DaveW

• Minimum 7 day break after matches in Perth and Brisbane.

Nope.

The away match against Fremantle (R3) on a Sunday is followed by a Saturday match against St Kilda.

The away match against West Coast (R12) on a Saturday is followed by a Sunday match against the Bulldogs.

The away match against Brisbane (R17) on a Saturday is followed by a Friday match against the Kangaroos.

Breaks of 6, 8 & 6 days. 1/3.

At least the subsequent matches are all home games. And none of our three opponents in the games following these trips get a longer break than us; in fact we play St Kilda coming off a five day break in round 4.
  • Play Port Adelaide twice including one in Round 22 with no travel in the last round.

Yep (as always) and yep.
  • No more than one home game on Saturday afternoon.

Nope. Three home games on Saturday arvos.
  • At least 3 Friday night matches with two at AAMI Stadium.

We got this one. Four Friday night matches with two at home.
  • Three MCG games.

Nope. Just the two.

On the whole, it looks like we got more requests ignored than we got granted. :mad:

I'm most annoyed about the Saturday PM games. The AFL should be looking after the fans & it is clear that these games are unpopular with Crows supporters who usually have other plans for this timeslot.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I'm most annoyed about the Saturday PM games. The AFL should be looking after the fans & it is clear that these games are unpopular with Crows supporters who usually have other plans for this timeslot.

Amen to that. I am contemplating not renewing my membership next season because of those 3 friggin games which I won't be able to go to.

Originally posted by DaveW
Why can't people go to Saturday arvo matches? :confused:

My attitude to football is simply: name the time and I'll be there. :D
Simple, many people have other FIXED commitments Sat arvo, which is why we get lower crowds. This timeslot has traditionally been avoided for Crows supporters & now the AFL reckon at the click of their fingers, supporters can uproot all their other plans. AFL should be the people's game not the damn TV's game! :mad:

It is a strange situation. The Melbourne footy public love Saturday afternoon games. The Adelaide public are lukewarm to them.

Simple solution: Don't schedule any Saturday afternoon games in Adelaide. Give Melbourne as many as possible.

But the problem is that there are two Saturday arvo games in a round. And one of the MCG or Telstra Dome will be used for a Saturday night game. So only one afternoon game can be at one of these venues. The only other venues in Melbourne are Princes Park or Kardinia Park. But they only get about half a dozen matches a year, so there won't be a game to play there in a lot of rounds. So the other Saturday afternoon game will fall to Adelaide or Perth, where it's not really wanted.

The AFL should have never sold Waverley.

LL thats the whole reason why Crows supporters are luke warm on Crows Saturday arvo games in Adelaide as they want to goto SANFL games on Saturday Arvo's, just a question how many games have Port got on a Saturday Arvo???????

Originally posted by maccas_no1
LL thats the whole reason why Crows supporters are luke warm on Crows Saturday arvo games in Adelaide as they want to goto SANFL games on Saturday Arvo's, just a question how many games have Port got on a Saturday Arvo???????
None.

Port's request was for "Minimum Saturday afternoon home games."

Well the minimum is what they got.

According to AFC the players love Saturday afternoon games but the fans don't.

There are a number of reasons for smaller crowds at this time slot, for example:

1. People want to go and see SANFL footy
2. Many people work
3. The traffic is horrendous e.g. I live about 3km from AAMI stadium. I usually leave home about 15min before first bounce, get dropped off outside the ground, go to my seat and still have a spare few minutes. If I were to do this on a Saturday afternoon game I'd probably miss the whole first quarter.
4. The parking has to compete with shoppers at West Lakes Mall.

I think it's a bit of a furphy that Melbourne people love Sat afternoons. When there are 2 Melbourne teams playing the crowds are reasonable, but when there is a Vic v Non-Vic team they struggle to get 20K. Crowds for equivalent games are definitely bigger at night.

Not to mention the fact that a lot of people play Saturday sport and it's extremely difficult for those from the country to get to West Lakes for a Saturday afternoon game.

Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
How did you guys survive pre Crows, when the majority of SANFL games were played on Saturday afternoon??:confused:

Everyone has adjusted to games not being on Saturday afternoons I would guess in hte last 13 years.

Personally I didn't live in Adelaide until 1990 so it was never a problem for me.

Now I have soccer on Saturday arvos and can't get to games.

The AFL has much more flexibility than most sports and therefore its a shame they can't keep our games away from Saturday arvos.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

And the parking is awful because of people shopping. I think that next year, the shopping centre will be open on Sunday's as well. :(

Even though we receive 3 Saturday afternoon games, I still believe that our draw is pretty good nonetheless.

I mea, we do get four Friday Night games. I doubt that many clubs get that much (except Essendon, Collywobble, etc) and they're great games to go too.

The only problem I have with the draw is our games against Port. Seeing as their one of the best home and away teams, and that they've beaten us the last 7+ showdowns, do we really need to face them twice, or at least the last round?

You never know, that game next year could cost us a final. :confused:

Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Even though we receive 3 Saturday afternoon games, I still believe that our draw is pretty good nonetheless.

I mea, we do get four Friday Night games. I doubt that many clubs get that much (except Essendon, Collywobble, etc) and they're great games to go too.

The only problem I have with the draw is our games against Port. Seeing as their one of the best home and away teams, and that they've beaten us the last 7+ showdowns, do we really need to face them twice, or at least the last round?

You never know, that game next year could cost us a final. :confused:
There are more positives than negatives with having two Showdowns per year.

Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
According to AFC the players love Saturday afternoon games but the fans don't.

There are a number of reasons for smaller crowds at this time slot, for example:

1. People want to go and see SANFL footy
2. Many people work
3. The traffic is horrendous e.g. I live about 3km from AAMI stadium. I usually leave home about 15min before first bounce, get dropped off outside the ground, go to my seat and still have a spare few minutes. If I were to do this on a Saturday afternoon game I'd probably miss the whole first quarter.
4. The parking has to compete with shoppers at West Lakes Mall.

I think it's a bit of a furphy that Melbourne people love Sat afternoons. When there are 2 Melbourne teams playing the crowds are reasonable, but when there is a Vic v Non-Vic team they struggle to get 20K. Crowds for equivalent games are definitely bigger at night.

Why wouldn't you walk to the stadium? :confused:

I live 3.5 kms from the stadium and great exercise.

Personally, I'm grateful for a Mon-Fri job so I can arrange my weekend and don't have any younguns to worry about....