No Oppo Supporters OPPOSITION OBSERVATION XLII

• Thread starter Thread starter Truetiger

Just piss gold coast off to Tasmania... Tassie team is the sacrificial lamb by the AFL, only if you do this that and the other... so they can say "see we don't need to expand in Tassie
Why would you piss the Gold Coast off? Massive inroads are happening at grass roots level. Game is growing

They'd still have a healthy membership 3,4 or 5'years in. Granted they'd probably never be as big as West Coast Adelaide or the big Vic clubs, but they pull healthy crowds.
I agree, have a mate from Byrne who has been a diehard north fan. But will give them away for tassie, and so too lots of other ex tas wegians

AFL definitely praying this stadium doesn't go through, don't think they ever wanted a Tassie team hence the ridiculous stadium request that they will only barely help fund.
How embarrassing for the cfl Tassie winning a flag before both plastic franchises

Agreed, but the years of concern I'd be looking at are after 3-4 years when the novelty dies off. Again, I want to be wrong.
Would be wrong if only the tassie government can play nice lol.

I hope Tassie get their stadium built and the team gets the go ahead.
I have worked in design and construction all my working life and the thing that amazes me is that the government has costed the stadium at just under $1B, why is no-one questioning that cost. As soon as a politician gets elected, they stop counting the zero's. This stadium will get used once a week maximum and seat 20k people maximum. They need to set the budget at $0.5B and put it out to the market. Look for private industry innovation. Look at the grandstands used at the grand prix they get used for one week then are stored away. Could they be used for both the race and the Tasmanian stadium. The roof structure will be expensive but everything else should be the cheapest option that will work.

Tassie was/is never going to happen. The AFL put stringent terms around the inclusion to ensure it didn’t. It then stops all the bleating around the expansion clubs and should have went to Tassie first. AFL don’t want 19 teams there is no benefit to a 19th team.
Correct.

But there's a massive benefit to having 20 teams. One extra match every weekend means 11% extra TV revenue.

Eg. Suddenly Channel 7 get a Saturday game back.

A Tassie footy trip would be cool.

Hope Benny,Jack,Royce,Richo get their Tassie dream realised.

Tassie really shoulda had a team when the VFL began.

So much talent from the apple isle.

Just piss gold coast off to Tasmania... Tassie team is the sacrificial lamb by the AFL, only if you do this that and the other... so they can say "see we don't need to expand in Tassie
Tassie would rather no side then a relocation one.

I hope Tassie get their stadium built and the team gets the go ahead.

I feel the AFL has set this up to fail.
It wasn't their idea. This Tassie push came from a groundswell of community support.
So AFL puts a ridiculous condition on it (roofed stadium) with a massive cost.
Big chunk of Tassie non footy people think it's stupid waste of money building this for such a small population.

You reckon the AFL is on the nose with the average footy punter? If this gets knocked back there'll be a riot directed at HQ.
Comparison with GC and the plastics and their never ending funding versus a true footy state.

Compromise AFL, FFS listen to your constituents for once.

It wasn't their idea. This Tassie push came from a groundswell of community support.
Big chunk of Tassie non footy people think it's stupid waste of money building this for such a small population.

You reckon the AFL is on the nose with the average footy punter? If this gets knocked back there'll be a riot directed at HQ.
Comparison with GC and the plastics and their never ending funding versus a true footy state.

I think the fact the AFL is only willing to contribute 15mill to the stadium, with the condition of the roof (and like you said compared to the two other plastic clubs), says a lot.

AFL should be to blame, but aren't.

I don't remember this level of passion or commitment when GWS or GC were introduced, and I think it's great to see from Tasmania. I think the estimated cost of the stadium was well below what it would come in at though (I reckon $1.2B), would be interested to know what the afl paid on recent stadium purchases compared to what their chipping in for this.

I think the fact the AFL is only willing to contribute 15mill to the stadium, with the condition of the roof (and like you said compared to the two other plastic clubs), says a lot.

AFL should be to blame, but aren't.
And that's the thing. The AFL are willing to put virtually nothing in but demanding a boutique roofed stadium putting all the debt onto the Tasmanian government/taxpayer.
Once the stadium is finished and a Tassie team up and running they will then have no qualms about reaping in the profits.

It's all politics though. Jaquii Lambie is pro AFL team but anti stadium, cos she is from Burnie, North Tas.she wants half the home games played a York Park Launceston and the other half played at Bellerive, Hobart.
The stadium is sort of a side issue, the main reason for a vote of no confidence is last week's budget that proposes selling off state assets and cutting funding to services whilst putting us in more debt.
The Tasmanian Labor party is also pro stadium but need the Greens if they were to form government and the Greens are very much anti stadium.

So all in all a bit of a shit show.

And that's the thing. The AFL are willing to put virtually nothing in but demanding a boutique roofed stadium putting all the debt onto the Tasmanian government/taxpayer.
Once the stadium is finished and a Tassie team up and running they will then have no qualms about reaping in the profits.
the cfl want to buy the stadium for $1 in a decade or 2 like docklands

It's all politics though. Jaquii Lambie is pro AFL team but anti stadium, cos she is from Burnie, North Tas.she wants half the home games played a York Park Launceston and the other half played at Bellerive, Hobart.
The stadium is sort of a side issue, the main reason for a vote of no confidence is last week's budget that proposes selling off state assets and cutting funding to services whilst putting us in more debt.
The Tasmanian Labor party is also pro stadium but need the Greens if they were to form government and the Greens are very much anti stadium.

STICK THE STADIUM UP YOUR ARSE !!!!

If it was Victoria, Jacinta would just build it and it would blow out to $2.5 billion and add a railway line at $40 billion.
And then she'd introduce another property tax, increase the fire services levy (again) and tax citizens for using the footpaths.
Debt? Who cares.

If it was Victoria, Jacinta would just build it and it would blow out to $2.5 billion and add a railway line at $40 billion.
And then she'd introduce another property tax, increase the fire services levy (again) and tax citizens for using the footpaths.
Debt? Who cares.
And use the most expensive products in the world to paint it all in a pride flag

Stop making sense.
I hate agreeing with you ;)