OT: Where Do You Work???

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

I work as a Green Keeper at a leading Golf club.
Hey me too!

"I smell varmint poontang. And the only good varmint poontang is dead varmint poontang, I think."

"This crowd has gone deadly silent, a Cinderella story outta nowhere. Former greenskeeper and now about to become the masters champion ... He's on his final hole. He's about 455 yards away, he's gonna hit about a 2 iron I think ... IT'S IN THE HOLE!"

Ty Webb: Let me tell you a little story? I once knew a guy who could have been a great golfer, could have gone pro, all he needed was a little time and practice. Decided to go to college instead. Went for four years, did pretty well. At the end of his four years, his last semester he was kicked out ... You know what for? He was night putting, just putting at night with the 15-year-old daughter of the Dean ... You know who that guy was Danny?
Danny Noonan: No.
Ty Webb: Take one good guess.
Danny Noonan: Bob Hope?
Ty Webb: Ha ha ... No, that guy was Mitch Comstein, my roommate. He was a good guy.

just finished a traineeship, got myself Certificate III in Business.

now bumming around for 5 weeks then off to work/live in the UK for at least 12 months, maybe permanent if i like it.

gonna try my hand at playing aussie rules footy, been in contact with a club and they want me to play for them! :D (very desperate for any aussies they can get!!)

I'm off to the UK soon as well...I'm thinking of playing Aussie rules while I'm there too...I can see it now, the poms fumbling around and then I take a footy out there and they're like "OMG, look!! He BOUNCED THE BALL!! Wtf how did you do that?!"

Yeah I have come to the conclusion that UNI is not for me and I will look at the blue collar industry.

I have narrowed it down to two chief or electrician
Mate UNI is not hard. It just required a bit of effort.

But getting a good trade can be just as rewarding.

Chief???

I assume you mean chef. If so, a word from the wise, expect very long hours, pretty average pay and stress levels that are insane. Otherwise its a good job, the amount of times the head chef at my old establishment came in off his nutter (Ben Cousins would have nothing on him) and created some awesome concoction was just insane. It's fun, but there really is truth in the old saying If you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen. I suggest the sparky is the way to go.

Chief???

I assume you mean chef. If so, a word from the wise, expect very long hours, pretty average pay and stress levels that are insane. Otherwise its a good job, the amount of times the head chef at my old establishment came in off his nutter (Ben Cousins would have nothing on him) and created some awesome concoction was just insane. It's fun, but there really is truth in the old saying If you can't take the heat, get out of the kitchen. I suggest the sparky is the way to go.

OMG (yes chef) :( :o

I have heard that it has very long hour and basically crap money (for the first few years) but the benefit of being able to travel and work overseas is appealing to me.

Mate UNI is not hard. It just required a bit of effort.

But getting a good trade can be just as rewarding.

Putting in the effort is not a hassle as I got a TER score of 88 so I have the ability to get the grades and do the work. I just don’t like the culture of university life and four more years of solid study is not appealing ATM.

I would be very happy to win Powerball and retire. :cool: :D

OMG (yes chef) :( :o

I have heard that it has very long hour and basically crap money (for the first few years) but the benefit of being able to travel and work overseas is appealing to me.
Definately agree with that. Opportunities are endless. Uni is great, but if you don't want to be there, then it really is of no use. I have finished 2 years, after not taking a gap year, and my brain is well and truly ****ed. I decided to defer and go travelling, having the qualis as a chef basically means that I can work anywhere to fund whatever I need to (mainly QPR methinks, quite expnsv tbh). Good luck with whatever you decide to do, but FFS you're young, if you decide in 5 years it's not what you want, you're like 23 or what not and can start afresh, such is life. :thumbsu:

Putting in the effort is not a hassle as I got a TER score of 88 so I have the ability to get the grades and do the work. I just don’t like the culture of university life and four more years of solid study is not appealing ATM.

I would be very happy to win Powerball and retire. :cool: :D
Full time study is not for everyone and you should choose what you think you are best suited at.
Ever thought of working and studying part time by correspondance?
It requires a mature attitude to make sure you allocate enough time for study plus to make sure you only set short term goals rather than long term ones.
The plus side is that you work, earn money, do all the other things that your working mates do, for the loss of only a couple of hours per week to further yourself.
When you finish you will also have work experience behind you to help find a good job.

PS not saying anything against any career etc asI MO they are both good choices, just throwing in another option.

Definately agree with that. Opportunities are endless. Uni is great, but if you don't want to be there, then it really is of no use. I have finished 2 years, after not taking a gap year, and my brain is well and truly ****ed. I decided to defer and go travelling, having the qualis as a chef basically means that I can work anywhere to fund whatever I need to (mainly QPR methinks, quite expnsv tbh). Good luck with whatever you decide to do, but FFS you're young, if you decide in 5 years it's not what you want, you're like 23 or what not and can start afresh, such is life. :thumbsu:

Thanks

You are correct; I am young and have plenty of time but ATM I have no ****ing idea what I want to do for the next 50 years and my mum is busting my nuts (metaphorically) to make a decision

SATAC enrolment isn’t until October or November so I have a bit of time. FFS I couldn’t even spell chef so it couldn’t be that important to me.

Full time study is not for everyone and you should choose what you think you are best suited at.
It requires a mature attitude to make sure you allocate enough time for study plus to make sure you only set short term goals rather than long term ones.
The plus side is that you work, earn money, do all the other things that your working mates do, for the loss of only a couple of hours per week to further yourself.
When you finish you will also have work experience behind you to help find a good job.

PS not saying anything against any career etc asI MO they are both good choices, just throwing in another option.

What do you mean ? ?

I am a methodical kind of person where if I have to many things on the go, everything I have to do gets half done rather prioritising and finishing the most important things on the list.

If I decided to go to Uni I would make sure I had a full time study load so I could focus on that at the time (work part time as well as Big W) but my primary objective would be Uni. So correspondence and working part time is not an option for me.

Yeah I have come to the conclusion that UNI is not for me and I will look at the blue collar industry.

Chief?
sitting bull or geronimo?

seriously, I know a lot of Chef's, and it's only for you if you have a real passion for it. stupid long hours, not much pay etc... great if you make it, but not many do...

what I would say, as someone with more letters to his name than a scrabble board, and an avowed corporate scum bag, is that you should do what you want to do.

you can work for money, or you can work for the love of the job. either is ok, just make sure you get at least one of them. Have seen many people who neither like their job, nor get paid very well to do it.

the people who make the most money, are the ones who do jobs or start businesses they care about. or they go into investment banking :D

Honestly? I would never do that (again).

he's young, so he doesn't have a lifestyle to maintain - always go fulltime and get it out the way. if you can.

According to my single parents pension form, I don't work. I never declare what I earn on the streets. :)

Seriously though, I just started work for one of the "big 4" banks, ironically with the same initials as myself, and am enjoying it thus far. Starting a new job is stressful, and I'm buggered from working full-time and being a single parent to 2 very busy sons.