost at Sea!"

To judge by Sheahan's parochial behaviour you would guess that Melbourne was a minute speck on the map with a servo, a pub and a gigantic chip on its shoulder.

Journalism fail two.

How can he not utter the name "Stephen Michael" in an interview with Mal Brown???

Journalism fail three.

It sickened me that Sheahan asked him virtually nothing about his involvement with aboriginal players in WA footy - forging friendships in the 60s with Aboriginal players in a time when it was not socially acceptable... to nurturing and developing countless Aboriginal stars like Rioli, Vigona, Campbell, Michael. He is responsible for some of those guy's careers. In no small way he played a role in the advancement of Aboriginal stars in the game nationally.

And all at a time when many Victorian clubs wouldn't have let those players set foot in their clubs. I sickens me to see Sheahan laud others who have done much less.... much later in the piece.... who maintained racism and division long after Mal Brown led an integrated team to a WAFL premiership.

It is hypocrisy of the highest order and ....

.... and you need to think about what you stand for as a journalist..... Sheahan.

And how did they not play the song, "Malcolm Brown: the fattest man on the ground!"???

That is the song they should play at the grand final instead of the national anthem.

How can he not utter the name "Stephen Michael" in an interview with Mal Brown?

Because he probably has no idea who he is even if he is in the AFHOF and AFL Indigenous TOTC.

Also the greatest player to ever play the game according to my old man.

I might be a West Perth supporter but growing up, TI was my hero.

When I was about 8 or 9, he was a few rows back from me on a flight to Sydney. I kept turning around to look at him. He caught me out a few times and started playing peek a boo from behind his seat. To bad I was too chicken to go up and get his autograph.

Actually found this episode amusing but that's what you get when you have Mal Brown.
Mike is actually pretty good to listen to as is his son Tony who some of you might follow on social media.
Sure some of you mightn't like Mike Sheahan - I actually think he adds value to FoxFooty.
All of his guests have been interesting to listen to being interviewed by Mike.
And how did they not play the song, "Malcolm Brown: the fattest man on the ground!"???

That is the song they should play at the grand final instead of the national anthem.
Personally you sound like you have a gripe against Mal Brown.

Actually found this episode amusing but that's what you get when you have Mal Brown.
Mike is actually pretty good to listen to as is his son Tony who some of you might follow on social media.
Sure some of you mightn't like Mike Sheahan - I actually think he adds value to FoxFooty.
All of his guests have been interesting to listen to being interviewed by Mike.

Personally you sound like you have a gripe against Mal Brown.

Comprehension fail.

Maybe I was watching a different interview, but I thought his career in WA got a reasonable mention.

For a bloke with as long and storied history in the game like Mal Brown, it is hard to fit it all into half an hour.

Aside from the fact he packed more into a 14 game VFL career than some blokes do into 214.

I can see what you're all saying but I still found the interview to be quite engaging. Best one I've seen for a while.

Thought it was the definition of "puff piece". Learnt nothing new, aside from the fact that Mal hasn't updated his wardrobe in 40 years.

Journalism fail one.

Mal Brown's time playing and coaching in WA is the heart and soul of his story. There is a very rich history coaching against John Todd and other legends.

If Sheahan can't deal with a national audience and a national story then get off a national channel. Go back to writing articles in a photocopied guide to the Trugo.

There were so many anecdotes from his WAFL coaching period... (like the time he ran off the bench and shoved a St John Ambulance volunteer off his feet because the guy was obscuring his view of the game). And good anecdotes too.

You totally missed the story Mike. Your whole interview was like an homage to that famous Scottish headline after the Titanic sank, "Inverness Man Lost at Sea!"

To judge by Sheahan's parochial behaviour you would guess that Melbourne was a minute speck on the map with a servo, a pub and a gigantic chip on its shoulder.

Journalism fail two.

How can he not utter the name "Stephen Michael" in an interview with Mal Brown???

Journalism fail three.

It sickened me that Sheahan asked him virtually nothing about his involvement with aboriginal players in WA footy - forging friendships in the 60s with Aboriginal players in a time when it was not socially acceptable... to nurturing and developing countless Aboriginal stars like Rioli, Vigona, Campbell, Michael. He is responsible for some of those guy's careers. In no small way he played a role in the advancement of Aboriginal stars in the game nationally.

And all at a time when many Victorian clubs wouldn't have let those players set foot in their clubs. I sickens me to see Sheahan laud others who have done much less.... much later in the piece.... who maintained racism and division long after Mal Brown led an integrated team to a WAFL premiership.

It is hypocrisy of the highest order and ....

.... and you need to think about what you stand for as a journalist..... Sheahan.
You beat me too the punch Basashi and I agree whole heartedly with all that you have wrote!
I was looking forward to this Open Mike as Mal Brown has a lifetime full of incredible stories but was left bitterly dissappointed by Sheahan's meek effort to divulge.
Just a couple of more points on Browny completely missed by that Victorian buffoon Sheahan were....
-He was also solely responsible for getting the amazing Krakouer brothers to Claremont from the country town Mount Barker.
-He gave a 17yo Nicky Winmar his first League game at SF in 1983.
-He was solely responsible for the introduction of the Interchange rule when he ordered Claremont's John Colreavy back onto the ground in 1976 after he had already left the field.
-He was suspended from coaching SF on the ground in the 70's so he thought of a way around the technicalities and organised a cherry picker to lift him to the huddles at the breaks but still not setting foot on the ground.
-The day in 1986 when coach of Perth when he pulled the Reserves off the ground after the Farmer brothers were involved in a scuffle with an umpire & then at qtr time of the League game that same day when a Channel 7 reporter approached him he ripped the microphone out of his hand broke it in half and threw it in the nearest bin.
-The day he lost a bet in the early 80's with John Todd over their respective clash on the weekend and had to walk down the Hay St Mall in a leopard print bikini.
-In 1992 when Browny made a comeback to coaching at SF he got them into the GF and proceeded to take a big right hook air swing at EF player Damian Condon at atr time after SF player Jason Spinks was knocked out behind the play.

And the stories go on and on and on......unfortunately all Sheahan cared about was his 14 games in 74.
For those Vics who actually care about the history of Aussie Rules Footy not just the VFL part Browny was a bloody good footballer in his prime and a very influential coach over 20 odd years it is just a pity Sheahan didnt put in some research to bring this to the viewers. :rolleyes:

He was also part of the WAFL study tour of the USA that first recommended the 50m arc and names on jumpers.