OT: Where Do You Work???

• Thread starter Thread starter maccas_no1

Chief?
sitting bull or geronimo?

seriously, I know a lot of Chef's, and it's only for you if you have a real passion for it. stupid long hours, not much pay etc... great if you make it, but not many do...

what I would say, as someone with more letters to his name than a scrabble board, and an avowed corporate scum bag, is that you should do what you want to do.

you can work for money, or you can work for the love of the job. either is ok, just make sure you get at least one of them. Have seen many people who neither like their job, nor get paid very well to do it.

the people who make the most money, are the ones who do jobs or start businesses they care about. or they go into investment banking :D

Well my mum said E Commerce or international business management.

According to my single parents pension form, I don't work. I never declare what I earn on the streets. :)

Seriously though, I just started work for one of the "big 4" banks, ironically with the same initials as myself, and am enjoying it thus far. Starting a new job is stressful, and I'm buggered from working full-time and being a single parent to 2 very busy sons.

the old big 4 - (me too)
hopefully they keep you on even though your a feral :D

Chief?

seriously, I know a lot of Chef's, and it's only for you if you have a real passion for it. stupid long hours, not much pay etc... great if you make it, but not many do...

what I would say, as someone with more letters to his name than a scrabble board, and an avowed corporate scum bag, is that you should do what you want to do.

you can work for money, or you can work for the love of the job. either is ok, just make sure you get at least one of them. Have seen many people who neither like their job, nor get paid very well to do it.

the people who make the most money, are the ones who do jobs or start businesses they care about. or they go into investment banking :D

:thumbsu:

Seriously though, I just started work for one of the "big 4" banks, ironically with the same initials as myself, and am enjoying it thus far. Starting a new job is stressful, and I'm buggered from working full-time and being a single parent to 2 very busy sons.
i work for one of the big 4 banks, i hope you aren't that new girl i'm training :p

SATAC enrolment isn’t until October or November so I have a bit of time. FFS I couldn’t even spell chef so it couldn’t be that important to me.
Simple answer is tell your mum a white lie. You plan to enrol in uni next year, should buy you a few months at least, if something should crop up between now and then, you can only be better off. If your mother is your only worry you're laughing. :) There is nothing wrong with job hopping, I plan on doing it when I come back, loyalty to a profession is pretty much dead and gone, and like I said before, doing something now, doesn't mean you will do that for the next 20 years, it's easy enough to chenge, pick up new skills, go back to studying at uni, tafe, tradies, the options are endless.

What do you mean ? ?

I am a methodical kind of person where if I have to many things on the go, everything I have to do gets half done rather prioritising and finishing the most important things on the list.

If I decided to go to Uni I would make sure I had a full time study load so I could focus on that at the time (work part time as well as Big W) but my primary objective would be Uni. So correspondence and working part time is not an option for me.

Honestly? I would never do that (again).

he's young, so he doesn't have a lifestyle to maintain - always go fulltime and get it out the way. if you can.

Just throwing another hat into the ring as usually younger people do not necessarily realise that there are so many options available.
Over the years I have seen people take the various options and what might work for one person does not necessarily work for another.
At the end of the day it's just a matter of choosing what one thinks is the best option for himself/herself but no ideas should be discounted when weighing up the options.

Chief?

No - Big Footy

What I really wanted to do and I guess this more than likely took the attraction out of university life was to do law.

Ending year 12 with a TER score of 88 is far to low for that course but I had a plan of doing some crap course (marketing or business) and then trying to transfer after the first year. I can dream.

What do you do with the enormity of letters after your name?

I work in a hell hole and listen to people from all over South Australia whinge all day. As well as putting up with b**ching in the office. Pays well for my age but had enough anyone who wants to save me I'll be forever in your debt. LOL

KG is that you?

You don't work for Telstra do you ? :)

Simple answer is tell your mum a white lie. You plan to enrol in uni next year, should buy you a few months at least, if something should crop up between now and then, you can only be better off. If your mother is your only worry you're laughing. :) There is nothing wrong with job hopping, I plan on doing it when I come back, loyalty to a profession is pretty much dead and gone, and like I said before, doing something now, doesn't mean you will do that for the next 20 years, it's easy enough to chenge, pick up new skills, go back to studying at uni, tafe, tradies, the options are endless.

You make a lot (A LOT) of sense but deep down I know what direction I want to head in and what I need to do but psychologically to afraid to fail so that’s why I am not realistically giving it my full attention.

You don't work for Telstra do you ? :)

I get phone calls every so often at work from people that think it is telstra :eek: I think my number is fairly close to one of their helpdesk numbers. I did help a lovely lady more than the telstra big pond helpdesk was going to, advised her to use a different company :o

So do I …..Big W :eek: Pay is **** but. :mad:

I get phone calls every so often at work from people that think it is telstra :eek: I think my number is fairly close to one of their helpdesk numbers. I did help a lovely lady more than the telstra big pond helpdesk was going to, advised her to use a different company :o

LOL. I think they are all the same unfortunately Nikki. :(

What I really wanted to do and I guess this more than likely took the attraction out of university life was to do law.
Is that so you could defend yourself after Showdown mishaps?

Investment banking isn't all its cracked up to be. Yeah $80,000 straight out of uni but 100 hour weeks? When you work out the usual IB salary after tax/super/HECS, divided by the number of hours you need to work, you earn about $11/hr.
I'm a uni student also. 5th year law, finishing at the end of 2008. :( I feel like running away overseas from it. Oh but wait, i did that last year. ha ha.

Are you serious? i never worked as an investment banker in australia..but here in Europe, you get paid a fortune.Try Switzerland, i am on a juicy salary and enjoying my life over here :cool:

Well my mum said E Commerce or international business management.

both sound like useless degrees to me.

international business - that doesn't sound like it equips you for anything.
E-commerce - fine if you're a programmer, but what exactly is e-commerce? obviously we know broadly, but as far as something to teach?

Are you serious? i never worked as an investment banker in australia..but here in Europe, you get paid a fortune.Try Switzerland, i am on a juicy salary and enjoying my life over here :cool:

The culture of the country hasn’t rubbed off on you TP?

You couldn’t stay neutral :D

No - Big Footy

Ending year 12 with a TER score of 88 is far to low for that course but I had a plan of doing some crap course (marketing or business) and then trying to transfer after the first year. I can dream.

is it any easier interstate or overseas? I know some real idiots who have law degrees, so there must be options :D

What do you do with the enormity of letters after your name?

print on both sides of the business card ;)

Investment banking isn't all its cracked up to be. Yeah $80,000 straight out of uni but 100 hour weeks? When you work out the usual IB salary after tax/super/HECS, divided by the number of hours you need to work, you earn about $11/hr.

got knocked back by mac bank huh? :p

Gotta say that I kinda 'fell' into my job - actually started out doing another job, (desktop publishing for a design company) then got the opportunity to do some Uni study, left that once the government started sacking people and I knew I wasn't going to get a job easily and ended up taking leave of absence. I think they may have figured out by now that I'm not coming back... I then started doing admin work at a Uni, then admin but in a fairly specific area, a little bit of travel, some work interstate and overseas and back here and now have a job that I just love.

How many of you actually have the job that you thought you wanted / had to focus on during high school?

I know I don't as I'm not digging up bones for living :p Although if I go back to primary school I wanted to be a fireman.:eek: