our next premiership?

pinion

this is not to say that we can't challenge next year - if the young players improve, the older players hold their form, and we time our run we're every chance, but when do you think?

to me, the quality of our 2009 draft (menzel, duncan, christensen, vardy and it's too early to tell with cowan) closely represents either the 1999 (corey, chapman, ling, enright) or 2001 (ablett, bartel, johnson, kelly... and charlie gardiner). extrapolating that, are we now 5-8 years off building a new side that can challenge?

2015.....go close.....2016...snaffle it.

We need a couple of years to develop a few of our fringe players...but boy there is some talent there.

Geelong v GCS GF 2016! Geelong by 38 points

I think 2015 if we go youth next year.

If we go for it next year maybe 2016 or later.

2015/16. Personally i think it's going to take guys like Christensen, Vardy, Murdoch, Menzel, Thunt, Guthrie, Duncan to have played 50 -100 games together before we can get our next premiership. Put those younger guys with some older heads (by then) like Selwood, Hawk, Taylor and a fit Varcoe and hopefully that would give us a strong chance to contend again. Will be nice to watch the kids develop over the next couple of years.

impossible to say... who would have thought hawthorn would have to wait until 2008 after 1991? who would have thought sth melb/sydney would have to wait until 2005 after 1933? it could be as early as next year, it could be a long time coming.

definitely have the structures in place to challenge again, but winning premierships is a fickle beast.

we shouldnt get too carried away with the last few seasons and assume challenging for the flag is now our right as a club.

a lot can go wrong, and a lot can go right.

im just looking forward to the draft, and next years NAB cup at this stage. i want to see menzel back, and kersten playing a game - even a pre-season one.

Scotty said right from the start of his tenure that 2011 and 2015 were the years he could really see us winning the premiership and he's 1 from 1 so far!

David King last night declared we have a lot of upside, and would be great by 2015, yep THE David King. Could have celebrated his prediction of our demise, but didn't, while Rocket Eade suggested our future depends largely on getting equivalents to Bartel, Corey, Enright, Kelly, Chappy, Ling, SJ over the next 4 years, and therein lies the true challenge.

Maybe it’s my optimism kicking in but I see some similarities in the way things are presently unfolding with the lead-up to our last period of on-field success.

A VFL team in premiership form. That team filled with a significant number of youngsters with the attributes to make it at AFL level. Many players still in their prime age wise who are approaching 50+ games at senior level.

Also, a more senior group showing real leadership. All this combined with a very good development coach (Knights was Tudor) and a very good man manager and strategist as senior coach.

Winning the silverware is extremely hard and getting harder, but I reckon we’ll be serious contenders in 2015 and for the following two or three years.

That’s what methinks anyhoo.;)

2015.....go close.....2016...snaffle it.

We need a couple of years to develop a few of our fringe players...but boy there is some talent there.

Geelong v GCS GF 2016! Geelong by 38 points
Tell me about these talented ones, just in case I have been neglectful of them, and reading about them is therapy. As I see it, our 2012 VFL talent does not match our 2002 VFL talent as far as mids, but I am probably way off. What have you noticed?

Scotty said right from the start of his tenure that 2011 and 2015 were the years he could really see us winning the premiership and he's 1 from 1 so far!
Wasn't it Cookie who put the 2015 timing on the table? Think it was at the presser announcing the appointment of the coach when he said something along the lines of Scott's appointment being as much about 2015 as today.

Chris seems mostly to speak generally about looking at the long term but rarely about specific years. Stand to be corrected though.

Wasn't it Cookie who put the 2015 timing on the table? Think it was at the presser announcing the appointment of the coach when he said something along the lines of Scott's appointment being as much about 2015 as today.

Chris seems mostly to speak generally about looking at the long term but rarely about specific years. Stand to be corrected though.

i think you might be right... i dont remember those words re 2015 coming from chris.

I thought I read in 'greatness' that the 2011 and 2015 goal was pitched by Scotty in his interview with the club before being hired.

You could be right. It's not something I've noticed. From my observation he seems to (wisely) steer clear of specific dates when it comes to these things. Speaks more in generalities.

IMO, I can only really be bothered looking at it while I predict SJ, Enright, Kelly and Bartel will still be around and contributing well. I.e. in 2015/16 onwards our team will boast a host of youngsters we either haven't even heard of yet, or who haven't yet debuted, to replace the fore mentioned.

Since that is way to hard to foresee, predict etc, I'm going with next year, 2013, as being our best chance to win another premiership. Scarlett and Corey will not represent big losses relative to this year (I expect Corey to play predominantly reserves next year as a youngster steps up), and meanwhile I think Kelly, Enright, SJ et all will still be very productive.

So basically we can expect moderate to significant improvement from Bundy, Duncan, Guthrie, Smedts, Motlop, West, Vardy and Murdoch.

And then the inclusion of Varcoe and Menzel.

Basically I expect us to be better next year than this year.

We were capable of winning the premiership this year. And we will be even more capable next year. It's not players and skill we lack, it's motivation!

Scott's plan for a 2015 next premiership challenge, in my opinion, will not work. Why? Because in 2014 and 2015 we will see our best players retire.

Johnson, Mackie, Bartel, Enright and Chapman will likely retire around this time or be close to it. These players are key parts of our team and will take years after they retire to be able to have players good enough to take their place. Duncan, Christensen and Menzel are not replacements. They are already playing now along side these guys.

Scott is too focused on setting a specific time. I think this cost us the season. Playing Murdoch and Simpkin instead of Wojo and Byrnes against Fremantle is the perfect example. We probably could have won that match had we had those 2 premiership and finals experienced players come into the team.
Instead, i saw it as them viewing it like this: Giving 1 game fianals experience to young players > winning this years premiership.

Overall, it just didn't appear to me that we took this year as seriously as we could have. I mean, we almost lost to Gold Coast!

This is just my opinion. Anyways, if our team can get motivated enough, we are more then capable of winning the next premiership. :thumbsu:

David King last night declared we have a lot of upside, and would be great by 2015, yep THE David King. Could have celebrated his prediction of our demise, but didn't, while Rocket Eade suggested our future depends largely on getting equivalents to Bartel, Corey, Enright, Kelly, Chappy, Ling, SJ over the next 4 years, and therein lies the true challenge.

Wasn't the Cognac or single malt kicking in VD? ;)

Go Catters

um .... because we can only have one NEXT premiership?

Was a joke mate.
I said next year, I really believe if we can get those injured guys back playing good footy and some natural progression from some youngsters (motlop, hunt, Guthrie, smedts) that we could finish top 4 again and challenge next year.
Now for some cloud level optimism, in 10 years time we will b discussing which of the 2 sides we better, 2007-2011 or 2013-2020!

Next year is our best shot, while we still have Bartel and Steve Johnson at a good age. Maybe the year after as well.

None of young players have shown the ability of these two, so it is logical we will get worse as our star players retire.

I think next year we will have just the right mix,especially if we find replacement for Corey in the centre square.