Reveler

Liverpool, Chicago, 49ers
Why is it that when the game is in the balance and the opposition scores a goal the cheer squad doesn't even attempt to start a chant or anything, they just sit there looking disappointed.

Subi end we had about 3 people who wanted to get the crowd going yet our "Cheer" Squad were nowhere to be seen.. Bunch of ****ters.

code of conduct that says you must not cheer after an opposition goal?

my bowel movements make more noise than that.

Why is it that when the game is in the balance and the opposition scores a goal the cheer squad doesn't even attempt to start a chant or anything, they just sit there looking disappointed.

Subi end we had about 3 people who wanted to get the crowd going yet our "Cheer" Squad were nowhere to be seen.. Bunch of ****ters.

really... i didn't see them, where were they sitting? but the rest of the crowd was bloody awesome.

Never mind the cheer squad, what about all the tools giving a standing ovation WHEN WE LOST!

Boggles the mind.

It was a standing ovation for a great performance. Think about this... besides from Port Adelaide beating Geelong in round 21 last year, that performance was the closest (1point) to any team beating geelong since about round 6 last year. so yeah we lost, but it is against the reigning premier, the team dubbed to be this year's premier and the team which many are saying is the best team since the Brisbane three-peat squad.

so the standing ovation was for the crowd to show there respect at a great perfromance and to stick it to the media who said we booed our players after the richmond game, even though everyone at the game knew we were boing the umpires off the field not the boys.

Well done freo, just play like that for the rest of the year.

Ok, I'm in the cheersquad and I agree with what you said. I'm over trying to get the bloody idiots who sit in there cheering, who just sit there looking at me like I'm a complete idiot. Absolutely and utterly over it. A majority of them say nothing the whole game.

The drums got banned after the away derby in 06, as a few WC supporters were complaining about the noise they made, so they got taken off of us. Actually, we got to keep them for the rest of the season but since then, they have been banned due to noise (poor diddums).

And yes, we're not allowed to drink, swear or abuse the umpires, or any players, but it didn't stop some people. I had to be restrained last home game (Richmond) because some stupid bitch (she drives everyone nuts) called Peake ******ed.

There's only so much the people who actually cheer can do. I'm sick of being the one to start chants, to just get stared at like I'm from another planet.

Shibz, I'm sure I heard drums at the last WC game (maybe even in the derby).

Maybe you need to meet and greet, find out who the key people are, and mutiny. Something really needs to happen, because if ever it was to fire up, it was last night and it was pathetic. We can look down at the cheer squad from where we sit, and they looked like stunned mullets for half the game. I blame corporate sponsorship. There was a guy in the tier above you who had his entire block organised, and they were really yelling, clapping etc.

The biggest fight I ever had at a game of footy was a yelling match with the Vic cheersquad. We sat near them, thinking we'd add our voices to theirs... well, you weren't allowed to cheer when you wanted to, or clap randomly... unbelievable.

Cheer squads are bizarre.

Most of the people who sit in there are bloody kids (who surprisingly make no noise, or just sit there whinging the whole time), whose parents sit there with them to avoid being seated near those who are drinking (alcohol-free block). There are a few lead people, I even stand up and try and get them to cheer, but half of them just don't even bother. I don't know why they sit there tbh.

Try getting the "Umpire's an anchor" chant going...they'll boo but they won't start that one off.

I reckon it might have something to do with some ridiculous code of conduct that they have to adhere by that makes most AFL club cheer squads ordinary.

I'm sure the AFL Cheer Squad's League has had its say & had the drums banned. Didn't Eagles fans whinge that the drum was making too much noise at a game last year?! :rolleyes:

We had one in Sydney (but a mate smashed it at the Sydney Kings basketball grand final after we lost :eek:). I'll see if I can find another one, as especially at Homebush the "!! !!! !!!! Syd-nee" chant is awesome when it starts ringing around the ground.

I have noticed that the Freo cheer squad no longer has that big chequered flag flying. Have the AFLCSL cronies had it banned?:mad:

JF

Ok, I'm in the cheersquad and I agree with what you said. I'm over trying to get the bloody idiots who sit in there cheering, who just sit there looking at me like I'm a complete idiot. Absolutely and utterly over it. A majority of them say nothing the whole game.

The drums got banned after the away derby in 06, as a few WC supporters were complaining about the noise they made, so they got taken off of us. Actually, we got to keep them for the rest of the season but since then, they have been banned due to noise (poor diddums).

And yes, we're not allowed to drink, swear or abuse the umpires, or any players, but it didn't stop some people. I had to be restrained last home game (Richmond) because some stupid bitch (she drives everyone nuts) called Peake ******ed.

There's only so much the people who actually cheer can do. I'm sick of being the one to start chants, to just get stared at like I'm from another planet.

hey shibz, are you the girl that sits in the third row, in (i think) seat 9 or 10?

i sit two rows infront of you, have done for several years now :), have to say i appreciate it when you start the chant... i try to carry it on.